Walmart Reviews in Winona, MN | Glassdoor

Walmart Winona Reviews

Updated Mar 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Jewelry / Apparel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Winona, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good pay - Flexible schedule for students - Low stress - Easy work - Variety - Sometimes there is free food in the backroom from the bakery when its about to expire - Dress code changed; no more tan pants and blue polio - Customers in the jewelry are usually pleasant because you are putting in a new watch battery or helping them with taking links out of a band.

    Cons

    - Unreliable co workers - Other workers are not motivated to complete goals and tasks - Customers can be rude because I guess since its Walmart people do not have to act like decent humans - In jewelry you pierce ears and it freaks me out to do it on little ones. - In apparel you can have a lot of returns at the fitting room.

    Advice to Management

    Make clear goals for the department so people work as a team and things get accomplished.

    Walmart2019-03-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Get out while you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Optician in Winona, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you come to work with a smile, the right attitude, and the demeanor to tackle any obstacle your way, then everything will be smooth sailing.

    Cons

    If you're not feeling 100%, then you will not have a pleasant experience. In fact, quite the opposite.

    Advice to Management

    Stop playing favorites, make fair schedules, let your younger associates have some time to themselves once in a while and offer opportunities for full time, not empty promises.

    Walmart2018-12-16
  3. "Good pay, no appreciation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - E-commerce in Winona, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay, cheap benefits, opportunity to try different jobs.

    Cons

    Weekends & holidays will never be yours again.

    Advice to Management

    A little appreciation goes a long way. Flexible scheduling would be great.

    Walmart2018-10-23
  4. "Dept manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTC Pharmacy Department Manager in Winona, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Set hours up until recently. Changes are constantly happening, so I'm not sure now.

    Cons

    New hires are making just short of what I am. There's been no extra raise since the minimum wage went up. I have been with Walmart for ten years. I make a dollar more than part timers who have no experience, yet I'm expected to be a role model and teach them. Many of us are slowly getting tired of the lack of compensation. I work in the pharmacy and need to pass a background and drug test. I doubt many would be able to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop the favotism..stop allowing the disrespect just because you are an assistant manager. ... give a compliment or a"good job", instead of only and always pointing out what hasn't been done on a busy day. If the customer comes first, then understand that we might have days that our"Walmart work" doesn't get completed.

    Walmart2018-04-05
  5. "decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Winona, MN

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    lots of fun workers, fast paced environment, and flexible hours

    Cons

    not easy to switch departments

    Walmart2017-06-20
  6. "Cahier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Winona, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart

    Pros

    I was unhappy pretty much the whole time

    Cons

    Scheduled way more than what we agreed to long hours on your feet management doesnt care

    Walmart2017-01-19
  7. "Pharmacy Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Cashier in Winona, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Stayed in the Pharmacy area -Not as much pressure as the technicians/pharmacist -Easy opportunity towards becoming a technician if desired -Simple, easy job

    Cons

    -Minimum wage pay -Felt bad asking off (due to underemployment) -Simple, easy job

    Walmart2015-08-05
  8. "The Winona Walmart discriminates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Writer In Tire and Lube Express in Winona, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time

    Pros

    There are no pro's that I ever saw when employed there.

    Cons

    That store discriminates against gays, lesbians, African Americans, Latinos and Native Americans and employees with physical disabilities.

    Walmart2015-06-15
  9. "frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandise Supervisor in Winona, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast pace, days go by super fast because there is so much to be done. The days are never the same. There are some people that really want to keep people there and try the best they can to make it a nice place to be. They are really trying to address the understaffing in the stores ( my store is understaffed at least 50 people) There are parts of management that really try to get to know the workers.

    Cons

    Training is horrible, have been in my position for 2 1/2 months and still have not been trained for my position. Communication is of a very poor quality between management to supervisors to associates and between managers. The shifts start at all times of the day so it is very hard to communicate the things that need to be completed from on e shift to another. You also have a hard time knowing what shift managers and...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your workers and the feed back given, pay your workers better and they will stay longer. When giving out lists of tasks to be done prioritize the list and be reasonable on what can be completed in a day. The lists of 3 days of work that needs to be done and wanting it done in one day is unreasonable and makes workers feel like they are not good enough or failing.

    Walmart2015-04-21
  10. "Ok if you need the work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Winona, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employees all feel the same

    Cons

    Not able to get off for important life events

    Walmart2014-04-05
Found 12 reviews