Walmart Administrative assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Walmart Administrative Assistant Reviews

Updated Nov 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
38%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
3 Ratings
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Bentonville, AR
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, environment, PTO, health insurance

    Cons

    Have to stay in job role for X amount of years depending on role

    Walmart2019-09-05
  2. "Job security does not exist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant in Bentonville, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay, good benefits & good hours.

    Cons

    Don't assume if you are a hard-working, long-time associate that you will be rewarded with continued employment. Frequent "restructuring." You don't know that you will be laid off until they call you into in a meeting and then you're gone. Very demoralizing. They DO have severance packages, etc., but you still will be looking for another job.

    Advice to Management

    Stop focusing on only building your online presence & start seeing that you have loyal long-term associates that you should respect more. I've seen way too many associates that have put in 20+ years laid off.

    Walmart2019-11-02
  3. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Buffalo, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Enjoyed working independently and training other Assistants. This position requires a self starter and computer knowledge of Microsoft programs such as Excel, PowerPoint, Word, etc.

    Cons

    Recent changes such as restructure of the market team can be stressful and if you aren't lucky enough to be in a high value market, your position could be eliminated.

    Advice to Management

    Please turn in your collectibles on time and as requested. As an Administrative Assistant we have deadlines to get your information turned in to upper levels of management.

    Walmart2018-01-08
  4. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Conyers, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great as a team all together

    Cons

    Hard to come up to new position

    Advice to Management

    Thank you

    Walmart2017-06-24
  5. "Stop over hiring, please"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant II in Bentonville, AR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They pay well and everyone is so kind. I truly loved my job and what I did. I was 110% Walmart.

    Cons

    They restructure way too much. You never know if you're going to have a job or not. I do believe that the folks at store level are the backbone of the company. More attention needs to be paid to them instead of all the upper management making the big bucks.

    Advice to Management

    Either stop over hiring to avoid all the layoffs and then 6 months later rehiring. Makes no sense.

    Walmart2017-03-29
  6. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart for more than a year

    Pros

    decent pay ok environment in terms of working

    Cons

    lack of communication with upper management that makes it hard to cope

    Walmart2017-02-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Receptionist/Administrative Assistant in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Walmart

    Pros

    Above average salary for members of management. Parking.

    Cons

    I worked with Walmart for 3 years in Chinatown, Washington, DC and unfortunately the things heard about Walmart in news/media is very true, Unfair treatment of employees, poor work life balance, office not all inclusive, management annual bonuses is my salary for entire year. At will employment is fully engaged at this location. Union representation is truly needed just so that fair treatment is extended to all. I have seen people oust (railroaded) due to personality and others promoted based on commemoradory versus if they are deserving of promotion. I am actively looking for work now.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Developing people skills for managers, fostering team environment, embrace diversity.

    Walmart2016-06-18
  8. "Associates great, managers not so mich"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Bentonville, AR
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Made great friends, learned a lot, good salary and benefits

    Cons

    Managers afraid of older workers, not enough training or support

    Advice to Management

    Support older workers, upgrade computer programs

    Walmart2014-09-23
  9. "It was great I learned a lot of new things I was able to move forward to a third position in less then one year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Garland, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    you get to met new peoples everyday ,not one day is the same. whether it the manager now knowing what's going on to where the cashier an csm have no clue where there are to be, but at the end it all work outs with one another helping the other to get back on track

    Cons

    when there is a conflict in management you will be in between. when upper manager tell you to do some, they will not be in fault, you will, you will get the write up and the manager will get off free with no coaching.

    Advice to Management

    management need to take responsible for there own action, I know you is trying to make a customer happy but when you put the cashier or who ever in the middle of it, it is not fair because the cashier will get more heat then a manager will

    Walmart2014-01-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "It's a job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Bentonville, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice 401K plan (6% match), free training classes you can take (and get paid for), relatively flexible in terms of upward mobility if you're good at what you do.

    Cons

    No windows anywhere. Parking always a hassle. Too much blue. Terrible medical insurange, no vision insurance. Buildings spread out and traffic is always bad.

    Walmart2012-08-13
Found 11 reviews