Walmart Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Walmart Director Reviews

Updated 22 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
69 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Does Walmart have a strategy?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Bentonville, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Walmart is the largest privately held company in the world which means the things you do at Walmart can have major impact. It is very exciting to see projects you've been personally involved with scale quickly to serve hundreds of millions of customers across thousands of stores.

    Cons

    Walmart's stated strategy is currently to win in "Digital to Physical". In other words, to leverage its physical stores and supply chain with it's online assets to win customers loyalty. Is it working? Not by a long shot.

    Continue reading
    Walmart2018-05-29
  2. "Director Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Bentonville, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Global Company that does a lot of good for many organizations

    Cons

    Organizational structure in corporate does not promote a team environment

    Walmart2018-05-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Opportunities!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Bentonville, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of great opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    Frequent downsizing and massive layoffs tend to create a lot of workplace tension.

    Walmart2018-05-11
  4. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in San Bruno, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    interesting people, great place, cutting edge

    Cons

    location, amazon killing it, felt like a lack of direction

    Walmart2018-04-26
  5. Helpful (12)

    "Starts off great. Then the limits of the firm start to surface"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Bentonville, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    In the beginning, there are a lot of opportunities to drive new ideas at the fortune one company - I was lucky I got to do so. Overall I got what I needed for the next stage in my career. Working at Walmart looks good on a CV. If you never worked at an F100, it's an unrivaled opportunity and hard to imagine a situation where it doesn't look good on a CV. There is no way I would have gotten my current job had I not worked at Walmart. For that, I'm super thankful. It's was 100% worth it. I met a lot of great folks internally and externally. The company is sincere. The "Save money. Live Better" slogan is embodied within the org and people are passionate. -There is beginning to be a very flexible work environment, although this depends on who you have as a boss. Look at this job as a two-three year sabbatical or scholarship. Just accept you won't be promoted and that there is no career for you. Take the time for self-improvement and networking (You get invited to events and can get meetings with pretty much anyone. It's like diplomatic immunity) for the next gig or stage in your life. -It can be great for innovators because of the experience and opportunity to build a portfolio at the world's largest company. Budgets can be big due to the size. Thus a lot can be justified. This presents an unrivaled opportunity. If you are talented the job is easy - the bar is low. -There are pockets of innovation. Some of the smartest people in the world come to work here for the challenge. It's a special group of people with that type of mindset, skill, and grit to stand it. I've made a lot of great friends. We all came to Walmart for the opportunity to change an old legacy company. All of us got burned in the processes, but all ended up in far better situations after Walmart. -An advantage of the lack of leadership talent is they need ideas. As a result, there is ample time to research and develop new methodologies. You will be left alone to pretty much do and figure out the next thing that your boss or someone else can use so they look good. Just be prepared for your ideas to be claimed as someone else's and executed terribly. Truth be told it's a solid deal at the end of the day within a certain context - plenty of time to think and research, but not great if your goal is to be a leader and progress your career. -Bentonville isn't a bad place. I came from a city. It's super livable and quite nice. It's only getting better.

    Cons

    Despite the PR about how it's a technology company, I assure you it's not close. It's intellectually lazy, fat and bloated, and hard to move. The environment/culture will pretty much crush your soul, potential, and challenge your sanity. If you are a leader and an original thinker in your space, there is a limited, if not null career path. There is only so much runway for ideas in a corporation is run in a state that has the second lowest education rates in the USA. 70% of the people voted for Trump. And there is a prominence of Confederate flags 20 mins out in either direction. There is a Confederate statue in downtown Bentonville. Anyway, you slice it, that mindset and belief structure seep into the corporate decisions, strategy, and planning since most of the people who run the place are homegrown. Thus why it's missed out on every meaningful technology trend that's happened over the past 15 years despite being the largest company on the planet, and why it's playing catch up. There is only so much intellectual horsepower this firm has. It falls embarrassing flat compared to any top company based in a city let alone Amazon or a large tech firm. Upper management are typically generalists with no ideas of their own, let alone a mindset for interdisciplinary strategy or thoughtfulness. It's a constant barrage of superficial meetings and short-sighted stop-gap solutions after the next. Decisions are based on politics or whoever is the HIPPO. Not on merit. There are some great people, but for them to be effective, they have to succumb to the former at a level that is extraordinary. To be clear, I don't blame most of them; It's just the way the incentive structure works here. To succeed you do and can not question. Look busy. Suck up to your boss and their bosses. I can count on my hands which I'd consider a real thought leader or master at their craft at the director level and above. As a result, upper and middle management/those who get promoted aren't equipped mentally to deal with change, candidness nor complexity. They are fortunate that Walmart is so big it's pretty much on autopilot which minimizes exposure to their bad ideas and why good ideas don't have to be used (people aren't feeling the burn). The company that Sam Walton built is resilient to say the least (he was legit). Current upper management has no idea what good/great looks like, and mediocre work passes with rave reviews, it survives. It will be its downfall. - If you've already worked for a well-known firm and are mid-career, open-minded and trying to do new things, you'll need to stay far away from the home office unless you're coming in at the SVP level. You'll likely just stagnant your career here. -Generalist/middle of the road types who use their time to email and set up meetings about meetings, and have little original ideas of their own, run the show. If that's you, it's a great place to have a career. They are very much a management culture. -The org is petty, political and juvenile. You could be terrible on a professional level regarding skill but very much succeed if you play the "yes man" game right. People get offended when you ask questions. - I never saw one person promoted or rewarded because of novelty, saving the company money or vision. I never saw one single person who didn't buy a house, spouse or kid promoted past Sr Manager. It's only those that manage politics, drink Walmart/NWA kool-aid and don't question that succeed. Hence those are the people running things. Which is why everything is outsourced, and no internal capacities or brains are developed. It's a bad feedback loop. And why we can't keep talent, and why Amazon is far smarter and strategic. -Never a demand for excellence. Just excuses for why we can't demand excellence. Everything is always so "complex"...This isn't rocket science. It's retail. Prepare to be constantly underwhelmed and uninspired. Always chasing mediocre ideas, and deploying/ruining good ideas because they have no clue what any of it means. As a result, there is a constant barrage of short-term optimization. There is no intellectual discipline. A typical strategy is "we are going to win the day." or "we are going to use technology" .That's not a strategy. Those are goals or statements.

    Continue reading
    Walmart2018-04-20
  6. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Director in Bentonville, AR
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to work on large-scale projects that impact millions of people. Endless opportunities to do different kinds of work and change career paths.

    Cons

    Health coverage and work environment are not best-in-class that you would expect from Fortune 1 company. Need to improve to retain and recruit top talent

    Continue reading
    Walmart2018-04-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good company to work for, but demanding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager/Director in Salem, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    This company pays well, and has good benefits. Offers a great deal of paid time off and a flexible schedule.

    Cons

    Difficult to use PTO as the job is very demanding and has high expectations. Often work 60+ hours a week.

    Continue reading
    Walmart2018-03-22
  8. "Senior Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Bentonville, AR

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company that offers the opportunity to change careers without changing employers

    Cons

    Organization is changing quickly to meet the evolving needs of the customer

    Walmart2018-02-14
  9. "IT Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Director in Bentonville, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible work/life balance; leadership motivated to grow and recognizes associate contributions financially; open door environment

    Cons

    Frequent layoffs; Too many levels of leadership;

    Continue reading
    Walmart2018-02-07
  10. "Office Politics."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Bentonville, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company. They respect their employees and work to give them opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    Politics at the Bentonville home office results in losing good people sometimes.

    Continue reading
    Walmart2018-01-09
Found 137 reviews