Walmart eCommerce Reviews

Updated May 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
48%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Walmart eCommerce President & CEO of eCommerce Marc Lore
Marc Lore
221 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great culture, great work life balance(in 130 reviews)

  • "You get the chance to work within a lot of areas of the eCommerce business(in 39 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Walmart eCommerce part-time

    Pros

    Very fun work evnironment for me

    Cons

    None None none none none

    Walmart eCommerce2020-04-15
  2. "Good"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Category Specialist in San Bruno, CA

    I worked at Walmart eCommerce full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good team good environment. can learn a lot

    Cons

    need more organization in the company structure. should pay more

    Walmart eCommerce2020-05-20
  3. "job"

    5.0
    Current Employee - General Sale Sm 

    I have been working at Walmart eCommerce full-time

    Pros

    great environment to work at

    Cons

    multiple hours through the week

    Walmart eCommerce2020-05-19
  4. "Good place to work overall"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Category Lead 

    I have been working at Walmart eCommerce full-time

    Pros

    Clear management. Growth in company. Unique place in ecommerce and store

    Cons

    Political to move up in position. Management differs by division and vision isn’t always clear or uniform across divisions and departments

    Walmart eCommerce2020-05-18
  5. "It's Ok"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Forklift Driver 

    I have been working at Walmart eCommerce full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There's decent pay and the people are nice here.

    Cons

    Management doesn't know how to train properly and most people don't understand what they're doing most of the time

    Walmart eCommerce2020-05-13
  6. "A Good Place for a Quick Stop... But Not a Place to Build a Career Long-Term"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Category Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart eCommerce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This position offers a good crash course into the many facets of eCommerce (ie planning, buying, marketing, etc) and the opportunity to take ownership over your work quickly. I also really appreciated the flexibility to work remotely that contributed to good work-life balance.

    Cons

    First, the company as a whole is really struggling to build out tools that are reliable and useful -- you will spend a significant amount of time troubleshooting or teaching others how to jerry-rig the systems. Second, the organization is also highly political and your compensation/promotion are directly related to how your manager perceives you not necessarily the caliber of your work. Additionally, the standards for promotion/pay skew wildly between the different categories-- some categories are notorious for lack of promotion opportunities and poor culture in general. Finally, the quality of the talent has declined significantly over the past 18 months. The company originally limited recruiting to individuals from top schools and interesting work experience but has revised this strategy and diluted the talent pool.

    Continue reading
    Walmart eCommerce2020-05-21
  7. "manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Walmart eCommerce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family friendly helpful team player

    Cons

    favoritism listen taking sides customers

    Continue reading
    Walmart eCommerce2020-05-04
  8. "Lots of e-comm investment, but lots of hoops"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in San Bruno, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart eCommerce full-time

    Pros

    There are some very smart people who move fast and creatively, and know how to be clever and scrappy to get things done.

    Cons

    There are also a lot of people who are there for a paycheck and flat out don't do good work.

    Continue reading
    Walmart eCommerce2020-04-30
  9. Helpful (3)

    "If you're looking for a job, you should keep looking."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart eCommerce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good bonus structure CEO is highly motivating Interesting enough work being in eCommerce

    Cons

    Management does not listen to their employees If you work closely with the executive team you have unrealistic deadlines (that cause long hours/late nights to meet them) Expect extended hours - my direct manager even specifically said 'I expect 50 hours a week minimum from my team members' No work life balance They don't pay fairly. I was making 20k less than my male counterpart (he was a level lower than me - associate manager vs manager). Don't expect the company to protect you as an employee. I filed a harassment claim against my manager, and it took them more than six months to conclude the investigation. All the while, I was expected to continue working for that manager - who repeatedly harassed me during the course of the investigation. I ended up just quitting because it got so uncomfortable and HR had to 'wait for the investigation to conclude' before transferring me or offering me a different position within the company.

    Continue reading
    Walmart eCommerce2020-05-08
  10. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Distinguished Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart eCommerce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Lots of interesting technical challenges at scale - Fast and modern innovation - Great people, strong engineers - Company culture

    Cons

    - Large enterprise requires a lot of coordination

    Walmart eCommerce2020-04-23
Found 917 reviews