Walmart eCommerce Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
56%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Walmart eCommerce President & CEO of eCommerce Marc Lore
Marc Lore
328 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance overall(in 141 reviews)

  • "Great work environment , good pay(in 41 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Extended working hours with no work life balance(in 51 reviews)

  • "Lots of red tape among upper management that can make day to day initiatives challenging(in 34 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Walmart eCommerce and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      making sure the clothes are stocked up and golded

      Apr 30, 2021 - Apparel Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good pay good benefits management nice

      Cons

      rude people little hours not that clean

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Women engineers held to a high standard

      Apr 1, 2021 - Software Engineer III 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay is really good. The work is pretty easy, even when I am doing tasks outside of my job description. The individual contributors I've worked with

      Cons

      Women engineers are held to a significantly higher standard than men. I have yet to meet a trans of non-binary engineer, so there's not enough data to compare for non-cis people. Every time I've been up for a promotion I've been told that I need to be more of a leader. In order to prove myself as an x4 I apparently need to perform at x5 level. I'm not alone. This has happened to other high performing women at the x3 level who I know. When I've asked how I can actually be permitted, management has flat-out lied to me. The upper leadership of engineering doesn't care at all about attrition. They just pay a lot, so they can get new people without having to care about how many people churn through. They buy loyalty so they can treat their organization terribly. Recently, there's been an exodus of leadership and I can see why. Don't work here if you want to be a manager who likes people and cares about your reports. They will burn you out. Walmart does not want to see women engineers succeed. If you are looking to grow your career over the long term, go somewhere else.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      its a great company to work

      Apr 20, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Very good incentives and pay which is on par with major tech companies in bay area 2. PTOs are flexible and has no limit 3 . Work - life balance will be good 2.

      Cons

      1. Walmart is trying to use its own proprietary tools and forces to use them though there are better technologies in market. This will reduce your resume weight compared to the ones work for startups

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great people

      May 3, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with

      Cons

      Very big company where you are one of many

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great people, great culture!

      Dec 23, 2015 - Project Manager in San Bruno, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can find some highly intelligent and strategic thinkers here. The company systematically rewards familial culture and creating personal relationships. Great place to work!

      Cons

      People are too nice and don't hold each other accountable to failure.

      Continue reading
      181 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Mixed bag

      Feb 24, 2021 - Senior Data Scientist in Sunnyvale, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great work-life balance. Quite good pay, possibly some of the best hourly pay you can get if you are a fast worker. RSUs are behind peer companies but they seem to be catching up. - Interesting and impactful work, millions of people use the products I have worked on. - Obviously it depends on your individual manager, but on the whole management styles seem pretty hands off. I've been able to do my own thing.

      Cons

      - Massive diversity issues. Teams tend to be comprised of people who look and act like each other. If you aren't one of those people they don't shun you, but it's quickly obvious that conversations are happening without you. - You wait for the road map to be decided every quarter and then find out what you'll be working on. Little to no ability to pitch new ideas, individual contributors are perhaps even discouraged from offering something on top of what is asked of you. - As an individual contributor you are shielded from the corporate political shenanigans but it's obvious they're happening. Directors and even low-level managers are super cutthroat and suspicious of their peers. Cross functional efforts are messy and to be avoided. - 2-4 years between promotions is the norm. You'll have to simply wait people out.

      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Company

      May 1, 2021 - Product Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome work culture Quality work

      Cons

      Lack of growth opportunities Lack of knowledge sharing

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Apr 27, 2021 - Data Scientist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      work life balance lots of data to analyze and interesting questions to tackle

      Cons

      can't think of any at the moment

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      good company

      Apr 30, 2021 - Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      work life balance is good

      Cons

      nothing that bothers me in this company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Walmart

      May 7, 2021 - Ecommerce Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The hours are good and the pay is decent.

      Cons

      Have to treat customers like they are gods and you are worth nothing.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,279 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Walmart eCommerce Job Seekers

    Category Specialist
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Walmart eCommerce? Share Your Experiences

    or