Walmart eCommerce Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Walmart eCommerce Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Feb 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
49%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Walmart eCommerce President & CEO of eCommerce Marc Lore
Marc Lore
22 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart eCommerce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work and to learn all new technologies

    Cons

    Time lines are too aggressive

    Walmart eCommerce2019-02-04
  2. Helpful (10)

    "Largely underestimated because of the surrounding big tech companies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart eCommerce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - The rumors that everyone is happy at Walmart Labs is true - Impactful work, helping store associates, streamlining the customer's experiences, the app, etc - All my managers are always smiling, genuinely - No one has a huge ego, unlike the rest of the Bay Area tech scene - Managers care to see how you feel about the overall team/company - Remote friendly - Everyone is autonomous (slackers beware) - Career opportunities are there, like most corporate companies

    Cons

    - Lots of CEOs, it's a bit confusing what they all do - Parking is limited - Path to get hired seems to be to come in as a contractor first - No apprenticeship programs for people starting their careers - Process-heavy interviews in the name of "removing bias" but involves more biased managers therefore denying candidates more often. - No Diversity & Inclusion programs (if they exist, they don't actually do anything) - No Unconscious Bias assessment and training. - No inclusive internships (exclusive to college kids for 2-3 months of the year) - For being the largest employer in the world, they don't hire very many Junior/Associate-level/recent grads. - Not very diverse (you have better chances if you're white, Asian, Indian, or a man) - No outreach for those with alternate career paths (self-taught people & freelancers will have a hard time getting hired) - Apparently lots of candidates take offers from neighboring companies because Walmart salaries don't compare. The reason is "we're not a tech company". - You have to be a self-starter to get things going - Holiday season is a busy season - Few holidays

    Continue reading
    Walmart eCommerce2019-01-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "one of the best companies i've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart eCommerce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Multiculture Startup Env Hands on experience to variety of technologies Flexible timings Good pay

    Cons

    Enforcing Engineers to use proprietary tools which is a serious drawback and it'll impact engineers innovative ideas

    Walmart eCommerce2018-11-28
  4. Helpful (2)

    "It's ok to work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in San Bruno, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart eCommerce full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This company is gradually turning itself to a tech company.

    Cons

    Office politics, people tend to stay longer than 5 years, no free meals and snacks.

    Walmart eCommerce2018-11-14
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Poor choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart eCommerce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I guess good work life balance, comp is somewhat ok

    Cons

    This place can hardly be called a tech company, outdated technologies, unstable infrastructures, very limited cloud resources, lack of expertise in its own cloud infra team, low efficient cross team communications. Managers tend to avoid making key decisions and are good at playing a long term doing-nothing game. Undocumented hiring criteria and poorly adopted annual review (now it's biannual) put a lot of people into unqualified positions. If you're looking for a place to grow as IC, don't waste your time here.

    Walmart eCommerce2018-10-05
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Money is ok. Productivity is low due to terrible workflows"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineering Manager in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart eCommerce full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Compensation is reasonably competitive and predictable. Work life balance.

    Cons

    The internals systems are absolutely moronic. Facilities and HR department are mind-blowingly nuts! Parking is horrible.

    Continue reading
    Walmart eCommerce2018-10-07
  7. Helpful (14)

    "Toxic work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart eCommerce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *Pays better than many other companies. *Udemy courses online are free ( not all but most) which is the only learning opportunity within the company

    Cons

    * No parking * horrible food * unassigned seating, have to hunt for a desk every morning, chargers, headphones ,chairs and other accessories get stolen if left unattended at desk, specially if left overnight. *Extremely political, extremely tight coupling between teams which is totally unnecessary, forcing collaborative work. With collaborative work, it’s not always clear who has done what, which leaves the door open for a colleague or your manager to take undue credit for your work. * People expect to be spoon-fed in the name of collaborating and get promoted regardless. * Allegiance is held in higher regard than actual performance. *Open communication is held against you. *Nepotism is prevalent. *No on-boarding *No goal setting * HR seems to be non-existent, its well known that HR is meant to safe guard the company's interests in every company, but still, in other places they do have some tools to keep managers in check from abusing their power so blatantly. We are expected to give our manager's 360 feedback in a simple email that goes to our director. There is no forum to keep the feedback confidential. Anyone who raises concerns becomes the system's target. * positions are falsely advertised. When you actually join the job, job description may not match the actual work you are given. *1 on 1 / 1:1 are formalities, its mostly a one directional conversation, no matter what you have to say, its never acknowledged by your manager or HR. Even if you show solid evidence, they will game the system to set you up for failure for next time. * Health insurance is not that great. * Unlimited PTO creates a competition to take lesser time off in the team. You have to have leverage with your manager to negotiate for PTO, this often comes at the cost of long unpaid extra hours on weekends and after hours, or some other kind of favor. At the manager's whim, even a preplanned PTO can be expected to be cancelled at last moment, with serious repercussions if the employee resists. The system is very unfair.

    Continue reading
    Walmart eCommerce2018-08-26
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Staff Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart eCommerce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Technology stack is pretty good.

    Cons

    No career progress. Management is bad is transparence.

    Continue reading
    Walmart eCommerce2018-06-22

    Walmart eCommerce Response

    August 24, 2018Supervisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. I couldn’t agree more that our technology stack is great and the results it can produce is phenomenal. We do strive to provide clear career pathing options for our employees and share our long-term strategies to success. We have shared value priorities as a well as aspirations for the next decade. If you would like to learn more about the options you have, or the way we are moving towards the future, please don’t hesitate to reach out and I would be happy to chat with you. - Becky S.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Too much of politics and bureaucracy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart eCommerce full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good salary, cutting edge technologies

    Cons

    Too much of gang forming. No clear communication of initiatives from managers. No freedom of speech and you will be marked and career is going’s to get hit if you are raising voice . 1:1 s are just formalities .

    Continue reading
    Walmart eCommerce2018-04-30
  10. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart eCommerce full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    lot of freedom to convert your ideas into live that impacts millions of customers.

    Cons

    work life balance during holidays as it is peak for any retail.

    Walmart eCommerce2017-12-14

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 85 reviews