Walmart eCommerce Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Walmart eCommerce Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Feb 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
49%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Walmart eCommerce President & CEO of eCommerce Marc Lore
Marc Lore
22 Ratings
  1. Helpful (16)

    "Very bad work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart eCommerce full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Only fact that this is one of the biggest retailers and it s fun to be part of such an organization where small changes bring big impact

    Cons

    Very very bad work culture, no work-life balance. Managers and leadership not matured enough to handle individuals. No diversity of people. Too much of politics. Exploitation of individual's legal status and dependencies .

    Walmart eCommerce2017-12-13

    Walmart eCommerce Response

    January 26, 2018Talent Team

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It's disappointing to hear you haven't had a positive experience with the culture or work-life balance, among the other things you've mentioned. Culture is important to us, and that's why we're growing our People Experience (PX) team who are dedicated to creating an inclusive culture and providing our associates with delightful experiences at work. Your feedback will be shared with the team, so we can improve. If you have any concerns regarding discrimination or exploitation, you can contact Walmart Global Ethics at https://www.walmartethics.com/reportaconcern.aspx# or call 1-800-WM-ETHIC. - Becky S., SVP Human Resources

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Senior Software Engineer in San Bruno, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart eCommerce for more than a year

    Pros

    Free candy, soda, and work from home on Fridays

    Cons

    Work all the time and deadlines are tight. People often work weekends. If you can, work at the San Bruno office. Sunnyvale has no parking, few desks, and a terrible smell. It literally smells terrible there 24/7.

    Continue reading
    Walmart eCommerce2017-11-14
  3. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart eCommerce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Current technology, good work.

    Cons

    Free food would be nice.

    Continue reading
    Walmart eCommerce2017-08-24
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Good Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart eCommerce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ok place to work. Good work life balance

    Cons

    No Growth. Unconscious bias :-) Has stagnated Cant trust management

    Continue reading
    Walmart eCommerce2017-08-13
  5. Helpful (12)

    "Walmart e-Commerce"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart eCommerce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1) Smart people 2) Good projects

    Cons

    1) Slow process 2) Blame game rather than moving forward 3) Lot of politics 4) Promotion awarded by years in company and not performance based 5) Managers scare people for layoffs even if they are working fine 6) Be fast paced if you really want to excel in e-commerce game.

    Continue reading
    Walmart eCommerce2017-09-06

    Walmart eCommerce Response

    October 16, 2017Talent Team

    I appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed review for us. We value all feedback, so we can make changes to improve. It's great to hear that you worked with smart people and had some good projects while here. Yet, I'm disappointed that you had a less than average experience in other areas. You have brought a lot of information forward and I can assure you that we will be looking into the issues that you were seeing. If you feel comfortable doing so, I would welcome the chance to hear your feedback directly via email or over the phone. Please reach out to me – Becky S., SVP Human Resources

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (12)

    "Average company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart eCommerce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Good work life balance 2. Good exposure to latest technologies 3. Good pay package

    Cons

    1. No process or structure. So when you have issue with don't know whom to approach. In my view you cannot approach anyone 2. Too much political atmosphere 3. Some people are tagged great irrespective of their contribution/performance/intention. Therefore other people loose drive to work 4. To much favoritism. 5. Leadership is no trustworthy and really careless. They seem to just enjoy status and don't really care for work. 6. Leadership pretend to hear unbiassed reviews from employees. But they really track who are the critics. So if 20 % people not satisfied with something fire 50% of them so that leadership can show satisfaction % improvement next year to 90%.

    Continue reading
    Walmart eCommerce2017-07-29
  7. "Good work life balance in extended off season - room to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Walmart eCommerce for more than a year

    Pros

    Those that know it's time to step up during the holiday season will be rewarded. The other ~9 months out of the year, most should find a good work life balance. Training has always been a focus Flex time is sincere

    Cons

    Holiday season is very hard to plan for but to be clear many people are in the clear just BEFORE thanksgiving and even more well before XMas. But preparing for that period requires every one to step up. Just schedule a reduced life during this time and

    Walmart eCommerce2017-06-20
  8. "Walmart is fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in San Bruno, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart eCommerce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance and benefits

    Cons

    Parking and Management need to focus

    Continue reading
    Walmart eCommerce2017-05-11
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Need better leadership to run @Labs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Bruno, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart eCommerce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Marc Lore (CEO) from Jet is awesome Great place to start your career Not long hours

    Cons

    Not a lot of talent Parking is terrible Management is clueless Old technology

    Continue reading
    Walmart eCommerce2017-06-04
  10. Helpful (13)

    "Treat employee better please!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart eCommerce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *Great work life balance *Competitive compensation

    Cons

    *Lack of culture. No holiday party at the end of year. Instead, a holiday lunch was hold at one of the conference room with food taste like panda express. *Stingy all the time. For example, a baseball game outing was hosted at AT&T park, which was nice, but no shuttle was arranged. * Lack of parking. Only 70% of full time employees could get parking permits at Sunnyvale office and the permits were distributed based on how long you've worked at WalmartLabs. For others, figure it out by yourself. New hires, contractors and people commute to San Bruno office are asked to park on street(very limited space) or a public parking lot with 20mins walking distance. *Food is not subsidized. Food in cafeteria is terrible, edible though. *Less holiday compared to other companies. We need to work on Martin Luther King's day and President's day while others are on vacation. Let alone thanksgiving which did not offer an extra day off. * Lack of communication. Many people do not know what they are doing for work. * People are not passionate about their work. * Policy is not transparent. 200 people (almost 10%) are laid off recently without telling everyone the decision criteria.

    Continue reading
    Walmart eCommerce2017-02-02

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 85 reviews