Walmart Product manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Walmart Product Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
13 Ratings
  1. "Good Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in Bentonville, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fast paced environment and lot of nuances

    Cons

    takes time to implement and takes a long time adapt

    Walmart2019-02-13
  2. "Good company to work for, has a great brand value attached to it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Product Manager in Bentonville, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart for less than a year

    Pros

    Brand value, salary, work environment, motto of the company is sharing and caring and they genuinely care for the employees

    Cons

    The perks are not that great, salary varies a lot, vacation allowance format is bad

    Walmart2019-07-30
  3. "Ask a lot of questions during interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Innovation Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to learn and develop skills Challenging work Helpful Team mates and Co-workers Good Salary and Benefits package

    Cons

    Too much top down work. Managers do not question upper management and redirects work that has less or no real value. Micro management No flexible work place or work timings

    Walmart2019-07-12
  4. "Easy Job, Spineless Managers who never have your back against unruly or scamming customers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Moraine, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Laid back environment Simple tasks 10% discount (Minus food items) Mostly nice customers Health Benefits for Full Time Flexible scheduling

    Cons

    Bad management Unruly customers Disorganization No benefits for Part Time Vests and shirt combo make you super hot Store set up

    Advice to Management

    Have your employees backs and stand up to customers in the wrong.

    Walmart2018-02-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Product Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Development Manager in Bentonville, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are great. I am friends with my coworkers. We ask each other about our weekends. We laugh at work. You get to work with a variety of suppliers and buy/development product on a huge scale.

    Cons

    There are not a lot of chances to be incredibily creative. The hours are very strict and appearances of how much you are working are everything. You do not have a lot of say or control over your own category.

    Advice to Management

    There is a problem with micromanaging and upper management wanting to decide things that are several steps down the ladder from them.

    Walmart2017-01-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Product Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart

    Pros

    Great place to work it was really awesome very happen to hve worked there.

    Cons

    It sometimes got bording when i had to work all day long there

    Advice to Management

    Management was good they were good at being good.

    Walmart2016-02-18
  7. "Great jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Support Manager in Prince Frederick, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They give people a place to work

    Cons

    To much favoritism in certain places. Over worked and under appreciate it

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees and customer more

    Walmart2016-02-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with opportunities to advance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Development Manager in Bentonville, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture is great. Most employees want to help each other grow. Mentoring programs and corporate classes to educate yourself on best practices and enhance your leadership skills. Pay is fair and bonus options are a plus. Paid vacations.

    Cons

    Sometime politic get in the way of doing the right thing for the customer.

    Walmart2015-04-29
  9. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Large scale company; great exposure; networking

    Cons

    Too much red tape and beauracracy

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the workers

    Walmart2014-02-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Misleading Salary Structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Pantry, Transportation, Mobile reimbursement

    Cons

    Salary Structure is Misleading. 4 yrs stock is shown as Annual CTC which is wrong. No company does this. Be careful.

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent. Remove hidden clauses and misleading Salary Structure which has also led to huge attrition.

    Walmart2019-10-10
Found 22 reviews