Walt Disney Animation Studios "talented people" Reviews | Glassdoor

Walt Disney Animation Studios Employee Reviews about "talented people"

Updated Feb 5, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Walt Disney Animation Studios CEO Ed Catmull
Ed Catmull
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "working with amazing talented people(in 9 reviews)

  • "Fun work environment: lots of relevant industry events, screenings, and weekly team building activities(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sometimes middle management can be very set in their ways(in 4 reviews)

  • "The hours can get pretty long, especially during crunch time(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "talented people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Animator, Storyboards, Character Design, Prop Design"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Creative Director, Animator in Burbank, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walt Disney Animation Studios for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company, Great benefits, Working with talented people

    Cons

    I never experienced any Cons while employed with Disney animation.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to create a great environment for the artists.

    Walt Disney Animation Studios2016-09-30
  2. Helpful (3)

    "visual development artist (concept artist)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Visual Development Artist in Burbank, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walt Disney Animation Studios

    Pros

    working with amazing talented people

    Cons

    not the best payment

    Advice to Management

    as we make money for the studio so much more than other companies. we should get payed as much as other studios if not more.

    Walt Disney Animation Studios2017-02-05
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Best People on Earth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CG Animator in Burbank, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walt Disney Animation Studios full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sounded by the most talented people in the industry , fun environment , a lot of free stuff " coffee, cereal, fruits, DVDs ,books ,Disney Land, Disney store discounts , and so on .... :) every day you can see and touch the history of Disney .

    Cons

    maybe it get a little bit crazy during OT but Supervisors and Department heads they always find away to make fun

    Walt Disney Animation Studios2015-12-19
  4. "great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Walt Disney Animation Studios

    Pros

    lots of talented people to learn from

    Cons

    a lack of clear direction from managers

    Advice to Management

    listen to your employees while making long term plans

    Walt Disney Animation Studios2015-06-10
  5. Helpful (5)

    "It's a fun place to work, employees are generally treated well, and the product is high quality, but politics."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Technical Director in Burbank, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Walt Disney Animation Studios full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The output is first-class. Your parents and their friends will know where you work. You get to go to Disneyland for free. Lots of talented people work here. One good thing is that the company is uber-stable (for now). Everyone else is going out of business, or has been bought by Disney. Their business model and use of strategic and synergistic couplings of companies is unmatched. In general it's great and... people are nice, but there is a dark side...

    Show More

    Cons

    Politics are sometimes a bit crazy, certainly in the TD department. Favorites are played, and so are anti-favorites. The company tends to be personality-driven. By this I mean that a department's policies and culture are determined not by figuring out what works best, but by the likes and dislikes of the most influential members of the department. This results in some strange and inefficient practices. Ed... Catmull (and probably John Lasseter) were/are ringleaders in the wage-fixing debacle in the animation industry. Not nice, if you consider greed and rampant self-interest to be not nice. There are no contracts. They try to sell that as an advantage to the employee, but let's be real...

    Show More
    Walt Disney Animation Studios2015-03-10
  6. Helpful (2)

    "visual development intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Visual Development Intern in Burbank, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walt Disney Animation Studios for less than a year

    Pros

    work with very talented people and also nice !

    Cons

    Everything is challenging, it's a high level work, that's why it is so nice !

    Walt Disney Animation Studios2014-11-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - FX Artist in Burbank, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walt Disney Animation Studios for less than a year

    Pros

    Disney Animation Studio has amazingly talented people that are a pleasure to work with. There is an incredible creative work environment. Ton's of access to everything Disney from upcoming projects to resources like the Disney library and the studio lot which is one of the most amazing places I've ever seen. Great life/work balance. Managers respect you and treat you with the utmost professionalism and it's not just... them, everyone at the company subscribes to this. Perhaps because folks that work at Disney feel comfortable that they've made it but this was by far one of the most respectful and pleasant places I've ever worked. The pay is really good. Benefits are great once they kick in ( after working 600 hours if you're not already IATSE, 400 if you are ). Disney Animation offers career coaching which is amazing. There is an open door policy when it comes to this. If there's a direction you want to pursue in your career, your managers will happily help get you there and give you the tools and support you need to achieve your goals. Even for me as a contractor this was available and invaluable. The brand is bigger than life. Silver pass is amazing if you love Disneyland/world, have kids, have a pulse ;). Free Disneyland/world for you and your family, what could be better than that? Great extra curricular activities sponsored by company. Disney discounts are great. They own much more than most realize so their discounts are extensive. I looked forward to every day of work, worked hard, worked with amazing talent and still had time to be home for dinner and see my family. Of course if you're the type that just wants to work, work, work, you can do that too. Over all I loved working at WDAS and would happily return.

    Show More

    Cons

    If you haven't already worked at Disney as a union employee (IATSE) you have to work 600 hours before you can apply for benefits. If you're returning it's 400 hours. For me, being on a 7 month contract that meant that I was paying for my own insurance until the day after I left, but then I had health coverage for the next year covered 100%. The time you're covered depends on how many hours you worked. For me that... meant 12 months of coverage, for others it meant 6 months. This is a strange thing that pertains mostly to contract employees and in my situation the day my benefits kicked in just happened to be the Monday following my last day. That is not their policy, just the way it played out for me. Other than navigating the union I have no other cons to report about the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, we notice your efforts and appreciate them!

    Walt Disney Animation Studios2014-10-29
  8. "Studio that respects the artists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walt Disney Animation Studios full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - great people to work with - talented people - lot's of out of the box thinking

    Cons

    - lots of history that makes it hard for new people to "fit in" - executive team not at one page

    Advice to Management

    let go of the past

    Walt Disney Animation Studios2013-09-26
  9. "A good studio, not more than that."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - CG Animator in Burbank, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walt Disney Animation Studios for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A studio that really grows every day. And very talented people who love what they do.

    Cons

    The structure of the studio is not the best. It is dark and some parts tight. A reform is urgent for add more windows.

    Advice to Management

    Reform the studio. More windows, all crave.

    Walt Disney Animation Studios2012-10-23
Found 9 reviews