Walt Disney Imagineering Reviews

Updated May 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
87%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Walt Disney Imagineering Chief Creative Executive Bruce Vaughn (no image)
Bruce Vaughn
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work environment, some of the most creative engineering minds I've ever had the pleasure to work with, ride system inventions keep the work fresh(in 16 reviews)

  • "Having WDI on resume gave me the opportunity to speak with other theme park design firms(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "And what gets people hired in from contractor to full-time employee status(in 10 reviews)

  • "Uninvolved Management, Management Favors Friends And Family, Empty Promises Of Raises and Slot Bonuses Just To Keep You Working Long Hours,(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive in Glendale, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Walt Disney Imagineering full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Incredible people and projects. The passion for building incredible guest experiences was inspiring.

    Cons

    For those with global roles, it was a bit of a grind. The design effort was regularly allowed to drag without real accountability.

    Walt Disney Imagineering2020-05-02
  2. "Imagineering engineering careers"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Walt Disney Imagineering full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great teamwork environment, employees are devoted to great product. Innovation is constant.

    Cons

    Too much attention paid to the loudest voices in meetings.

    Continue reading
    Walt Disney Imagineering2020-05-25
  3. "Imagineer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audio Media Producer in Lake Buena Vista, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walt Disney Imagineering full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Always something new and amazing to do and learn.

    Cons

    Long hours but always fun

    Continue reading
    Walt Disney Imagineering2020-04-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "If you have a chance to work there through some miracle, just do it."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Project Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walt Disney Imagineering full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing people with varied backgrounds Projects that will stand the test of time Mostly great leaders

    Cons

    Much more disorganized than you'd think A feeling that you're squeezing value out of brands and flooding consumers with merch

    Walt Disney Imagineering2020-04-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A truly magical place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Glendale, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walt Disney Imagineering full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A place where you can bring your most daring dreams to life. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Suffers a bit from cronyism, that can stifle progress, and career advancement for newcomers and outsiders.

    Walt Disney Imagineering2020-04-24
  6. "Creative"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walt Disney Imagineering full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun projects to work on

    Cons

    uncertain future for most interns

    Walt Disney Imagineering2020-03-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Happiest Place on Earth"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Interior Design Intern in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walt Disney Imagineering full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are amazing. Projects are fun.

    Cons

    There weren’t really any cons.

    Walt Disney Imagineering2020-01-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Best Creative Environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dimensional Designer in Glendale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walt Disney Imagineering full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people! Good company benefits. Lots of talented and wonderfully creative people to work with. Good communications throughout. Fun and comfortable and always challenging environment to work in. I would work there again in a heartbeat.

    Cons

    Sometimes you come across some big egos, but generally, if you know how to get along with big egos, if you know how to stroke them properly, then it's generally pretty easy to get your work done without too much mental and emotional pain.

    Continue reading
    Walt Disney Imagineering2020-01-09
  9. "The Best People"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Show Design and Production Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walt Disney Imagineering full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I work with some of the best and most hard working people I know. They are a wealth of knowledge and often inspiring. Imagineers work hard and lead by example.

    Cons

    Long hours and somewhat under appreciated by leadership for the effort necessary to drive for continued project delivery successes.

    Continue reading
    Walt Disney Imagineering2019-11-16
  10. "Good people and good work"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Art & Media Pipeline Engineer 

    I have been working at Walt Disney Imagineering full-time

    Pros

    Fun people to work with and good culture

    Cons

    No free food when I was working there

    Walt Disney Imagineering2019-10-22
Found 108 reviews