WarnerMedia Reviews

Updated May 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
WarnerMedia CEO Jason Kilar (no image)
Jason Kilar
3 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place for innovation"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WarnerMedia full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Exceptional growth opportunities abound, if you take the time to look for them and work for them.

    Cons

    Pockets of resistance to culture change

    Continue reading
    WarnerMedia2020-05-19
  2. "overall good company to build a career"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - VP-Technology 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at WarnerMedia full-time

    Pros

    Great opportunities within the HBOMAX

    Cons

    Constant changes within the organization has created career insecurity

    WarnerMedia2020-05-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Totally changed since acquired by AT&T"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WarnerMedia full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    My position was eliminated in during the Fall of 2019 but I know from my former coworkers still employed there that things have changed so much. Our division used to be very functional and operated like a healthy family, which is due to the management at the top allowing the department heads to manage as they saw fit. The new CEO doesn't seem to allow as much independence and the communication has broken down. Ironic, since it's a communications company.

    Cons

    Breakdown of communication from top of company, leaving department heads and consequently, everyone else, less secure about the direction of the company. You'll read a press release and that's how you find out about a new initiative or another layoff company.

    WarnerMedia2020-05-16
  4. "Great Place to get Essential Experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EVP in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at WarnerMedia full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent brands, genuine interest in cross promotion, talented people

    Cons

    Has become very bureaucratic, very political as the HQ has shifted from Atlanta to NY/LA. Not the same Turner (literally: it's now all referred to as WarnerMedia)

    Continue reading
    WarnerMedia2020-05-15
  5. "Great place to start as a developer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Software Developer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WarnerMedia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Good culture, good work life balance

    Cons

    Hard to move up, if you do move up the pay is really good

    WarnerMedia2020-05-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Hit or Miss"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer-II in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at WarnerMedia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a good place to go if you're looking to develop a new skill. They will allow you to learn on the job, even if you have zero knowledge or experience in that skill. Many teams have very good work-life balance, Lots of opportunities to learn & try new things, beautiful campus, great gym.

    Cons

    If you're looking for a company that prioritizes clean code & best practices, it's not this one. WarnerMedia is all about speed over quality. You'll find hard-coding, shortcuts, & magic numbers all over Production code. Production outages occur on a regular basis - and people seem to accept this as normal and OK. The technical debt is enormous, and no one seems to have any kind of plan to tackle it. There is no bandwidth to fix everything that's broken bc there is a constant pressure to keep churning out new features. It's a mess. I work overtime pretty much every week.

    Continue reading
    WarnerMedia2020-05-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great stable place to work in Atlanta"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Recommends

    I have been working at WarnerMedia full-time

    Pros

    Nice people, stable job (although everyone there is constantly worried about getting laid off)

    Cons

    Can be hard to move up. People don't leave often.

    WarnerMedia2020-04-19
  8. "Best place to work in Atlanta"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WarnerMedia full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The culture is great. They have built an environment for creative thinking and working.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    WarnerMedia2020-04-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Architect 

    I have been working at WarnerMedia full-time

    Pros

    Exciting Company to work for with all the changes around the TV and streaming services.

    Cons

    Little to no diversity at the Management level

    WarnerMedia2020-04-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company. Great benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Producer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WarnerMedia full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunities, outstanding PTO policy, benefits, huge profile

    Cons

    Work-life balance can be pretty bad. Some bureaus don't have them at all. People will be required to work extra hours and days and not get a comp day. Managers are barely given time to go home and sleep. Some people are looked at poorly if they don't give the company hours upon hours of free labor.

    Continue reading
    WarnerMedia2020-04-01
Found 1352 reviews