Wasabi (MA) Reviews

Updated Aug 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
5.0
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Wasabi (MA) CEO David Friend  (no image)
David Friend
12 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "A Great Place to Work and Learn!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Sales Operations Intern in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wasabi (MA) for less than a year

    Pros

    - no stuffy corporate hierarchy stuff. Everyone's accessible and willing to work together. If you have something important to present/show them, it's easy to schedule a meeting with whoever, whenever. - Direct impact: since it's small, you see your work directly impact others. No busy work. - Friendly, chill environment. It's not high pressure, fast-paced, work til 9 PM everyday. You can work from home if you need to, and everyone is considerate around holidays, too. - Great culture of learning and discussion. Lots of meetings, trainings, and everyone is approachable for questions. - In-office peloton bike - Fully stocked snack kitchen (with drinks!)

    Cons

    - Snacks are really good but unhealthy - It'd be nice to have more company outings/events--a lot of the office works remotely (developers) or travels for conferences (VPs, C-suite).

    Continue reading
    Wasabi (MA)2019-05-15
  2. "Great startup culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wasabi (MA) for less than a year

    Pros

    Love the fact that my opinion mattered from day one, and I always have projects to take on. The team genuinely cares about me and what I wanted to accomplish during my internship, as well as where my skills best contributed to the overall team and the goals. Fun coworkers who are always up for a gab, but still get work done. Stocked kitchen with snacks and drinks, occasional catered lunch. Many interns have gone on to be hired full time if the team likes you and has a spot.

    Cons

    Sometimes the office can feel isolated as everyone has their own offices and on heavy meeting days all the doors are closed. This can make it hard to get ahold of someone, but they are working on it. There is just so much going on that somethings can fall through the cracks, up to you to keep pushing until you get what you need.

    Wasabi (MA)2019-01-22
  3. Helpful (2)

    "I love working here!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wasabi (MA) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wasabi is a cloud storage startup with bold plans to take on software titans like Google, Amazon, and Microsoft and has the people in place make an incredible impact on the cloud storage market. Wasabi is also... -An enthusiastic, diverse, respectful, and fired-up group of people -A product built from the vision of very successful founders -A productive atmosphere that management has worked hard to preserve -A place I love to come into every day

    Cons

    -Everyone on my team (software engineers) work incredibly hard to keep our product reliable and stable. Sometimes that can mean putting in extra hours. -(I don't really think this is a con, but could turn some people away) It is a very autonomous environment.. we are expected to be proactive and make decisions without someone telling us exactly what to do every day.

    Continue reading
    Wasabi (MA)2018-10-01
  4. "Great Internship Experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Marketing Intern in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wasabi (MA) for less than a year

    Pros

    Pretty flexible hours while I was in classes, convenient office location by the Pru, everyone is genuinely friendly and helpful, casual work environment, my team was thoughtful about asking what I am interested in, I learned a ton about marketing, fun company outings, great snacks

    Cons

    This is a true startup, and my team was often running around to get things done. This environment is not great for interns who prefer structure and guidance, or who don't feel empowered to take initiative to pitch in and to answer their own questions.

    Continue reading
    Wasabi (MA)2018-06-04

    Wasabi (MA) Response

    July 19, 2018Marketing and Sales

    We greatly appreciate the feedback and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Wasabi! We're proud to say that we have had several interns that have moved onto exceptional career paths both within Wasabi and elsewhere.

  5. "It Doesn't Get Better Than This"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wasabi (MA) full-time

    Pros

    At Wasabi you get to come into a beautiful office and work with an amazing team who are genuinely passionate about the vision for the company. Input is always welcome and management has an open door policy. The exec team is fantastic and just being around all of the positive energy in the office makes you want to do the best job you possibly can. There is so much you can learn from everyone at Wasabi whether you are just starting your career or if you are well into your career. Flexible vacation time and some work from home days, which is always a plus. I genuinely believe in this company and I enjoy coming to work every day. I couldn't be happier.

    Cons

    General problems that come along with commuting into Boston

    Continue reading
    Wasabi (MA)2018-01-19
  6. "Best Job I've Had in the industry"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wasabi (MA) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company is laser-focused on what it wants to do. The organization is super flat with everyones opinion counted. Best ideas always seem to win. Super easy commute with a huge office

    Cons

    Office can be a little quiet at times with so many telecommunters.

    Wasabi (MA)2018-01-12
  7. "Super Dev Team and Architects"

    5.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wasabi (MA) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Challenging work you get the reward of owning yourself. Thoughtful, experienced, hard-working peers and management. Tons to do!

    Cons

    Robust, scalable infrastructure and integration tools can be a challenge to master and leverage.

    Continue reading
    Wasabi (MA)2018-01-10

    Wasabi (MA) Response

    January 11, 2018Marketing and Sales

    Thanks for sharing! We're really proud of the team we have built here at Wasabi and look forward to expanding it 2018!

  8. "Best Engineering Team Ever!!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wasabi (MA) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've worked in software in the Boston area for a long time, and Wasabi has by far the smartest and best engineering team I have ever worked with. We follow all best practices (Agile, etc.), and we have a good time doing it. Everyone has an equal voice, so we all feel free to contribute, and we all do contribute. Finally, and maybe most importantly, everybody is very respectful and kind to each other.

    Cons

    Our engineering team is not very diverse. We are very conscious of this shortcoming, and we are actively trying to increase our diversity.

    Continue reading
    Wasabi (MA)2017-12-18
  9. "Rock solid Dev team!"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wasabi (MA) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Real top-notch development team, filled with experienced people who have "been there, done that" several times with previous successful startups and don't get caught up in the typical start-up drama that plague less experienced teams. We do thing both the correct way (good processes, automated test coverage, agile development, well-tuned monitoring and real-time statistics/dashboards) as well as moving at a good tempo. We have a simple-to-understand proposition "Faster than Amazon S3, cheaper than Amazon Glacier" which brings us lots of customers. Supportive and friendly culture company-wide. Great technology framework and tooling choices - all the latest high-performance and up-to-date tech stacks!

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Continue reading
    Wasabi (MA)2017-12-18
  10. "Wasabi Hot Storage = a 'hot' opportunity"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Worker Bee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wasabi (MA) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team + great opportunity to help make cloud storage a utility service and have fun doing it! Easy access to multiple public transportation options in Boston Back Bay.

    Cons

    Boston (Back Bay) location works great for some (like me) but not for everyone

    Wasabi (MA)2017-12-18
Found 16 reviews