Washington Animal Rescue League Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Washington Animal Rescue League Reviews

Updated Mar 23, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
54%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Washington Animal Rescue League CEO Bob Ramin (no image)
Bob Ramin
4 Ratings
  1. "Volunteer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Pet Sitter in Olney, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Washington Animal Rescue League for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Volunteering gave me a sense of satisfaction for helping others, lowered my stress levels and made me feel needed, loved, and appreciated by every pet I helped and compliment I received from my manager on a job well done didn’t hurt either. I've experience in many areas such as feeding pets, reading to them, play-time, monitoring interactive behavior, cleaning and maintaining a sanitary environment and above all I loved being with people who shared the same love and compassion I do for any pet that came through the door.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not allowed to enter the Vet Clinic on regular basis.

    Advice to Management

    Prepare for overload of cuteness and responsibility

    Washington Animal Rescue League2017-12-16
  2. "Volunteer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Washington Animal Rescue League

    Pros

    The organization has/had a great mission and did great work (now merged with WHS).

    Cons

    Difficult to join the organization at a higher level as they would primarily hire from within when possible (which on the other hand is great opportunities for current employees to continue to grow).

    Washington Animal Rescue League2018-03-24
  3. "Used to be a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Washington Animal Rescue League

    Pros

    Small organization, flexible work schedules, friendly staff

    Cons

    Poor management, poor communications, small budget

    Advice to Management

    Be open to advice from ALL employees.

    Washington Animal Rescue League2016-08-25
  4. "Great mission, suffering organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Washington Animal Rescue League

    Pros

    Great facility for animals and positive experience for adopters and volunteers, good med center

    Cons

    Poor communication and lack of accountability among senior staff, decision making on whims, under current leadership the organization is not reaching its greatest potential, employees are used and not valued

    Advice to Management

    Care about your employees and colleagues, and take an honest look at the problems in the organization rather than covering up what you don't want to see

    Washington Animal Rescue League2015-08-31
  5. "Great organization to be apart of."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Washington Animal Rescue League full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Managers are generally flexible with schedules. Employees are compassionate, caring people who come together to rehab many emotionally damaged animals. Same routine everyday, so if you are a creature of habit then it'll be great for you. You are allowed the opportunity to impact and better the lives of hundreds of animals a year, so if you are a true animal lover then you will do great.

    Cons

    If you are not comfortable with euthanasia, then it's not the place for you. It can be hard to move upwards unless you are extremely well-liked. Also, employees sometimes have to a baby-sit incompetent volunteers.

    Washington Animal Rescue League2014-12-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "changing organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Caretaker in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Washington Animal Rescue League full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Co workers make the days great.

    Cons

    Leadership is ignorant and reckless.

    Advice to Management

    learn what your organization is about.

    Washington Animal Rescue League2014-10-10
  7. "A wonderful place who cares about their mission and vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Washington Animal Rescue League

    Pros

    Have a dog or cat? Bring them to work with you!

    Cons

    Its very divided in views and policies.

    Washington Animal Rescue League2014-01-20
Found 7 reviews