Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Reviews | Glassdoor

Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Reviews

Updated Nov 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
43%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Good, but short"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Scientific Technician I in Olympia, WA

    I have been working at Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement for less than a year

    Pros

    Get great field work experience and work with great people.

    Cons

    Mainly only temporary positions and it's hard to get a permanent position.

    Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement2016-09-17
  2. "good job, good benefits, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hatchery Specialist in Sequim, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting and varied work, rewarding goals, beautiful settings, great benefits

    Cons

    Poor salary, poor management, limited/no opportunity for advancement

    Continue reading
    Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement2019-11-26
  3. "Horrible Managers, Horrible Human Resources, Horrible Commission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wildlife Program, Not Enforcement in Olympia, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Maybe 30% of agency staff are devoted to natural resources, are honest, and have integrity. Most supervisors and managers do not have these qualities.

    Cons

    I have worked here many years and it gets worse every year. Horrible supervisors and managers. Pathological liars. No morals. It's sad to see an agency that is supposed to be devoted to conservation and natural resources turn into such a dishonest and abusive agency.

    Continue reading
    Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement2019-09-23
  4. "Great Benefits and work life balance is amazing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very stable place to work with incredible benefits.

    Cons

    Not a whole lot of creative freedom as it's government work.

    Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement2019-06-12
  5. "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hatchery Specialist in Gig Harbor, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get to work with fish, be outdoor

    Cons

    Disorganized , poor culture . Don’t care about employees

    Continue reading
    Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement2019-05-04
  6. "The job is great, however the management is bad with communication and co-worker is a grade A jerk."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Natural Resource Specialist in Naches, WA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get to be in the outdoors.

    Cons

    Co-workers can be unpleasant and its alot of physical activity.

    Continue reading
    Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement2018-08-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Absolute Joke-Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement full-time

    Pros

    The people at the neighboring hatcheries were a pleasure to work with.

    Cons

    The road to McKernan Hatchery was constantly flooded. They occasionally provided a truck to get through but there were several times I had to take my personal vehicle through 2 feet of water if I wanted to go on my weekend

    Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement2018-05-09
  8. "Fisheries Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Fisheries Technician 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get to work outside. Projects vary, so you can work on different things. Good people. Work feels meaningful.

    Cons

    Can be difficult at times to find enough work to stay busy. Pay is low compared to necessary qualifications.

    Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement2017-12-03
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Don't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Olympia, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great science and natural resource work

    Cons

    Horrible executive management. Harassment and discrimination routine and not managed. "Good old boys club." Ignored HR advice. Worst HR office I've ever seen and I've been in the field for a long time.

    Continue reading
    Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement2017-10-23
  10. "Good people doing important work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Habitat Biologist in Wenatchee, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work with a purpose, great coworkers and lots of wonderful land

    Cons

    fluctuating funding and patchy management

    Continue reading
    Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement2017-06-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 14 reviews