Washington Federal Reviews | Glassdoor

Washington Federal Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 294 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Brent Beardall
70 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great co-workers, work environment, training program(in 18 reviews)

  • "They have great working hours, holidays off, M-T 8-5 Friday 8-6, no weekends(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "The benefits don't out way the low pay(in 41 reviews)

  • "Upper management truly doesn't understand what they ask of technical teams(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Branch Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Washington Federal full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The work environment at Washington Federal is great. We work together as a team not only in each branch but together as a division. The company invests in the employees. It you want to succeed you only need to put forth the effort and the company will support you. The benefits are great. We have matching in the 401K along with Stock Options. I have thoroughly enjoyed working here. I can honestly say that "I love...

    Show More

    Cons

    Don't offer auto loans. Government Regulations

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for focusing on the employee. I really appreciate that we are a linear company. We are all in this together and we are making it work.

    Washington Federal2018-12-15

    Washington Federal Response

    December 26, 2018President & Chief Executive Officer

    Thank you for your post and being a dedicated WAFD Branch Manager. It is so gratifying to see that you feel like I do. We are all in this together, employees, clients, shareholders and our communities. It shows when you Love What You Do. Happy 2019

  2. "Best Company I have ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Washington Federal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employees are appreciated. CEO is dedicated to the employees, culture and community. Benefits are great and you can earn bonuses. No weekend work.

    Cons

    Hard to find quality employees due to lower pay.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing

    Washington Federal2019-04-28

    Washington Federal Response

    April 30, 2019President & Chief Executive Officer

    Thank you for the post. We agree we are making progress. #gladtobehere

  3. "Good bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Bothell, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Washington Federal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of integrity working for this bank. The bank is clean, friendly, and goes above and beyond to make sure our clients our satisfied. My manager does a great job at explaining things and helping us understand new concepts so we feel comfortable and confident at all times. There is also free coffee and drinks and snacks in the break room :)

    Cons

    There is a lot of down-time. I would prefer to have more to do to stay busy. Also, the pay should be a lot higher. We are going through a lot of upgrades and changes so I'm hoping there will be a raise for the tellers in the near future.

    Advice to Management

    I would like the tellers to make more money. I found out a call center for Washington Federal is making three dollars an hour more than us in the next town over. This was very troubling to find out because we do much more than the call centers. In fact, the call centers usually transfer the clients to us.

    Washington Federal2019-07-29
  4. "Stepping stone place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Washington Federal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work experience, good 401k match, great company culture and views for the future.

    Cons

    Pay is way below industry standards. Required to do all things within the branch from tellers to complex lending. Always lacking branch coverage for staff.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your people well and they will stay. Provide them help when they ask for it. Listen to them when they repeatedly tell you what they need.

    Washington Federal2019-07-26
  5. "Heavy Politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior QA Automation Engineer in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Washington Federal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits / competitive pay

    Cons

    Politics ruin any kind of working relationships and make work life miserable

    Washington Federal2019-08-14
  6. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Loan Processor in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Washington Federal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, stand up desk, nice lunch room, busy pipeline.

    Cons

    Newish department lacking a little bit of structure in some areas but not bad. Once they get it down will be better!

    Advice to Management

    Sometimes too busy for employees.

    Washington Federal2019-07-03

    Washington Federal Response

    July 8, 2019President & Chief Executive Officer

    Thanks for your comments and helping get the LPC stood up in Albuquerque. We have made a lot of progress and are looking forward to continuing to improve. Wish you the best going forward.

  7. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at Washington Federal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers, work environment, training program.

    Cons

    Pay per responsibility is low. Unless you are higher than a PB it is near impossible to earn a living wage.

    Washington Federal2019-06-30

    Washington Federal Response

    July 8, 2019President & Chief Executive Officer

    Thank you for your post. We are working on career paths to provide opportunities for advancement and higher compensation.

  8. "Lots of good intentions but not so much follow through"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Washington Federal

    Pros

    Washington Federal is a bank that is rapidly trying to update their image and branding through rapid adoption of technologies that are seen as good value. The leadership is committed to bridging the overwhelming gaps between where they are as a company and where they want to be.

    Cons

    Not all technological advances are well thought out, and at its core WAFD is still that brick and mortar bank that didn’t have email before 2012. Advancement is not awarded based on merit or achievement, rather it’s loosely based on who you know, not what you know.

    Advice to Management

    If you are serious about becoming the Amazon of finance institutions, it’s time to shed some of the baggage of underperforming and low paid employees, and increase your pay to draw in the cream of the technology crop.

    Washington Federal2019-07-03

    Washington Federal Response

    July 8, 2019President & Chief Executive Officer

    Thank you for your post. We are serious about pay for performance and accountability. Words are easy, action is much harder. Let me know how we are doing going forward.

  9. "Pay scale reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Personal Banker 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Washington Federal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sharing the ultimate truth pay scale

    Cons

    Below is what I got paid as a full-time employee from 2016-2018, In Dec 2016, as a customer service representative - $11/ hour, full-time employee, NO 401K In 2017, as a customer service representative - $12/hour, full-time employee, NO 401K In mid-2017- Customer service supervisor, $13.40/hour, full-time employee, NO 401K In 2018 - with NMLS License, Notary Public License, Personal Banker Position, $14.90/hour,...

    Show More
    Washington Federal2019-07-19
  10. "Good place to start, but not stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Oregon City, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Washington Federal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Holidays off, weekends off, pretty much 8 to 5 job

    Cons

    PAY is very much lower then the industry standards. people flipping burgers make more!

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay, provide decent training. Brent went on MSNBC and stated that all employees got a 3% wage increase, The truth is it had to be split amongst all employees in the branch. Bonus are a joke, If you live in a small community forget it, $60.00 was the bonus. High turn over. Ready to leave I need to earn a living. I can not live on 12.00hr.

    Washington Federal2019-06-26

    Washington Federal Response

    July 8, 2019President & Chief Executive Officer

    Thank you for your comment. We wish you the best. All employees earning under $100k, did get a 5% increase in addition to their normal merit increases in 2018.

Found 294 reviews