Washington Humane Society Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Washington Humane Society Reviews

Updated Sep 1, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
39%
Recommend to a Friend
Washington Humane Society President and CEO Lisa LaFontaine
Lisa LaFontaine
0 Rating
  1. "They do their very best to take care of the animals."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vet Tech in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Washington Humane Society full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    multiple days off back to back

    Cons

    Long days that start early and end late.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work overall.

    Washington Humane Society2017-09-02
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Humane to Animals, not employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Washington Humane Society full-time

    Pros

    You get to work for one of the leading Humane organizations in the country, lots of PR. events, and you get to work with some amazing people.

    Cons

    The upper management is more focused on the "future" than growing their employees, and paying them a living wage.

    Washington Humane Society2017-05-04
  3. "The job is hard, but rewarding. Staff aren't as appreciated as they should be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Washington Humane Society

    Pros

    The work is very rewarding and you get a lot of great experience working in a fast-paced environment. The animals are great, and when the team works well together, the work environment is really a great place.

    Cons

    The facility is not equipped to safely perform surgery on the number of animals we received on a daily basis. The equipment was outdated - some of it didn't even work. When this was brought to management, nothing really happened to change it. We were also really understaffed, which led to safety concerns for the animals - there weren't enough techs to monitor the animals we had.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your staff! Pay them more - and make sure that you're paying everyone an equal amount if they have equal experience. Make sure the surgery suite is prepped with equipment that works!

    Washington Humane Society2016-11-29
  4. "Veterinary Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Veterinary Technician 
    Recommends

    I worked at Washington Humane Society full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very rewarding experience working to help and save many animals in need with limited resources. You start off with great motivation, determination and compassion in your position. I really enjoyed the work that I did here at WHS.

    Cons

    Because there are so many animals in need with limited resources and options, you develop compassion fatigue and can be overwhelmed with the burden of a heavy work load.

    Advice to Management

    Continuous support between management and staff.

    Washington Humane Society2016-11-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "If you love animals, don't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Supervisor in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Washington Humane Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work with cats and dogs, and create bonds with them

    Cons

    The C team is the worst. They don't actually like animals, and will just do whatever will make them look good, even if it means hiding the deaths of 250 kittens

    Advice to Management

    Work directly in the shelter.

    Washington Humane Society2016-12-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Don't reccomend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Washington Humane Society full-time

    Pros

    Lots of kittens, adoptions staff is killer.

    Cons

    understaffed, quick turnover, compassion fatigue, over worked

    Washington Humane Society2016-09-20
  7. "Adoptions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Adoption Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Washington Humane Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great mission, we help all animals in DC, you feel like you are helping both animals and the community. If you are positive and can-do, there are good opportunities because there are so many different services and departments.

    Cons

    There are a lot of upbeat days but there are a lot of sad animal stories. Shelter work can be messy and some of our facilities are beat up.

    Washington Humane Society2016-07-23
  8. "All about the mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Washington Humane Society full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team feeling, mission, helping animals, seeing dogs improve. Training and care. Customers can be tough but most appreciate what we did for them. This was the most satifsfying job I ever had.

    Cons

    We needed a better building and more supplies. It would be good to have newer equipment and more training for staff.

    Advice to Management

    Find more good people and be sure they have everything they need to succeed.

    Washington Humane Society2016-07-24
  9. "good employees, upper management hit or miss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Washington Humane Society full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good coworkers who care about their jobs and the animals

    Cons

    lack of room for growth, dirty work environment (if you work in the shelter offices)

    Washington Humane Society2016-07-03
  10. "Good people and good work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Washington Humane Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is the hardest, most challenging most rewarding job I've had. Staff are the best and the animals show their love. I've already been promoted. There are great opportunities to grow when you work hard, help eachother and ask for opportunities.

    Cons

    It's hard to leave the work behind. It is definitely not a 9 to 5 job so you have to be committed to the Mission. But its the best work experience I've had.

    Washington Humane Society2016-03-04
Found 18 reviews