Washington River Protection Solutions Reviews | Glassdoor

Washington River Protection Solutions Reviews

Updated Feb 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Washington River Protection Solutions President & Project Manager L. David Olson (no image)
L. David Olson
19 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Decent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Washington River Protection Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Low stress level of work

    Cons

    Lack of personal accountability to individuals

    Continue reading
    Washington River Protection Solutions2016-12-12
  2. "Intern Experiance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Richland, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Washington River Protection Solutions for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay was pretty good at ~24/hr. The hours were great at the 4 tens schedule. I enjoyed my time there. I would recommend it

    Cons

    The work can be a little slow simply for the fact that the company is large and compartmentalized. Waking up early is hard at first but getting off at 4:30 is great.

    Washington River Protection Solutions2016-11-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Richland, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Washington River Protection Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the employees are really nice. Also there is an abundance of really really smart people. Its pretty cool getting to know the people working there. Compensation is really good.

    Cons

    Government contract with to much red tape. Simple jobs take months. No matter what your total of job function should be, all work consists mostly of paperwork. Strong union presence makes doing anything fun out of the question. You can't even move your own office furniture or plug in a monitor, keyboard or mouse.

    Continue reading
    Washington River Protection Solutions2016-11-11
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Washington River Protection Solutions for less than a year

    Pros

    The interns are compensated well (~$23/hr), but the interest level of the projects can vary greatly. Most people work a 4/10 schedule, which would be great except for the fact that there is nothing exciting for young people to do in Tri-Cities. We usually found our respite going to Seattle, Portland or the Cascades. In that regard, work/life balance is acceptable.

    Cons

    The bureaucratic nature and age of the workforce at the Hanford project in general takes its toll on the work culture at WRPS. The Hanford clean-up project has provided thousands of stable high-paying jobs to the area, which initially sounds like a positive thing. But the double-edged sword is that when (if ever) the clean-up is complete, most of those jobs presumably come to an end. So why would any current employee (especially older with a family) want to push for finishing the project quickly and work toward the end of their job? The end result is an unnecessary amount of red-tape that prevents meaningful work from being accomplished while continually pushing back deadlines. The other result is a stodgy work culture, which is unappealing if you're an aspiring young engineer. My advice would be that WRPS isn't a great place to start your career unless you are a graduate with a GPA < 3.0 and this is all you can get for the time being. If you want to learn transferable engineering skills and become a better and more versatile engineer, go work for a company in industry that actually has the opportunity for professional development; you can always come back to WRPS later (b/c the Hanford clean-up won't finish in our lifetimes), but staying at WRPS will make it difficult to get anywhere else.

    Continue reading
    Washington River Protection Solutions2016-08-27
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Interesting work, in a fantasy world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Chemical Engineer in Richland, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Washington River Protection Solutions

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits; interesting work

    Cons

    Working as a contractor for the US Dept. of Energy means you never know when your project will be canceled for no reason, or delayed by the farcical political issue of the day.

    Continue reading
    Washington River Protection Solutions2016-07-28
  6. Helpful (2)

    "comsi comsa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Operations Support Specialist in Kennewick, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Washington River Protection Solutions for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Pay and pretty decent team atmosphere, at least on my new team the old one was not very tight nit.

    Cons

    Long commute and dealing with multiple contractors and unions. Also all the nasty stuff we work around.

    Continue reading
    Washington River Protection Solutions2016-05-03
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Difficult Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Washington River Protection Solutions full-time

    Pros

    The pay and benefits are about it.

    Cons

    Everything is broken, meaning the processes and procedures for just about everything. The craft don't care about getting work done and are seriously disgruntled. The Non-craft for the most part really don't care either and the majority of the workforce is in the 50's/60's. If you're a motivated person who wants to get work done you will be frustrated at the end of every day. That's why most people leave as soon as possible. Everything gets buried in needless paperwork or takes twice as long to do because that's how its done and has been done. Nothing makes sense.

    Continue reading
    Washington River Protection Solutions2016-05-09
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Former Wrps engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Washington River Protection Solutions

    Pros

    Good People. Great 401k program.

    Cons

    Bad place to learn how to be an engineer. Takes years to learn how to get anything done. Have to learn to jump through all the hoops Nuclear Safety, Environmental, Process Hazads Analysis, Unions etc. Takes a mountain of paperwork to accomplish the smallest tasks.

    Continue reading
    Washington River Protection Solutions2016-05-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Process Enginer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Washington River Protection Solutions

    Pros

    Standard hours. Plenty of time for outside work activities.

    Cons

    Lots of paperwork without much active engineering work.

    Washington River Protection Solutions2016-03-30
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Process Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at Washington River Protection Solutions

    Pros

    Pay above market value. Direct management cares about their employees. Big company but feels smaller based on individual group you are a part of.

    Cons

    Location. Company is trying to bring younger generation in, but has trouble keeping them there long-term. It's tough because of the highly regulated environment to get projects done.

    Continue reading
    Washington River Protection Solutions2016-02-22
Found 47 reviews