Washington State University Instructor Reviews | Glassdoor

Washington State University Instructor Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
22%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Washington State University President  Kirk Schulz (no image)
Kirk Schulz
2 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Lab Instructor in Vancouver, WA

    I have been working at Washington State University

    Pros

    Organized, fun and challenging place to work

    Cons

    Have to pay for parking

    Washington State University2019-04-23
  2. "Beautiful Vancouver campus, not good for graduate level."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor in Vancouver, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Washington State University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The Vancouver campus is beautiful. Faculties and people are nice.

    Cons

    Low salary level, not good management.

    Washington State University2019-10-23
  3. "Focus is on athletics, not academics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor, College Or University in Vancouver, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Washington State University part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent library resources, generally enthusiastic students

    Cons

    Shockingly little of the tuition money seems to trickle back down to teaching labs, teaching staff, or direct support staff

    Continue reading
    Washington State University2019-02-16
  4. "increasing work load"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor in Pullman, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Washington State University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    pays well, good benefits, lots of work

    Cons

    expected to pay everyone, including those that expect something for nothing

    Continue reading
    Washington State University2019-01-30
  5. "Questionable Admin Priorities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Washington State University part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The student body is generally hard-working, respectful, and excited for the opportunity to learn. These are some of the best students I've ever worked with.

    Cons

    Admin seems way more interested in padding its own bonuses and dumping money into new buildings, football salaries, and meaningless new teams than in supporting the students or the people who directly interact with them. I have serious reservations about the ROI on WSU degrees, and that's a shame, because a lot of WSU students don't have many options.

    Continue reading
    Washington State University2019-02-04
  6. "Student Involvement Fitness Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Group Fitness Instructor in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Washington State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to teach fitness classes in between academic classes, on campus, teaching students, more relaxed gym environment

    Cons

    Many students don't take the fitness classes very seriously because they're free and the fitness center at WSU Vancouver is small. Hourly wage is set and group X classes are limited to about 8-10 in size b/c of small facilities. But more laid-back than big gyms.

    Continue reading
    Washington State University2018-11-10
  7. "Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor, College Or University in Richland, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Washington State University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Faculty support and good salary

    Cons

    Can be a bit isolated from decisions

    Washington State University2017-01-19
  8. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adjunct Instructor in Pullman, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Washington State University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers, small town, lighter teaching loads, great training for instructors

    Cons

    The pay is just enough to not be able to pay your bills

    Continue reading
    Washington State University2016-05-20
  9. "Instructor (Teaching Assistant)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor in Pullman, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Washington State University part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Most departments are flexible and family-friendly. Pullman is fairly affordable although rents can be higher than expected as the town is predominantly populated by college students.

    Cons

    High rent for rural living. Lots of very strong egos - will test your diplomacy skills! Pay is not particularly high.

    Continue reading
    Washington State University2016-04-28
  10. "Amazing place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Instructor in Pullman, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Washington State University

    Pros

    Every person that I've encountered, from staff to faculty has been top notch.

    Cons

    Enrollment in my department has been low.

    Washington State University2015-04-13

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 12 reviews