Washington State University Reviews | Glassdoor

Washington State University Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
86%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Washington State University President  Kirk Schulz (no image)
Kirk Schulz
133 Ratings
  1. "An inclusive environment for every student to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern Marketing in Pullman, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Washington State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everybody in the office is extremely supportive. Go Cougs!

    Cons

    I wish it was a little bit more fast-paced and challenging. It seems to be repetitive.

    Washington State University2020-01-25
  2. "Good Benefits, Low on Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Master Gardener Coordinator in Tacoma, WA

    I worked at Washington State University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Very creative and caring group of people doing hands on work in the community - Ability to design and implement programs that benefit your local community - Benefits to the environment and human communities - Very good vacation benefits (1 day of sick leave/month and 2 vacation days/month, good retirement, and well-covered health care).

    Cons

    - Minimal raises even with good performance due to low funding at university level. In my humble opinion the university has not prioritized securing funding to retain program coordinators within Extension. - Program coordinators do the work of more than one person due to less and less resources being available at university level. - Need to evolve in diversity, equity, and inclusion work internally (with staff) and externally (in community).

    Continue reading
    Washington State University2020-02-03
  3. "Graduate research assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Agente Assicurativo 

    I worked at Washington State University part-time

    Pros

    safe, quiet, eyes, dental included.

    Cons

    life is not convenient

    Washington State University2020-01-17
  4. "Good Place to work Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Assistant in Pullman, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Washington State University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to interact with some great people from the University community. Friendly work environment.

    Cons

    Pay is kind of low. Limited growth potential.

    Washington State University2020-01-16
  5. "Horrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Washington State University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    PTO is fairly generous in relation to other state jobs.

    Cons

    Harassment from Executive Director, many employees doing her dirty work for her No oversight from the university on this department, despite many attempts Harassment and bullying by this Director is well known across the organization and nothing is ever done about it.

    Continue reading
    Washington State University2020-02-18
  6. "It was alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Consulting Software IT Specialist 

    I have been working at Washington State University part-time

    Pros

    Easy hours and decent pay

    Cons

    They need to be more accommodating with schedules.

    Washington State University2020-01-13
  7. "inconsistent at best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Community Journalist 

    I have been working at Washington State University part-time

    Pros

    flexible, can do prep from home.

    Cons

    don't know if i'll have a job in 4 months, ever.

    Washington State University2020-01-26
  8. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research/Teaching Assistant in Pullman, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Washington State University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Peaceful, friendly environment. Everyone is working in harmony.

    Cons

    Fund crisis. It is hard to get research fund.

    Washington State University2019-12-29
  9. "Very Positive Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - University Ambassador in Pullman, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Washington State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and accepting work environment and everyone is willing to help and contribute.

    Cons

    Sometimes hard to manage stressful weeks of school with exams and projects and still focus at work.

    Washington State University2019-12-18
  10. "Good Benefits. Expect seniority to move up based on length of service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Database Administrator in Pullman, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Washington State University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Good pulse.

    Cons

    Lots of discussion regarding progress and change... mostly discussion.

    Continue reading
    Washington State University2019-12-13

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 757 reviews