Washington Trust Bank Reviews | Glassdoor

Washington Trust Bank Reviews

Updated Mar 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 60 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Peter Stanton
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, treated fairly, company culture is excellent, lots of opportunity for growth(in 5 reviews)

  • "The hours allow for work-life balance(in 4 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company that cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Team Lead 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Washington Trust Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance. Small enough to care but large enough to take care of customers. Empowers individuals to make decisions.

    Cons

    Not super competitive in technology services.

    Washington Trust Bank2019-03-22
  2. "I would recommend WTB to a friend or family member."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Spokane, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Washington Trust Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I had a long and prosperous career with Washington Trust Bank. I was promoted several times and given the opportunity to learn new postings on the job. Employment longevity is very common which enables a strong knowledge base for coworkers and peers to tap into. Their benefits are competitive and the corporation strives to create a sense of family and inclusion.

    Cons

    Dependent on position, wages may not be as competitive as the open market. In order to gain a proper wage adjustment you may have to leave the company and come back.

    Advice to Management

    1) Stop promoting experts into management positions just because you think it is the only way compensate them; time-in-job, proficiency and skill does not equate to the necessary talent required to be a good manager. 2) It should be normal for the salary of highly skilled employees to exceed the manager's salary. This is a common practice in the marketplace and it prevents pushing key staff into management positions...

    Show More
    Washington Trust Bank2019-02-28
  3. "Teller job was fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Washington Trust Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The hours were great to have

    Cons

    I do not have anything to add

    Washington Trust Bank2019-02-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Yea no"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Universal Banker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Washington Trust Bank for more than a year

    Pros

    Good bank very honest with customers

    Cons

    Bad management, no flexibility but there is little room for growth with the company

    Washington Trust Bank2019-01-28
  5. "Great Place To Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PSR in Spokane, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Washington Trust Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Time Off, 401K Match, Ect

    Cons

    Management could work better together.

    Washington Trust Bank2018-12-20
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Washington Trust Bank full-time

    Pros

    Pay, work-life balance, family atmosphere, excellent co-workers, management

    Cons

    Limited advancement opportunities, lots of multi-tasking

    Washington Trust Bank2018-12-14
  7. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Spokane, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Washington Trust Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company that cares & develops employees

    Cons

    Behind in technology for the industry

    Washington Trust Bank2018-12-05
  8. "Great culture, atmosphere, and people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Washington Trust Bank

    Pros

    The bank cares more about you than anything else, always willing to go above and beyond to provide

    Cons

    I have yet to find a con at this bank. I have never been more happy at a job.

    Washington Trust Bank2018-11-21
  9. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Washington Trust Bank full-time

    Pros

    Community focused bank large enough to offer solutions for clients. Largest privately owned bank in the Northwest.

    Cons

    Footprint is limited to 3 states

    Washington Trust Bank2018-11-17
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Back Office Experience- Spokane, Wa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Washington Trust Bank full-time

    Pros

    Local Bank in Spokane, WA

    Cons

    Overworked, under appreciated, no training, bad management, no work life balance, self-serving management, hostile work environment, thankless, HR does not support employee, good old boys club

    Advice to Management

    Hire management that know how to manage and develop employees, and have worked to earn their positions. CEO and President create videos acting as if they care about the employees, but bottom line, if you reach out for there help they will ignore you. Self-serving & deceitful.

    Washington Trust Bank2018-11-18
Found 60 reviews