Washoe County Reviews | Glassdoor

Washoe County Reviews

Updated Sep 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "None"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Deputy in Reno, NV

    I worked at Washoe County

    Pros

    Awesome place to work period

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Simply the best bunch of people.

    Washoe County2016-10-12
  2. "Great people, terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Reno, NV
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Washoe County for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great people to work with, can't get fired, good benefits/ pay (if you're not an intern)

    Cons

    old/rundown buildings, management is terrifying and not out for your best interest, overbearing management

    Advice to Management

    Trust your employees, they're trying to keep the public safe. And while doing so they may not get 90 inspections done, but your people will be safe. All about quality over quantity.

    Washoe County2019-09-05
  3. "They dont care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sergeant in Reno, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Washoe County full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The regional area is the only good thing.

    Cons

    Washoe County government doesnt care about employees or growth expectations

    Advice to Management

    Care about employees for once.

    Washoe County2019-06-23
  4. "Fair and Secure Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Support Specialist in Reno, NV

    I have been working at Washoe County full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Job Security, Pay, Benefits, Opportunities, Education

    Cons

    Could have more recognition towards mid and lower range employees. Executives and upper management are most often the only focus.

    Washoe County2019-01-23
  5. "Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in Reno, NV
    Recommends

    I worked at Washoe County full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I worked with some terrific people at Washoe County - they very much cared about doing their jobs to the best of their abilities and making the County an even better place to live.

    Cons

    Upper management tended to be all about lip service. There were several reorganizations that didn't appear to make any difference in the actual management culture.

    Advice to Management

    It's been too long for me to give advice to the current management. I hope they have become less about words and more about actions.

    Washoe County2018-02-28
  6. "Chief Deputy Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chief Deputy Clerk in Reno, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Washoe County full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a great job to have.

    Cons

    I have no complaints so far

    Washoe County2016-08-29
  7. "County employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Reno, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Washoe County for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Beautiful place and beautiful people to with and for. Supervisors listen to you.

    Cons

    Much work to do, and little time in day to get done.

    Advice to Management

    Stay positive

    Washoe County2016-08-12
  8. "Washoe County"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Human Resources Analyst II in Reno, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Washoe County for more than 10 years

    Pros

    As a public service entity, Washoe County appropriately balances the needs of the community that funds the services, with the needs of employees in terms of personal and professional growth. Additionally, most managers are trained to be effective mentors and offer small benefits to their staff such as flexible work hours.

    Cons

    Because we are a public service entity, all administrative functions are governed by the Board of County Commissioners. It is up to those 5 people who, for example, implement the compensation philosophy of the County. Often, those people are driven more by the perception they will give their constituents rather than doing the right thing for employees.

    Advice to Management

    Provide even more training (possibly mandatory) to managers and supervisors and look for more "out of the box" thinking and ideas to motivate and reward employees with non-monetary benefits.

    Washoe County2016-07-15
  9. "Local government has challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Washoe County full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The staff I worked with were great and always willing to help their fellow county employees and genuinely enjoyed their career paths.

    Cons

    During the recession years (2007 to 2012), many long-time managers failed in their leadership. Instead of retiring, they chose to sacrifice their staff.

    Advice to Management

    Re-evaluate the bargaining units. No one group should have influence over another.

    Washoe County2015-08-07
  10. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Reno, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Washoe County

    Pros

    Good job security and retirement

    Cons

    Very tight with pay increases.

    Washoe County2015-06-12
Found 13 reviews