Washoe County Schools Reviews | Glassdoor

Washoe County Schools Reviews

Updated Sep 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Washoe County Schools CEO Pedro Martinez (no image)
Pedro Martinez
18 Ratings
  1. "Overworked and no sight of a salary increase"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Washoe County Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Collaboration with knowledgeable co workers

    Cons

    Too many demands Not enough time

    Washoe County Schools2019-09-24
  2. "Great work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Substitute Teacher in Reno, NV

    I have been working at Washoe County Schools part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Kind and helpful teachers rewarding Fast days

    Cons

    Kids can treat you pretty bad, especially middle school

    Washoe County Schools2019-08-05
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "BAs in English and Music & Theatre; Masters in TESOL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Reno, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Washoe County Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I love working with young people motivating them for future happiness and success.

    Cons

    Teaching can be stressful with many hours of overtime required.

    Advice to Management

    WCSD should take advantage of well educated instructors who want to continue working after retiring from full time teaching with the district.

    Washoe County Schools2019-06-17
  5. "Education Technology Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ETS in Reno, NV

    I worked at Washoe County Schools part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Okay pay, Summers and winters off.

    Cons

    No benefits if you work under 27.5 hours. So they keep a lot of their jobs right under.

    Advice to Management

    Certain jobs require them to be full time to work efficiently and provide the adequate support schools need.

    Washoe County Schools2019-05-13
  6. "Top Heavy Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - School Counselor in Reno, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Washoe County Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love working with children

    Cons

    Too many administrators trying to make a name for themselves are nickel and diming teachers and counselors.

    Advice to Management

    Budget cuts should trim the management fat first instead of the current trend of cutting things out like busing for students and expanding classroom sizes.

    Washoe County Schools2019-05-03
  7. "WCSD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Education Technology Specialist in Reno, NV

    I have been working at Washoe County Schools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get all major Holidays, Winter Break and Summers off.

    Cons

    Hours are right under the needed to qualify for benefits.

    Washoe County Schools2019-04-12
  8. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Teacher in Reno, NV

    I have been working at Washoe County Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Washoe County is a strong district. I’ve loved working there for 21 years.

    Cons

    There are no cons. If I ever relocate to Bishop, it is for my family.

    Washoe County Schools2019-03-26
  9. "K-8 Educator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Washoe County Schools full-time

    Pros

    Benefits and flexible schedule with holidays.

    Cons

    Management, lack of support, extra work from government

    Washoe County Schools2018-12-01
  10. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Sparks, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Washoe County Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Students and Faculty, School Sites themselves work well as a unit to overcome challenges

    Cons

    District Administration, Lack of Communication, Lack of Teamwork for the common goal - the students. Admin and those in charge of departments worry about themselves and ways to elevate their paycheck before retirement. Don't care what their actions may effect once they leave.

    Advice to Management

    Start communicating, holding everyone to standards and accountability including the superintendent, department leads and the rest of the district administration/staff. Research and take advice from experts before implementation that wastes funds.

    Washoe County Schools2018-08-28
  11. "Public School Teaching"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Washoe County Schools full-time

    Pros

    Spending every day with young people Largely self-directed work Learning more about the world

    Cons

    Large class sizes Students not always motivated Administration values ratings over experiences

    Advice to Management

    Less emphasis on making every class taught by every teacher identical

    Washoe County Schools2018-01-07
Found 49 reviews