Washoe County Schools Reviews | Glassdoor

Washoe County Schools Reviews

Updated Aug 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Washoe County Schools CEO Pedro Martinez (no image)
Pedro Martinez
18 Ratings
  1. "Substitute Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Substitute Teacher in Reno, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Washoe County Schools for more than a year

    Pros

    You create your own schedule. You can cancel an assignment the day before. You get to pick what grade and class to teach from a list that's updated frequently. Some schools offer more support than others for helping substitutes get situated with their class.

    Cons

    There isn't a consistent way of helping substitutes. There is a shortage of substitutes and that puts more pressure on subs as well as the teachers the substitutes rely on for help next door. Sometimes not enough subs sign up for a school and that means the teachers have to take on another class or go sub for another teacher during the time they are trying to prepare classwork for students. It affects everyone.... There could be more communication about students and their records, whether or not they are violent and what triggers them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    We need more support from the secretary department at every school. They should not assume the current teacher will provide important details about a student. I had a violent student in a classroom. He started a fist fight in the middle of class. No one warned me he had violent incidents in the past year. When the fight happened I was 6 months pregnant. I followed protocol but still was physically affected by this... incident. If I knew this child would be violent I would not have signed up for the particular assignment.

    Show More
    Washoe County Schools2017-12-03
  2. "Kids are great, Administration is wanting..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Washoe County Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Most of the students are great, keeping in mind every place has its issues. I would say most building administrations seem to have a clue, but not all.

    Cons

    Upper bureaucracy is ineffective and consistently makes poor choices, from execution of plans to hiring effective teachers and administration. There is frequent inconsistency from site to site and zone to zone, as a result of a massive school district that should really be broken in to more autonomous regions. Good luck working with the transportation department, which is an embodiment of all the issues the district... has (including accountability of funds!).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fire ineffective administrations, educators, and staff members--they are holding you back. Figure our transportation, which is an ABSOLUTE mess.

    Washoe County Schools2017-12-05
  3. "Principal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Washoe County Schools full-time

    Pros

    Interact with professional colleagues; PD opportunities

    Cons

    Some decisions made at the top sometime politically driven

    Washoe County Schools2017-09-18
  4. "Standard teaching assignment after college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Washoe County Schools full-time

    Pros

    Teachers and most support staff are wonderful and committed to the work

    Cons

    District admins have no idea how to use funds properly

    Washoe County Schools2017-09-26
  5. "Flexible schedule, easy to choose which jobs you want"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Washoe County Schools full-time

    Pros

    Good management, easy to complete requirements of staying a substitute teacher (yearly training, classroom management courses). Easy to navigate website where you can access jobs (you directly choose which jobs you want for the day/morning/afternoon).

    Cons

    You only get paid for the jobs you do. Sometimes when there are no substitute jobs available for the day, you do not work so you don't get paid.

    Washoe County Schools2017-07-06
  6. "Speech pathologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Speech Therapist in Reno, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Washoe County Schools full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Schedule and flexibility are a huge plus, very family oriented and understanding environment, great coworkers, and working with students is a joy.

    Cons

    Horrible pay with cuts and no increases, little opportunity to advance, little higher level support. High level leaders constantly getting raises with no experience or support provided.

    Advice to Management

    Pay teachers better. Eliminate high level positions.

    Washoe County Schools2017-07-01
  7. "Does not keep up with the cost of living in Reno"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Washoe County Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers, great community, & Reno/Tahoe is a great place to live if you can afford to be here.

    Cons

    Very little room for advancement, regular two year budget issues because Nevada is historically a boom and bust state. The only state with higher unemployment during last recession was Michigan.

    Washoe County Schools2017-05-03
  8. "teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Washoe County Schools full-time

    Pros

    professional development, highly engaged teachers

    Cons

    increasing class sizes, staff cuts

    Advice to Management

    balance the budget elsewhere

    Washoe County Schools2017-04-30
  9. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Washoe County Schools

    Pros

    Many different principals to work with here

    Cons

    Overcrowding is a major concern

    Washoe County Schools2016-12-03
  10. "! on ! aide special education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Washoe County Schools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome position in a great school with an awesome child

    Cons

    Would have liked more hours

    Washoe County Schools2016-11-27
Found 48 reviews