Washoe County Schools Reviews | Glassdoor

Washoe County Schools Reviews

Updated Aug 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Washoe County Schools CEO Pedro Martinez (no image)
Pedro Martinez
18 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Substitute teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Reno, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Washoe County Schools for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can make your own schedule and you are pretty much your own boss.

    Cons

    The schools that you work at will not back you up when you discipline a student. The front office of many schools will throw you under the bus when it comes to letting you know where you are suppose to go during a regular teacher's prep period.

    Washoe County Schools2016-11-14
  2. "Librarian"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Librarian, Computer & PE Teacher 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Washoe County Schools for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Staff, hands down, best in district!

    Cons

    Salary, sadly had to move on so I could better support family.

    Advice to Management

    Advice for WCSD, pay full time employees living wage.

    Washoe County Schools2016-10-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Buyer beware!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Special Education Teacher in Reno, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Washoe County Schools for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Teachers who work hard and are dedicated.

    Cons

    Bad administration from the top down. They will throw the teachers under the bus at the drop of a dime without any warning! NO accountability on the administration's part. Completely ineffective!

    Advice to Management

    Respect your teachers! Get rid of ineffective administrators!

    Washoe County Schools2016-11-21
  4. "State job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Washoe County Schools for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, working with children, summer vacation

    Cons

    A lot of uncompensated overtime, bureaucracy, so much paperwork, large caseloads

    Advice to Management

    Advocate for smaller caseloads and compensation for meetings out of contracted hours.

    Washoe County Schools2016-06-14
  5. "A review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Washoe County Schools

    Pros

    Dedicated people, great students, opportunities

    Cons

    Poor organization, promoting people because of how long they are there not the quality of work they do

    Washoe County Schools2016-05-23
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Washoe County Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The kids were great. Fairly diverse community.

    Cons

    Administration could be more supportive. Lack of respect from upper administrative offices.

    Advice to Management

    Try listening to the teachers.

    Washoe County Schools2016-04-17
  7. "I haven't even started yet and this place sucks!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Washoe County Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They pay you money, which you can use to pay bills and go on vacation over the long summer break. While you're on that break you can spend your time NOT thinking about work.

    Cons

    I haven't even started working, but I'm in the middle of their hiring process and if you want to see state run bureaucracy at it's finest then this is the place to work.

    Washoe County Schools2016-02-19
  8. "Teacher Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Reno, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Washoe County Schools

    Pros

    Being a large school district, there are many different types of schools and students to work with, which can be an incredibly enriching experience.

    Cons

    The pay is absolutely terrible. Even as a full-time classified employee, it's difficult to make ends meet without having a second job.

    Advice to Management

    The district could do a far better job of training and encouraging higher education for their paraprofessionals. Low pay and few hours makes it nearly impossible to afford college.

    Washoe County Schools2015-11-14
  9. "Its ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Teacher in Sparks, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Washoe County Schools

    Pros

    Good for surviving while you find something else

    Cons

    Stressed/rude teachers (1 out of every 2), elementary children act like high schoolers from my time, lack of common sense in teaching (government at fault for this)

    Advice to Management

    Use money given to programs where it is destined not where you want.

    Washoe County Schools2015-08-21
  10. "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Secretary in Reno, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Washoe County Schools part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's been great working for Washoe. Once you get in its really easy to move around and get better positions or a place where you would rather be. I can in 2 years ago in a position for 13 an hour. I now make 17+ an hour.

    Cons

    Sometimes you don't work during summer. Politics can be weird. Some people are stuck in there ways.

    Advice to Management

    I would just switch things up a bit more. Wow can either be great or stagnate and lack innovation depending on staffs beliefs. I still love it though.

    Washoe County Schools2015-06-20
Found 48 reviews