KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Waste Connections

Engaged Employer

Waste Connections

Add a Review

Waste Connections Reviews

Updated Sep 26, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 552 of over 564 reviews

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Waste Connections President and CEO Worthing Jackman
Worthing Jackman
226 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Waste Connections and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year
    Featured Review

    Monitor rig activity internationally

    Jun 23, 2022 - Market Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Huge learning opportunities with a great company culture and staff.

    Cons

    Can't say I have any

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Waste Connections Response

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate the hard work our essential employees put in every day.

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good job

    Aug 14, 2022 - Swing Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits,steady employment and yor home everyday.

    Cons

    Working outside is great but sometimes the wether isn't

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Waste Connections Response

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate the hard work our essential employees put in every day.

  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Enjoyable

    Sep 19, 2022 - Assistant Controller in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management was nice to work for.

    Cons

    Raises at the company only came if you moved.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Waste Connections Response

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate the hard work our essential employees put in every day, and feedback like yours helps us improve.

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    to help

    Sep 11, 2022 - Customer Service Representative in New Orleans, LA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone is just so friendly

    Cons

    There aren't any downsides to working for Waste Connections

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Waste Connections Response

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate the hard work our essential employees put in every day.

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Sep 2, 2022 - Senior Customer Service Representative (CSR III) in Oregon City, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Waste connections treats employees great. We have excellent benefits and an enjoyable office culture. The company promotes from within.

    Cons

    Big corporate wheels turn slow

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Waste Connections Response

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate the hard work our essential employees put in every day.

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Aug 27, 2022 - Welder/Fabricator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good hours Decent pay Good benefits Easy work

    Cons

    Under staffed Play favorites Wishy washy rules

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Waste Connections Response

    We appreciate the hard work our essential employees put in every day, and we care about your concerns. Please reach out to your local manager or HR representative if you would like to discuss this further.

  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Stay far away

    Sep 16, 2022 - Class A Truck Driver in Lakewood, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are no Pros….They talk a big game regarding safety but in the end only care about the bottom line

    Cons

    To many to list including one of the most unsafe companies I’ve ever worked for

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Waste Connections Response

    We appreciate the hard work our essential employees put in every day, and we care about your concerns. Please reach out to your local manager or HR representative if you would like to discuss this further.

  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    A men's environment

    Aug 18, 2022 - Annonymus Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you have connections within the organization, you are good, if not you need to fend for yourself.

    Cons

    The NY Sales department is run my egotistic men who look out for themselves. A lot discrimination in the workplace toward women and favoritism among men. The environment changed after the new sales management team took over.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Waste Connections Response

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate the hard work our essential employees put in every day, and feedback like yours helps us improve.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Lots of opportunity for career growth!

    Jun 15, 2022 - Project Manager in The Woodlands, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The best thing about working at Waste Connections is working with people that care about you as a professional and an individual. The work is challenging and your teammates are available to help when needed. Benefits and pay are above average and there are lots of opportunities for career growth.

    Cons

    Lots of opportunities for career growth can mean that teams and leadership changes happen often as individuals are promoted and relocated.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Waste Connections Response

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate the hard work our essential employees put in every day.

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Almost Great

    Mar 8, 2022 - Driver in Manassas, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You will get and stay in the best shape of you'r life. You can make some really good money and the benifits are amazing. Also it's job to be proud of, and the job security.

    Cons

    This isn't Waste Connections in a whole they are great its just the site I work at, we are a company that got bought by Waste Connections. It's confusing on actually what the "Right" thing to do is, if your doing enough (which it never feels like it) or basically if your the best or about to get fired, due to all the micromanagement. You can't just run your route and be done it's always something your not doing or something your not doing right. It's never anything positive.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Waste Connections Response

    We appreciate the hard work our essential employees put in every day, and we care about your concerns. Please reach out to your local manager or HR representative if you would like to discuss this further.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 552 Reviews

Waste Connections Reviews FAQs

Waste Connections has an overall rating of 3.8 out of 5, based on over 564 reviews left anonymously by employees. 73% of employees would recommend working at Waste Connections to a friend and 69% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -11% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Waste Connections employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.0 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Waste Connections. This rating has decreased by -7% over the last 12 months.

73% of Waste Connections employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Waste Connections 3.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.7 for culture and values and 3.7 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Waste Connections to be culture, career development, benefits and the cons to be work life balance, management.

Popular Careers with Waste Connections Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Waste Connections? Share Your Experiences

or

Waste Connections Careers

Cover image for Waste Connections

Waste Connections is the premier provider of solid waste collection, transfer, recycling and disposal services in mostly exclusive and...More

  • Employment
  • Benefits
  • Safety
  • Our Values
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Waste Connections

392 days ago

Company News
"The 2021 SWANA Safety Award for Biggest Safety Improvement goes to Waste Connections of Canada - Toronto District of Ontario. Its safety program is focused on extreme and personal one-on-one engagement with the result that total incident rates went from a high of 53.8 in 2016 down to 6.2 through May 2021."
Shared image - SWANA has awarded the 2021 Safety Award winners
SWANA has awarded the 2021 Safety Award winners
www.recyclingproductnews.com
See all

Waste Connections Photos

+ Add Photo
Waste Connections photo of: Connect with the Future
Waste Connections photo of: Waste Connections
Waste Connections photo of: Driver
Waste Connections photo of: Driver
Waste Connections photo of: .
Waste Connections photo of: Celebrating 20 Years
Waste Connections photo of: Denver District - Bowling Night
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Waste Connections Job Seekers Also Viewed

WM Logo
WM

3.6

3,098 Reviews
Compare