Waste Management Customer Service Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Waste Management Customer Service Representative Reviews

Updated Jan 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Waste Management President and CEO James C. Fish, Jr
James C. Fish, Jr
14 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "It a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    weekly pay, benefits, able to advance, management is good, on site gym and cafe.

    Cons

    None. So Far So Good

    Waste Management2019-08-06

    Waste Management Response

    September 11, 2019SoMe Associate

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are happy to offer our employees opportunities to grow within our many departments and pride ourselves on providing a comprehensive benefits package to all eligible employees. Glad you enjoy the gym and cafe :)

    Continue reading
  2. "If you like toliterian you will love this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a well known organization

    Cons

    You are written up for being late even 1 minute in training regardless if you have a legitimate excuse or not. Training is like being under Hitler they require you to leave your cell phones in a basket with your name on it....hmmmm where have I seen this? Oh I know in k-6 grade. Are we that bad as adults we need to be handled this way. In my 25 plus years working in a call center i have never worked for one like this. Class is dry and dull to top it off. I do not blame the trainer...I blame the creators.

    Continue reading
    Waste Management2020-01-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "CSR - Foxboro"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Foxboro, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers are amazing but come and go fast

    Cons

    Management are micromanagers. They will read your emails and listen to phone calls and sit you down and tell you everything you did wrong. Not much room to grow. Rarely do people last a year. My class had 12 people, by the time I left there were 2 left.

    Waste Management2020-01-10
  4. "You can find better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fellow employees and weekly pay.

    Cons

    Could go on forever. The pay rate is insulting, leading competitors start between 15-17/hr and unlike Waste Management, they do not have to wait for the senior reps to be increased the following year just to be equal to what new hires are getting. They do not properly train if you are transitioned from one department to the next. Upper management does not show care for employee success. There are obvious signs of discrimination within some of the upper management. Lack of communication between the head and tail of the company. Customer accounts are mismanaged. It is one of the worst places I have EVER worked at in my past 10 years of employment.

    Continue reading
    Waste Management2019-12-17

    Waste Management Response

    January 9, 2020SoMe Associate

    Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns, and we take your comments very seriously. At Waste Management, one of our core values is Inclusion and Diversity. If you feel that there is discrimination within the workplace, we encourage you to reach out to your management, local HR, or anonymously to the Integrity Help Line at 1-800-265-9381 so that your claim can be investigated. We continually strive to ensure that our management is providing the best leadership to our teams, and your feedback is beneficial.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at Waste Management full-time

    Pros

    helpful, great team, lots of room for growth

    Cons

    wish they were in a better location

    Waste Management2019-10-30

    Waste Management Response

    November 20, 2019SoMe Associate

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are happy to offer our employees opportunities to grow within our many departments

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (5)

    "CSR Phoenix"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Weekly Paycheck; $5 Prescriptions if you go to Walmart. M-F schedule. Weekends Off. Cafe & Gym on-site. Great co-workers. Career path available. Easiest call center job in the world. Great north Phoenix location. Parking garage. One hour lunch breaks available. No micro-managing for the most part. WM is nearly nationwide so there are many opportunities to move around. Call center is not for everybody but I promise this is the easiest one you will work at.

    Cons

    Very low salary to start $13.50 per hour but if you have experience you can negotiate I did and I received a higher wage. The medical plan deductible is $1,600 and that is per dependent if you have a family plan. The turn over rate here is ridiculous and they literally do nothing to try and stem it. The supervisors are overwhelmed and actually don't really care at least in my department until corporate comes in and then the supervisors want to start doing their jobs. The twelve week training is a joke and waste of time only because of the way they implement it. The job itself is easy my 11 year old could do it the problem is management never do what they say they are going to do. Broken promises. All lies. They just fall back on that there is always change at Waste Management but they throw that around so much that its literally just an excuse for them now. HR on-site in my experience is slow to respond but who knows maybe they are swamped with employee complaints and other needs.

    Continue reading
    Waste Management2019-07-08

    Waste Management Response

    August 6, 2019SoMe Associate

    Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We value all feedback from our employees. We continually strive to ensure that our management is providing the best leadership to our teams and make every effort to ensure the safety of our team members.

    Continue reading
  7. "Run for your Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Lewisville, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time

    Pros

    Most of the team was amazing to work with.

    Cons

    The CSM has no respect for the team. There are hard working people in that department, but they get treated like trash.

    Continue reading
    Waste Management2019-08-05
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Do not invest in employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Franklin, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No weekend work and normal holidays

    Cons

    The training was not consistent. Should have onsite trainer to teach a full 12 weeks. They tested me on information prior to teaching it. They did not address age and sexual orientation discrimination. They allowed bullying via social media by co workers. They have strict guidelines about cell phones at the desk and yet everyone has them out constantly. Not great for customer confidentiality! They have extensive recycling program for customers and even trademarked “go green” however none of their locations actually recycle themselves, it goes to a landfill. They go over how to save customers but the supervisors state they don’t care if the customer cancels. I had two customer compliments in two weeks time during my phone time, which is a rarity. However, they didn’t invest in me. They do not truly care for the customer. The atmosphere was toxic.

    Continue reading
    Waste Management2019-07-10

    Waste Management Response

    August 6, 2019SoMe Associate

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your experience with us has not been a completely positive one. We value all feedback from our employees and love to hear recommendations on how to best provide a more positive work experience.

    Continue reading
  9. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers and great management

    Cons

    Lots of phones to answer like all call centers

    Waste Management2019-06-12

    Waste Management Response

    June 18, 2019SoMe Associate

    Thank you for your great review. We’re committed to offering our employees an environment they can thrive in and people they can enjoy working with. We're happy to hear about your positive experience while working for Waste Management.

    Continue reading
  10. "nice place to be employed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    benefits people, paid every week

    Cons

    none Really nothing bad to say

    Waste Management2019-05-31

    Waste Management Response

    June 18, 2019SoMe Associate

    Thank you for your feedback and review. The key to our success is our people. We’re glad you enjoyed working with your team!

    Continue reading
Found 69 reviews