Waste Management Garbage Truck Driver Reviews | Glassdoor

Waste Management Garbage Truck Driver Reviews

Updated Aug 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.9
86%
Recommend to a Friend
Waste Management President and CEO James C. Fish, Jr
James C. Fish, Jr
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good Times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Garbage Truck Driver 

    I have been working at Waste Management

    Pros

    smoking weed on the truck

    Cons

    boss got mad at me

    Advice to Management

    be more chill

    Waste Management2019-08-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Tough job but very lucrative."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Garbage Truck Driver in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Professional atmosphere and good group of drivers. Pays well for what you do.

    Cons

    Dangerous job, early hours and uncomfortable work environment

    Waste Management2018-07-01
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Garbage Truck Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Garbage Truck Driver in Denver, CO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Office on wheels get to talk to the customers good equipment some friendly employees

    Cons

    Broken equipment learning the route out of sequence

    Advice to Management

    Known yet need to be there to check it out

    Waste Management2016-06-30
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Never work here unless you like being a door mat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Garbage Truck Driver in Gilbertsville, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, other driver/helpers are very nice and will try to help you the best they can as long as management allows them

    Cons

    Bad management, bosses have no clue what actually is needed to complete job. If your not in the click they will screw you constantly. They only follow the rule book when it benefits them but when it doesn't and you show them in the rule book that your not allowed to do something either by state law or company policy they get mad and start messing with you and threaten you and your job.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management would be to only promote management from within or at least require they have experience in the field. You can't compare picking up trash to delivering water. Also, higher management needs to do surprise inspections and driver/helper talks because in-house management all protect each other and complaints don't go anywhere.

    Waste Management2015-11-23
  5. Helpful (3)

    "driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Garbage Truck Driver in Miramar, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Waste Management

    Pros

    Great pay And that's about it.

    Cons

    Hiring managers who have never driven a truck or have a CDL license. And if you haven't been in the trash business it's hard to come in and become a manager everyone needs to start from the bottom. Senior management doesn't know whats going on drom site to site

    Advice to Management

    Hire from within. Wise up the company is going down

    Waste Management2015-08-19
  6. Helpful (2)

    "me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Garbage Truck Driver in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management

    Pros

    ok company to work for if you are a driver

    Cons

    the guys on the back of the truck go through hell

    Advice to Management

    be upfront with employees

    Waste Management2015-06-29
  7. Helpful (4)

    "It has been good for the pay and friendships formed between drivers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Garbage Truck Driver in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Waste Management

    Pros

    Decent pay A well rounded group of co-workers ok supervision

    Cons

    non existent leadership from all management positions horrible work equipment lax knowledge of local and state laws concerning dot and cdl laws long hours poor union representation from union rep and stewards

    Advice to Management

    since they are not allowed to lead, they shouldn't stick around as puppets on our area managers string

    Waste Management2015-02-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "I have no complaints"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Garbage Truck Driver in Pontiac, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waste Management for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay good bennifits great co workers

    Cons

    Very hard labor in the cold and hot weather

    Advice to Management

    Say what you mean and mean what you say

    Waste Management2015-01-22
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Front load trust driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Garbage Truck Driver in Mesa, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really good over time,good vacation time

    Cons

    Truck are really old benefits too expensive

    Advice to Management

    Truck driver needs better training, management changing rules every day

    Waste Management2014-10-13
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Company drivers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Garbage Truck Driver in Wilmington, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay,good vacation time. Working outside

    Cons

    12 to 14 hour days Very hard work Do not appreciate their drivers

    Advice to Management

    The drivers are the face of the company,and we are very unhappy with the way you manage us ,and it reflects in our attitude towards are customer and each other.We need to find constructive ways to vent our frustration as company .

    Waste Management2014-08-14
Found 25 reviews