KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Waste Management

Engaged Employer

Waste Management

Add a Review

Waste Management Minneapolis Reviews

Updated Mar 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 2,405 reviews

1.9
0%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Waste Management President and CEO James C. Fish, Jr
James C. Fish, Jr
5 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Waste Management and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    OK

    Jan 20, 2021 - Driver/Garbage Man in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It was okay, pay is decent hours are okay.

    Cons

    I was a garbage man so the smell was obviously a big con.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Waste Management Response

    SoMe Associate

    Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts. We value all feedback and continually strive to ensure we are providing our employees with an environment they can succeed in.

  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Decent Pay, less than desirable management

    Mar 20, 2021 - Plant Maintenance Technician in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    fair wages, good benefits, didn't die

    Cons

    zero organization, absent management, biased and racist HR dept, value production over safety

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Pays the bills

    Dec 27, 2020 - Residential Route Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits. 401k. Insurance is decent. Vacation

    Cons

    Sr management team manages through threats and intimidation. Shop can’t get trucks fixed properly. Drivers can’t be held accountable due to weak HR policy. The 70 hour work weeks. Co-managers who don’t know how to do their jobs are made to be other’s problems.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Horrible culture, does not practice what they preach

    Dec 20, 2020 - Fleet Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay, great benefits. That's about it.

    Cons

    Terrible culture. Old school leadership with no sense of employee empowerment or autonomy. Area level leadership is boarderline abusive in the fleet department with the rest of leadership turning a blind eye. They say they are a people first company but treat their employees like garbage.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    good job and great people to work with

    Sep 5, 2019 - Scale Operator in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    pay weekly good benefits

    Cons

    working with the public.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Waste Management Response

    SoMe Associate

    Thank you for your great review. We’re committed to offering our employees an environment they can thrive in. We are happy to hear about your positive experience while working for Waste Management.

  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Commercial FEL Driver

    Dec 12, 2018 - Driver in Blaine, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Paid weekly. You’ll never run out of work.

    Cons

    Your just a number. WM believes that people are a inexhaustible resource. And if you screw up, they’ll just find someone else. They are to busy trying to make budget to get their bonuses and make the share holders happy.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Waste Management Response

    Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review. At Waste Management, we recognize that the key to our success is our people. We continually strive to provide all of our employees with a positive work experience. We appreciate your hard work and contributions to our team.

  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    need to leave

    Oct 6, 2019 - Route Manager in Blaine, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    there are no pro's here

    Cons

    everything the place is torture

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Waste Management Response

    SoMe Associate

    Thank you for your review. Waste Management strives to have a culture that puts its people first and we want to make WM a great place to work, however we are sorry to hear that your experience with us has not been a completely positive one. We value all feedback from our employees and love to hear recommendations on how to best provide a more positive work experience.

  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Learn Something New Every Day

    Oct 27, 2017 - Route Manager in Saint Paul, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Definitely learned something new every day. For me, working in this position was a shift from my previous career. I got to tackle something new and master it, however, a lot of this was done on my own due to lack of support from other individuals in the office to assist with onboarding.

    Cons

    Lack of onboarding new managers, lack of caring for drivers as people and not commodities (sometimes, not always), long hours with little recognition for effort put in, and low chance for improving/increasing financial compensation.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Started off making great money but in one year commission pay was cut twice.

    Aug 4, 2014 - Account Manager in Lakeville, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Paid weekly, good money in general. Base plus commission. Huge company that is well known and respected. Management is fair and doesn't play favorites which is refreshing.

    Cons

    They have cut our commission pay once and then changed the terms of how we meet our goals once so now it's hard to max out on commission even though the job is the same. Also only 10 days of vacation first year.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful

    Waste Management Response

    Talent Acquisition

    We are sorry you feel compensation and benefits are not up to your standards. Your feedback is important to us and has been shared as we strive to continue to be a best place to work.

  10. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Too Disorganized and Chaotic

    Dec 3, 2015 -  in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Employees, vacation time, flexibility, that's it

    Cons

    Changes constantly with no clear direction. Including comp plans sometimes more than once a year. Other departmental errors, and lack of customer commitment result in th loss of the customer but the sales rep takes the comp loss at no fault of theirs. 0 accountability. Customer price gauging

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

Popular Careers with Waste Management Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Waste Management? Share Your Experiences

or