Waste Management Reviews

Updated May 25, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,741 of over 2,904 reviews

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Waste Management President and CEO James C. Fish, Jr
James C. Fish, Jr
829 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Waste Management and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years
    Featured Review

    Great Company with even better benefits

    Oct 12, 2021 - Senior Route Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is excellent, benefits excellent, time off excellent, leadership team is always available to help you even if it not about work. Has a real family feeling. I would recommend a career at Waste Management if you are looking for something that has structure and would like to be treat as a human and not a number.

    Cons

    Can have long hours no more than 13 in a day so not all bad because you are getting paid for that time. No other real con's.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful

    Waste Management Response

    SoMe Associate

    Thank you for this! We’re committed to offering our people an environment they can thrive in. We‘re happy to hear about your positive experience with Waste Management and can’t thank you enough for this valuable feedback that reassures us we are committing to the promise we make to our team members.

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    People First

    May 24, 2022 - Route Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company truly cares about offering benefits to embrace a people first culture

    Cons

    driver experience in some areas needs to be improved to ensure all sites have a good culture

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Waste Management Response

    SoMe Associate

    Thank you for your five-star review! We are proud to be able to offer a comprehensive benefits package to all our eligible employees. We’re happy to hear about your positive experience while working for WM.

  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    More bad than good

    May 24, 2022 - Customer Service Representative (CSR) in South Windsor, CT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits & paid days off

    Cons

    Breathing down your neck about breaks & lunches but people get to take smoke breaks as much as they want. They won’t advance you to the next position as much as they promise you will in the beginning. They want you to do an absurd amount of extra work & basically do side work for higher paying positions including taking Spanish calls which means extra work on your plate & NOT pay extra for it by saying that our job isn’t limited to just our job title that’s what we agreed upon being hired. A group of people including myself was fired because a dumpster truck driver in a whole different state took a picture of the dumpster while watching porn & people started sending it through work emails to laugh about it & just because we saw it & laughed about it we lost our jobs.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Decent Company

    Apr 29, 2022 - Diesel Mechanic in Lafayette, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Guaranteed Overtime, Benefits, opportunity for advancement

    Cons

    Work Place environment, corporate nonsense, if you work second shift prepare to never have a life because you NEED to fix every truck before the next day so 10-14 hour days aren't uncommon. Prepare to be watched over via camera and compass/kronos job times, and if youre just scraping by they throw more work in your laps. Everyone above you may make less than you but your job is basically making the upper management bonuses so some will actually mistreat employees cause they know they wont be getting that bonus if your job isn't completed even if it mean you not being able to go home at a reasonable time; day shift or night. Other diesel mechanic positions at other companies starting pay is the ceiling/max pay here, and you're not working on trucks that literally get covered in waste, fecal matter, and maggots and flies.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Waste Management Response

    SoMe Associate

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a detailed review! This is incredibly valuable feedback. We continually strive to ensure that our management is providing the best leadership to our teams and make every effort to ensure the safety of our team members. We will pass this along to our team.

  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    No title

    May 13, 2022 - Mangerment in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    What makes a company a great place to work? Many of the things that are on the list in today’s modern workplace go far beyond money.

    Cons

    Listen to four people talking about different business challenges to practise and improve your listening skills. Do the preparation task first. Then listen to the audio and do the exercises.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Waste Management Response

    SoMe Associate

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed five-star review! Also thank you for your over ten years of service with WM. We are happy to hear about the positive experience you had while working for WM.

  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Worst place to work!

    Apr 18, 2022 - Truck Driver in Bremerton, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits and that’s about it.

    Cons

    Management feels they can work employees as many hours as they want ultimately making them pay for their lack to attract more drivers. Vacation time is inadequate to other employees, limited holiday pay, and the environment is basically slave driver with management telling you that you can’t take your PTO when you ask months in advance, again due to lack of staffing. It’s a shame because it mirrors how they treat their customers -you pay the bill but you’ll still pay because we can’t deliver on our pickups!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Waste Management Response

    SoMe Associate

    We're so sorry to hear you're not having a positive experience while working at WM. Please don't hesitate to reach out to a supervisor as we value all feedback from our employees and love to hear recommendations on how to best provide a more positive work experience.

  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good Job. Micromanaging.

    May 20, 2022 - Customer Service Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good training. Excellent cafeteria. You choose hours.

    Cons

    Micromanaging. Constant picking. No breathing room. Phone time with customer has to be short else they talk you on your shoulder and tell you to wrap it up. They do not offer you any help on about o training

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Waste Management Response

    SoMe Associate

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your experience with us has not been a completely positive one. We value all feedback from our employees and love to hear recommendations on how to best provide a more positive work experience. We continually strive to ensure that our management is providing the best leadership to our teams.

  8. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good job

    May 25, 2022 - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cool job. Okay pay. Good benefits

    Cons

    Didn’t have too many cons

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great insurance, decent pay

    May 5, 2022 - Welder/Fabricator in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good health insurance, no risk of layoff, pay is ok, work at your own pace as long as the shop is still getting orders out.

    Cons

    Management does not hold people accountable in the shop. Stupid day shift vs night shift BS never stops. The union is weak and the company has the reps in their back pocket. Pay is average for a welder in the city but is not good enough. Morale in the weld/mechanic shop is terrible. Guys quitting left and right in the PNW, lots with a foot out the door already.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Joke of company

    May 24, 2022 - Class A Truck Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    P