Waste Management Reviews | Glassdoor

Waste Management Reviews

Updated Mar 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
58%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Waste Management President and CEO James C. Fish, Jr
James C. Fish, Jr
357 Ratings
  1. "tough job, but we gotta do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time

    Pros

    satisfaction of keeping the streets clean

    Cons

    the smell. oh god, the smell.

    Waste Management2020-03-20
  2. "Stable Income"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Care Representative 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a good work environment, friendly and helpful peers. Depending on your supervisor you have potlucks almost every month, raffles and free lunch. Also, in October for Customer Service week we get 1 week of free lunch, raffles, WM gear, snacks and games. Guaranteed yearly raise.

    Cons

    It's a call center, so the cons are expected: scheduled lunches and breaks. Any time you get up from your desk you have to log off as 'personal', and this time is counted daily and at times your supervisor will have a 'talk' with you. Also, there is no "grace period" if your shift starts at 8 a.m. you are expected to be ready to take calls at this time! And each minute you're late starts to add up counts against your PTO.

    Waste Management2020-03-10
  3. "Awesome Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome benefits and support from management.

    Cons

    Yelled by customers on a daily basis

    Waste Management2020-03-03
  4. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fleet Maintenance Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company, room for growth if you have excellent work ethics

    Cons

    A lot of stress from upper management expectations

    Continue reading
    Waste Management2020-02-24
  5. "Customer Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Moon Township, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, health, 401K, 15% discount on stock options, Fun and Fair place to work

    Cons

    Fast paced job and micro-management in this department

    Continue reading
    Waste Management2020-02-14
  6. "Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits and opportunity for growth

    Cons

    No cons with my position

    Waste Management2020-02-06
  7. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Laborer 

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time

    Pros

    great benefits, always overtime, good coworkers

    Cons

    no enough vacation days six days a week

    Waste Management2020-01-22

    Waste Management Response

    February 6, 2020SoMe Associate

    Thank you for your great review. We’re committed to offering our employees an environment they can thrive in. We're happy to hear about your positive experience while working for Waste Management.

    Continue reading
  8. "Executive Assistant with 14+ Years of Experience and Superior Attention to Detail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant 

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    An innovative and collaborative place to work.

    Cons

    I have found it difficult to find a wide range of experiance

    Waste Management2020-01-22

    Waste Management Response

    February 6, 2020SoMe Associate

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We're glad you found the environment collaborative and appreciate the contributions you made to the team.

    Continue reading
  9. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contract Administration in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good management, room for growth

    Cons

    Large company, persona recognition of employees could improve

    Waste Management2020-01-10

    Waste Management Response

    January 27, 2020SoMe Associate

    Thank you for your great review. We’re committed to offering our employees an environment they can thrive in -- we'll work on more recognition, but we're happy to hear about your positive experience while working for Waste Management.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales 

    I worked at Waste Management full-time

    Pros

    Easy money and great benefits

    Cons

    Small market in this area

    Waste Management2019-12-30

    Waste Management Response

    January 27, 2020SoMe Associate

    Thank you for your review. We are proud to be able to offer a comprehensive benefits package to all our eligible employees.

    Continue reading
Found 1744 reviews