Waste Management Sales Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Waste Management Sales Representative Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Waste Management President and CEO James C. Fish, Jr
James C. Fish, Jr
17 Ratings
  1. "Great company, geat pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment. Good benefits, good vacation time. Nice people

    Cons

    typically need an MBA to move up in the sales center.

    Waste Management2019-12-05
  2. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative 

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time

    Pros

    freedom, time, america, largest waste hauler

    Cons

    sometimes team can be a pain to work with

    Waste Management2019-12-17
  3. "Take care of your employees better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Your colleagues become your family.

    Cons

    Waste Management has some pros and cons like any other company, though the cons weigh out the pros such as pay, career advancement, short staff, and perks. I have been with the company for about four years. The four years I have been with the company the pay increase has been terrible. Ten to fifteen cents a year, four years of loyalty doesn't mean anything to them. New employees are getting paid as much as I am which is BS! Now with the knowledge that I have about the company the years I have spent, I have applied to numerous positions with Waste Management yet they don't hire inside their own company and hire outside the company that literally does not know anything about trash business. You would think Waste Management would hire you in a heart beat because you are such an asset to them. The loyalty I have been with the company the knowledge that I have about every line of business of trash. Retention is a big thing. Not being able to keep our employees for various reasons is astonishing! That is Waste Management for you though. In order to fix the problem why not hear from the employees. What will make you keep them and stay with the company and be happy. Set a meeting with your employees, or even better send a survey so we can fill out about the company what you can work on to be better, to keep your employees and thrive as a company! One last thing theirs an event coming up, The Waste Management Phoenix Open. It is a great show but us employees (customer service reps) "a free pass" is out of the question when we work for the company that is hosting the event. The company rather take managers and supervisors to the event and forget about their CSR that are in the front lines taking care of the business and the customers. A Fortune 500 Company that purchase Advance Disposal in the East Coast for a whopping $3 billion cash cannot give "us" tickets to the event, but can give to other people that are not employees to go. I have put in my two weeks and will be going to another company that understands true value of there employees.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I hope you guys read this and take action. Best Regards, JD

    Waste Management2020-01-17
  4. "Inside sales representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    "Family " environment. The workers are the backbone and the managers are not micro managing. The company's morality and teambildung is top notch.

    Cons

    Constantly Changing commission structure. And after my first year corporate froze the raises and did a corporate layoff.

    Waste Management2019-11-28
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Uncapped Commission , fast pace, great training

    Cons

    Only allowed to work 8 hours a day regardless of your month's sales goal

    Advice to Management

    Managers were great. Training was great.

    Waste Management2019-11-12
  6. "Grass isn't greener"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training outside of Knoxville

    Cons

    Extremely long hours, manager isn't a great trainer, expects you to ask co-workers how to do things instead of getting answers from him. Then when you do something wrong you get belittled in front of co-workers. They also would run out of dumpster inventory constantly.

    Advice to Management

    When employees come to you with a question please listen, when sales reps need dumpsters on site, please listen.

    Waste Management2019-11-18
  7. "WM ISR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative 

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time

    Pros

    There is some competitive pay

    Cons

    Constant changes coming from the top

    Waste Management2019-10-24
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Takes advantage of customers for their own personal gain . The customer pays for every part of the company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Penn Hills, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Comfy job. Lots of money to be made at the cost of the customer.

    Cons

    They literally don’t care that they are making customers pay for everything. They consider themselves a for profit company and are prideful of it. If you care at all about customers and helping people - don’t work here.

    Waste Management2019-09-29
  9. "Outbound Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outbound Sales Representative in Ewing, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great hours, good money, great staff

    Cons

    Getting commission takes longer than expected because it prorates to the next month.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Waste Management2019-08-16
  10. "Superlative Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team, outstanding leadership Great name recognition and product. You'll never be ashamed to sell WM services.

    Cons

    An Operations driven company. Salespeople will simply shake their heads at some decisions. Advice: don't worry about it - just sell what you can sell. The opportunities are endless.

    Advice to Management

    Better onboarding

    Waste Management2019-08-08
Found 66 reviews