Waste Management Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Jan 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Waste Management President and CEO James C. Fish, Jr
James C. Fish, Jr
561 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits depends on the market area if you're labeled corporate or not(in 172 reviews)

  • "Good benefits overall nice enviroment(in 160 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Sometimes long hours expected daily(in 101 reviews)

  • "work life balance disrupted sometime(in 40 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Waste Management and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "good benefits"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      WM

      Dec 14, 2020 - Operation Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good benefits, off weekends and paid holidays

      Cons

      hard to move up for promotion

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great entry level sales position.

      Jan 18, 2021 - Inside Account Manager in Trenton, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Good benefits -Stock and 401(k) plans -Good PTO from start -Adequate training program -Decent starting pay and commission plan

      Cons

      - Almost no advancement possibilities unless you know someone who is in a hiring position or are a 'favorite' - Extremely micromanaged and negative results are always the spotlight. - Monthly goals and metrics interfere with each other; you will have to choose between which metrics are valuable over commission payments. - Company focused on bottom-line and shareholder earnings/stock price.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Waste Management Response

      SoMe Associate

      Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts. We value all feedback from our employees. We continually strive to ensure that our management is providing the best leadership to our teams and make every effort to ensure the safety of our team members.

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good base pay and benefits but bad commission plans

      Jan 19, 2021 - Account Manager in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits and descent base pay. Good amount of starting paid time off.

      Cons

      Micro managed to death, even when hitting your numbers. Be prepared for many one on one meetings every week to scrutinize every metric you can think of. Bad commission plans that can change more than once a year They cap commission, so if you max out you have no incentive to continue selling

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Waste Management Response

      SoMe Associate

      Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences. We’re sorry to hear you felt over-worked at times. We appreciate your commitment and the contributions you made to our team. We continually strive to ensure that our management is providing the best leadership to our teams.

    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Oakleaf waste management

      Jan 9, 2021 - IT Senior Business Analyst in Windsor, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, stable recession proof business

      Cons

      Lot of politics within and across teams. No professional growth, good to work 2-3 yrs if you are young and inexperienced. I have seen people in the same position for decades.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Waste Management Response

      SoMe Associate

      Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We value all feedback from our employees. We continually strive to ensure that our management is providing the best leadership to our teams. The key to our success is our people and we continue to make strikes in providing the best work experience possible.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great job

      Oct 28, 2020 - Driver in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Benefits Nice pay Nobody down your throat

      Cons

      Working hours Work environment Weather conditions/smell

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Waste Management Response

      SoMe Associate

      Thank you for your review. We are proud to be able to offer a comprehensive benefits package to all our eligible employees. We’re happy to hear about your positive experience while working for Waste Management. Sorry about the smell!

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      great benefits and pay

      Oct 6, 2020 - Diesel Technician in Mayer, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      pay is good, benefits are great

      Cons

      corporation that is taking off a lot of direction politically

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Waste Management Response

      SoMe Associate

      Thank you for your review. We are proud to be able to offer a comprehensive benefits package to all our eligible employees. We’re happy to hear about your positive experience while working for Waste Management

    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Really challenging micro cultures!

      Oct 5, 2020 - Manager, Public Affairs in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Solid pay, good benefits, people stay for a long time

      Cons

      They don't walk the talk with their people. They promote people who are great star performers and never train them to manage people well. As a result, there are thousands of micro cultures and many horrible managers that treat their people terribly,

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Waste Management Response

      SoMe Associate

      Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We value all feedback from our employees and are sorry to hear about your negative experience with the Management team. We continually strive to ensure that our management is providing the best, most cohesive leadership to our teams and make every effort to ensure the safety of our team members

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Waste Management

      Oct 15, 2020 - Inside Sales in Plainville, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits and great leadership at the top

      Cons

      Lots of nepotism and good old boys network

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Waste Management Response

      SoMe Associate

      Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We value all feedback from our employees. We continually strive to ensure that our management is providing the best leadership to our teams but there is always room for improvement. The key to our success is making sure we are serving our customers to our best ability and we will continue to work on ways we can put them first. Thanks for the review!

    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Decent place to work

      May 11, 2020 - Outside Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits and smart company overall, management is pretty good. They treat you well overall and work with you if you work hard.

      Cons

      They work you hard and cap your pay. They only want to pay reps a certain amount but give you a lot of administration that takes up selling time. You are a one stop shop; customer service, billing, admin and help with some operational stuff. All of this plus you are expected to sell.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Waste Management Response

      SoMe Associate

      Thank you for your review. We are proud to be able to offer a comprehensive benefits package to all our eligible employees. We’re happy to hear about your positive experience while working for Waste Management.

    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Not a good company

      Jun 24, 2020 - Roll Off Driver in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Weekly pay, good benefits, decent pay for the area

      Cons

      When you are sent for training in Arizona or Florida they preach saftey. I have found that while working at the Kansas City Kansas location this is not true. Dispatch doesn't know what they are doing, route managers don't seem to care either

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 159 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Waste Management Job Seekers

    Route Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Operations Management Trainee
    Learn About the Job
    Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Waste Management? Share Your Experiences

    or