Waste Management Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Jan 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Waste Management President and CEO James C. Fish, Jr
James C. Fish, Jr
554 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits depends on the market area if you're labeled corporate or not(in 172 reviews)

  • "Good benefits overall nice enviroment(in 160 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Sometimes long hours expected daily(in 101 reviews)

  • "work life balance disrupted sometime(in 40 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Waste Management and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "great benefits"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good place

      Nov 29, 2020 - Mechanic in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great money, great benefits. K

      Cons

      Night shift is the worse part

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Waste Management Response

      SoMe Associate

      Thank you for your review. We are proud to be able to offer a comprehensive benefits package to all our eligible employees. We’re happy to hear about your positive experience while working for Waste Management.

    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Company with room to grow internally.

      Dec 4, 2020 - Sales Coordinator in Wixom, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Benefits package with matching 401k. A good team of people.

      Cons

      They aren't too keen on hiring internally when new positions open. If you change positions it's more of a lateral move versus an upward one. They will hire 3 different people from different industries for a role before they hire internally.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Extremely secure job

      Jan 6, 2021 - Diesel Technician in Newport, DE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Job security, very safe, competitive pay, great benefits and friendly atmosphere among peers.

      Cons

      The smell and certain situations at times can be overbearing and intimidating. Also, a lot of information and changes are kept in the dark until they go into effect.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Waste Management Response

      SoMe Associate

      Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts. We value all feedback and continually strive to ensure we are providing our employees with an environment they can succeed in.

    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Company to work for BUT Management needs improvement they just don't care!

      Jan 7, 2021 - Sales Account Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits depends on the market area if you're labeled corporate or not!

      Cons

      Management is the issue! New managers come in don't know how to do the job and manage the team. Poor upper Management change in roles and poor morale pay has changed as well causing good tenure people to leave the company.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Waste Management Response

      SoMe Associate

      Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We value all feedback from our employees. We continually strive to ensure that our management is providing the best leadership to our teams. The key to our success is our people and we continue to make strikes in providing the best work experience possible.

    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Solid

      Jan 18, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Windsor, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, free stuff, Great work enviornment

      Cons

      Wage is good not great, schedule made for you

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Waste Management Response

      SoMe Associate

      Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts. We value all feedback and continually strive to ensure we are providing our employees with an environment they can succeed in.

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Not the best.

      Jan 5, 2021 - Roll Off Driver in Knoxville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay can be good at times. Great benefits.

      Cons

      Pay is based on incentive. If you don't meet their numbers your paycheck will shrink. Due to the nature of some routes, it's impossible to meet the numbers so you work longer hours for less pay.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Waste Management Response

      SoMe Associate

      Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We strive to offer our employees opportunities to grow within our many departments and pride ourselves on providing a comprehensive benefits package to all eligible employees.

    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Horrible culture, does not practice what they preach

      Dec 20, 2020 - Fleet Manager in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, great benefits. That's about it.

      Cons

      Terrible culture. Old school leadership with no sense of employee empowerment or autonomy. Area level leadership is boarderline abusive in the fleet department with the rest of leadership turning a blind eye. They say they are a people first company but treat their employees like garbage.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Place to work

      Oct 27, 2020 - District Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great benefits. good pay, PTO

      Cons

      major micro managed, focused on metric numbers that are not accurate sometimes

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Waste Management Response

      SoMe Associate

      Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences. We’re sorry to hear you felt micro-managed at times. We appreciate your commitment and the contributions you made to our team. We continually strive to ensure that our management is providing the best leadership to our teams.

    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not worth the emotional and mental abuse

      Jan 6, 2021 - Customer Service Team Lead in Lewisville, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pretty decent pay and great benefits

      Cons

      the emotional and mental abuse by customers and co-workers

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Waste Management Response

      SoMe Associate

      Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your experience with us has not been a completely positive one. We value all feedback from our employees and love to hear recommendations on how to best provide a more positive work experience.

    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Awesome Place To Work At For People That Thrive In High Stress Environments

      Dec 15, 2020 - CE Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Competitive Salary and Great Benefits.

      Cons

      Short training. High Stress. High turnover makes for a weaker team.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 172 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Waste Management Job Seekers

    Route Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Operations Management Trainee
    Learn About the Job
    Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Waste Management? Share Your Experiences

    or