Waste Management "trash" Reviews | Glassdoor

Waste Management Employee Reviews about "trash"

Updated Aug 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Waste Management CEO James C. Fish, Jr
James C. Fish, Jr
346 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours with zero advancement(in 81 reviews)

  • "It really can be very simple, it is just trash after all(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "trash"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Heavy Equipment Operator in Fairburn, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I enjoy operating dozers and excavators. Keeps your mind working and improving my skill set is always a bonus

    Cons

    See all the c&d that comes in daily. Knowing the amount of trash we add to the environment

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Working here hands down is the best job

    Waste Management2018-03-13
  2. "Run for your Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Lewisville, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time

    Pros

    Most of the team was amazing to work with.

    Cons

    The CSM has no respect for the team. There are hard working people in that department, but they get treated like trash.

    Advice to Management

    senior leadership needs to do an investigation on how that department is run.

    Waste Management2019-08-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good stable company with unstable management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Health benefits, 401k, employee stock purchase plan, decent pay.

    Cons

    I was with Waste Management for almost 7 years and the only reason I did not make a career there was management. If there is a way to complicate a simple process, they will find it. It is almost like the job is too easy for them because the employees do all of the actual work that they have to figure out something to do to justify their position. So... processes that work and are efficient get tweaked and changed... until they are no longer efficient. Then they have to find a new solution for the problem they created. It really can be very simple, it is just trash after all. Where it gets complicated is the constant schemes to try and figure out how to overcharge the customers that will allow it. There is no fairness in how a lot of the processes go so everything is changing on a case by case basis. They will introduce new programs and methods for a particular task, ask for employee feedback and then not listen to it. They are also not a very progressive company. Everything they do is what has been done in corporate offices for the last 40 years.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Simplify the process, focus on results and ethics not procedure. Allow for some flexibility when it comes to clocking in and out of work, try something progressive like employees working anywhere between 38-41 hours a week so they can manage their own time and not have to freak out about clocking in 3, 5 or even 10 minutes past their shift. Streamline the process so every employee, department and even customers... have to follow the same rules,

    Show More
    Waste Management2019-06-27
  4. "Waste Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Driver 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay and great benefits

    Cons

    Deal with weather, traffic, and trash

    Waste Management2019-03-10
  5. "It stank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Waste Management

    Pros

    Free Trash on every other Friday

    Cons

    Smelly Trash on every other Friday

    Advice to Management

    Clean up the trash on every other Friday

    Waste Management2018-09-28
  6. "Treat salespeople like trash"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time

    Pros

    In the field sales role, you spend most of your time outside the office calling on new and/or existing customers which is great if you would prefer not to work in an office. The benefits are okay, but not as great as people make them sound.

    Cons

    The worst part of selling for Waste Management is that the company is continually looking for and implementing ways to reduce your commission. If a customer fails to pay their bill, they take it out of your commission AND they send the account to collections so they get their money twice! If a business closes and has to cancel their account, it comes out of your pay! They recently implemented a sales department to... manage trash brokers which is an easy source of income. That drastically reduces our opportunity to make sales. You can't help but wonder what scheme they will come up with next to take away new business opportunities or penalize you for things that you can't control. We are constantly having to deal with operational issues that affect our pay. Hourly drivers with poor and unprofessional attitudes can result in customers canceling their service. Long lead times for dumpster repairs and deliveries frustrate customers and we can't do anything about it. Many of the route managers have a, " why should I care about that?" mentality.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The company needs to have much more accountability on the operations teams with respect to the impact they have on customer relationships. The company needs to rewrite the commission plans and actually demonstrate that they value their salespeople instead of looking for ways to punish them and reduce their pay.

    Waste Management2018-10-03
  7. "Disturbing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Anonymous Freelancer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Waste Management

    Pros

    Only pro is they transport trash for the community.

    Cons

    This company sickens me. They are against combat veterans and have the most unqualified employees I have ever saw. Their safety on the job site is very life threatening and horrifying. Almost saw someone get hit with a piece of machinery. Their organization is horrible if any at all. The management and recruiting team are mainly filled with liberals who are Obama supporters and would not hesitate to sell you out... or try to endure taking your freedom and gun rights away from you. Most of them also could not pass a drug test if conducted. Most of them use a wizzanator. Overall a disturbing environment. They sell trash to foreign companies polluting our oceanic bodies of water.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice would be to fire current management and get the right professionals in to recreate a positive successful environment for the future of the company.

    Waste Management2018-08-24
  8. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great benefits, start out with sick time after your on the floor, friendly coworkers

    Cons

    no discount on trash, the system is the black and green screen for 2002

    Advice to Management

    We deserve a higher pay for the amount of work we do as a customer support

    Waste Management2018-04-25
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Waste Management Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Worked there 12 years and they do have some ok benefits but in the end there is a reason managers only last 2 years.

    Cons

    No loyalty to there employees. They will work you like a dog and when they are done with you the throw you out like the trash they haul. Worked for them for 12 years never having an accident or missing a day. But when I had a one time disagreement with a new manager they lied and fired me without even asking my side of the story.

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees. Don't talk the talk then NOT walk the walk.

    Waste Management2018-04-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "senior technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    relaxed job environment and great benefits

    Cons

    you are working with trash. enough said

    Advice to Management

    give everyone a nice big raise to maintain employees

    Waste Management2018-02-09
Found 39 reviews