Waterstone's Reviews

Updated May 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
33%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Waterstone's Managing Director  James Daunt
James Daunt
113 Ratings
Pros
  • "Staff discount is very yummy, probably too yummy(in 49 reviews)

  • "50% discount for all Waterstones products was amazing(in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • "Minimum wage pay for all non-management staff doesn't reflect the level of knowledge staff are expected to have(in 29 reviews)

  • "In a deprived area we were a target for every shoplifter around with often only 1 member of staff for a 2 floor store(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Wonderful employer!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Writer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Waterstone's part-time

    Pros

    Really great staff benefits. Understanding, compassionate employer. Always striving to keep up with contemporary literature as well as a passion for preserving great literature of the past.

    Cons

    A higher wage, particularly for booksellers, would be welcome.

    Waterstone's2020-05-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Perfectly fine, but not looking to improve"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Waterstone's part-time

    Pros

    you get a discount on great books

    Cons

    the company is really stagnant

    Waterstone's2018-10-09
  3. "A nice company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bookseller 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Waterstone's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you love books and reading, then this is a great job. Company values staff and is involved in its own personal development. You are expected to be knowledgeable about what you sell, and you get a lovely staff discount too.

    Cons

    At my branch, it was well known that my boss could say inappropriate things to members of staff (she had an odd attitude in how to direct staff, including changing long established shift hours for no reason, then complaining at staff when they had to be changed back and it was well known you had to be on her good side if you had any requests). Concerns were made to regional management, but whether anything was done I do not know.

    Continue reading
    Waterstone's2017-04-17
  4. "Not what I thought"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Christmas Temp in Trafford Park, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Waterstone's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the people were nice, I enjoyed being around books

    Cons

    The training was minimal & they were forgiving with any mistakes made. Very much an us vs them with permanent staff, temps weren’t made to feel part of the team.

    Continue reading
    Waterstone's2020-05-08
  5. "Lovely job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bookseller 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Waterstone's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Lovely atmosphere - Great if you love books - Easy job generally

    Cons

    - Can be quiet - Still the downside you get to retail jobs - Pay isn’t great

    Waterstone's2020-04-08
  6. "Good Job!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista/Waitress in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Waterstone's part-time

    Pros

    Good working environment Team work job Okay Pay Yearly Bonus Discount on products Help working with events

    Cons

    It can get extremely busy if working in city centre branch

    Waterstone's2020-04-05
  7. "Wouldn’t bother!"

    5.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Waitress in Loughton, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Waterstone's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good money and you get good tips

    Cons

    everything about this place is awful to work in

    Waterstone's2020-03-31
  8. "Great Experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bookseller in Haywards Heath, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Waterstone's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    In depth, individual customer contact Opportunity to do product research, customer ordering and give tailored recommendations Lovely team of booksellers, as well as regular customers Patient helpful management and senior staff always willing to help new staff during the learning process.

    Cons

    Can be very busy during Christmas period if you don't enjoy this, but not a stressful environment in my opinion More staff are sometimes needed but not provided.

    Continue reading
    Waterstone's2020-03-03
  9. "Rewarding but difficult"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Waterstone's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good colleagues Staff discount interesting customers

    Cons

    Severe workload Physically very hard work

    Waterstone's2020-02-26
  10. "great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Book Seller in Sunderland, North East England, England

    I worked at Waterstone's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    time reading the books, plainclothes no uniform.

    Cons

    none i can think of

    Waterstone's2020-02-23
Found 266 reviews