Watson Gloves Reviews | Glassdoor

Watson Gloves Reviews

Updated Dec 12, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Another 100 years!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Watson Gloves full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - great company values - all executives holds to the core values to show the importance and how much they value it to the employees/family - finished Lean Sensei!, excited to see the changes and projects

    Cons

    - on occasions it gets a little dramatic but overall it's a supportive environment

    Watson Gloves2018-12-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "100 years and running"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Watson Gloves full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Strong sales growth and cash position. Leadership team is young, aggressive and hard working. Proudly Canadian company that still manufactures in Canada. I started with the company almost 17 years ago and I am still challenged and excited to go to work. The Moore Family that owns Watson is committed to its people and the community. Our culture is Strong... 100 years and running.

    Cons

    We aren’t perfect but the leadership team has learned to admit that and talk openly about our flaws. This will make us stronger as a team heading into our next 100 years.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to bring talent into the business. Give your leadership to the autonomy to make decisions. Stick to what you do best. Hire people that will live the company’s core values.

    Watson Gloves2018-04-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "I’m glovin’ it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Watson Gloves full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A great family owned company, 100 years old, filled with like minded people who understand our core values and live and breathe them. As a woman working in the industrial industry, I feel valued, respected, heard, inspired and on top of it all I have an awesome time with all my coworkers working at Watson gloves. You get to be your true self at work, laugh hard and work hard. If you give your all, are passionate...

    Show More

    Cons

    As we grow we get so busy that we react rather than take the time needed to fully plan and strategize. This is something that management is aware of and are working on changing. No company is perfect especially one that grows so quickly; however I appreciate that our President recognizes our weaknesses and will work hard to make us better.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t stop the fun ups. The parties and culture makes Watson Gloves an awesome place to work for.

    Watson Gloves2018-04-21
  4. "Core Values are lived here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Watson Gloves full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fun and supportive co-workers, great culture, family-feel, stable (100 years!), growth opportunities, good benefits package.

    Cons

    Still pretty traditional model of set open hours and requirement to be in the office

    Advice to Management

    Leadership knows we're not perfect and is always working on continuous improvement. Annual company surveys ask us for our input and that input is used to make the company better. Thanks and keep it up!

    Watson Gloves2018-04-05
  5. Helpful (3)

    ""Work Hard, Play Hard""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Watson Gloves full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, supportive environment. When our branch gets busy everyone pulls up there socks and performs just as is like a fine tune motor...all pistons firing. There is a lot of trust in the team and there is nobody I do not like. There is a great social culture too if you want it. Great office location, flexible working hours. My life is more stress free now I am working here. Best company I have ever worked...

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of. There is no negative feedback at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Try to hire more enthusiastic and energetic people. As the company grows make sure that we keep the culture Doing a great job :-)

    Watson Gloves2017-05-18

    Watson Gloves Response

    August 23, 2017HR Manager

    We're very happy to hear you're enjoying your first year with us! We are definitely always on the lookout to recruit new Watsonators that share our values to keep our culture strong.

  6. Helpful (3)

    "awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Watson Gloves full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    fun place to grow your talent

    Cons

    lots to know about gloves

    Advice to Management

    have fun

    Watson Gloves2017-04-21

    Watson Gloves Response

    August 23, 2017HR Manager

    Thanks for the 4 stars!

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Speaking of the truth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Watson Gloves full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The Pro's of working at Watson is that I have made some great friends which have been my support system outside of work hours. The team i work with share the same values as i do when speaking of the company.

    Cons

    I am not only shocked but also surprised with all of the positive comments in 2017. Either someone is being paid to say the same verbiage that was displayed in two different posts and/or management has received some negative feedback and this is the only way to try and portray the company as a positive place to work. We have had many blow outs over the last year; or am I not in the circle of trust in portraying Watson...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The positivity is great on screen but what about real life? I think you need to look at the bigger picture and see what is really going on here as this is not a movie!!

    Watson Gloves2017-04-14

    Watson Gloves Response

    August 23, 2017HR Manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We'd like to hear from you on your specific concerns - please reach out to HR or your manager.

  8. Helpful (7)

    "A breath of fresh of air"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Watson Gloves for less than a year

    Pros

    This company truly has the warm feeling of a family owned business. The difference, unlike many family owned businesses is that they, not only encourage, but actually value, suggestions and input from their employees. I have worked for a couple of other businesses in this industry where the cultures incorporate the methods of intimidation, demoralization and pitting employees against one another. The Management Team at...

    Show More

    Cons

    They are a company that has grown rapidly over the past 10 years and that means changes are inevitable. Change is not easy for eveyone. You need to be able turn the wheel sharp and stomach a few U-turns. Growing is not easy for everyone.

    Advice to Management

    Don't stray away from words of encouragement. When things need to be corrected you have to address expectations and performances, but don't forget to High Five the good work being done that has the tendancy to be taken for granted.

    Watson Gloves2017-01-23

    Watson Gloves Response

    January 25, 2017HR Manager

    Thanks for your feedback. We're so happy to hear that you feel joining Watson Gloves was the best decision you ever made! We definitely value everyone's opinion and appreciate you taking the time to share yours. We will keep High-Fiving and acknowledging the great work being done!

  9. Helpful (6)

    "Fantastic Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Watson Gloves full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I've worked for Watson Gloves for over 10 years and in those years I've seen a tremendous amount of change. As a woman in a male dominated industry, I've never once felt discriminated against because of my gender at Watson. If you work hard, you will be rewarded. My position here is evidence of that. I started as a Sales Rep and am now in management, without belonging to the "boys club" We joke and laugh but we also...

    Show More

    Cons

    Watson has grown rapidly in a short period of time and with growth, weak points are magnified. No company is perfect but how the imperfections are dealt with is what's important. One significant step towards improvement has been engaging the employees through survey feedbacks.

    Advice to Management

    Please continue to be introspective and look for ways to improve.

    Watson Gloves2017-01-24

    Watson Gloves Response

    January 25, 2017HR Manager

    Thanks for sharing your experience and 5 starts! We appreciate the advice you shared and will continue to improve the Watson Experience.

  10. Helpful (4)

    "A great learning environment for self motivated people..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Watson Gloves full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    In the words of the great Emmit Smith, Former running back for the Dallas Cowboys,"I want the ball when it counts, I want the ball when there is little time left and it all rides on what I do". This is the type of environment Watson gloves provided me, and I am a better person, more successful person today because of my time there.

    Cons

    It would be hard to point to anything in the cons for this company. I left because I was offered a management position, that was not available at the time I worked at Watson Gloves. I would have never had the skills, industry education and internal drive for this position, if I had worked anywhere else, Watson helped me get to where I needed to be.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work, dont lose your culture and keep your eye on the prize, you will get there one day and I will be on the sidelines clapping.

    Watson Gloves2017-01-24

    Watson Gloves Response

    January 27, 2017HR Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to give this great review!

Found 16 reviews