Wayfair Reviews | Glassdoor

Wayfair Reviews

Updated Jan 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Wayfair CEO Niraj Shah
Niraj Shah
1,218 Ratings
  1. "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineering Manager - Mobile Applications in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great total compensation - Growing team - Open feedback culture - Limitless opportunities to grow

    Cons

    - Lots of teams/people to coordinate with - Can be difficult to introduce new tools/ideas

    Wayfair2019-08-28
  2. "Wayfair is way cool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've enjoyed working at Wayfair, way more than I ever thought that I would. I've not ever been in an environment in my 35 year career that is so collaborative and where people are willing to help others and work work on and solve problems. I work within the Wayfair storefront mobile application team and the problems we are solving are exceedingly challenging but the technology we are using is excellent. Some of the high points are: * All ideas are welcome and discussed. There are a ton of different opinions and not all opinions are acted upon but I've never felt "put down" because of an idea or opinion. * I have not been in a company before where diversity is so highly valued. With this diversity comes a wide range of opinions and ideas. * Wayfair is very data driven. They always try to make decisions based based upon data. If they try something new, they then monitor the results and analyze to determine if it was the right course based upon data. If not, they change course. * Mistakes are OK to make, as mistakes are experience which contribute to better decisions in the future. * Management really care about the employees. I've witnessed multiple occasions where decisions were made that benefit the ambitions and strengths of the employee. * The company is frugal. I don't mean that they are cheap but that we have a culture of careful spending. I've worked for companies in the past where it is hard to get a pencil. I have also worked at companies where there are few financial controls. Wayfair seams to have a good mix of financial oversight and spending where it will be beneficial. * The company focuses on a great customer experience. It doesn't matter if the customer is an employee, a vendor, or a consumer, all teams strive to service the customer at exceptional levels. * At Wayfair, we push boundaries with technology. This is very cool and very exciting to figure out new and exciting ways to tackle very complex problems using technology. * There is a big focus on teamwork. Even as diverse as our workforce is, we try to build unity, especially around teams. We have team outings each month (paid for by Wayfair) which helps to build that unity.

    Show More

    Cons

    As with any big company, Wayfair has their challenges. Onboarding is a bit tough, especially given the growth of the company. An employee's first week sometimes is full of small problems, like issues with permissions or with computer equipment or access.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the excellent work.

    Wayfair2019-08-28
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Positive Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Category Associate in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great role for young adults after school.

    Cons

    300 person department makes promotions difficult and unclear.

    Wayfair2019-08-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "I wake up everyday excited to go to work. I think that says it all."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager II in Elmira, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work/Life balance. Authentic engagement. No offices. No fancy titles. We work hard, have tons of fun and get a lot done.

    Cons

    Salaries on the Sales side could be more competitive with similar brick and mortar roles. We move fast as it’s part of our core values. At times too fast and don’t consider unintended consequences of pivots. Getting better as Mgmt tenures and matures.

    Advice to Management

    Unnecessary. We’re an open and collaborative environment. I’ve had no hesitation bringing concerns to anyone in our company including those I mentioned above.

    Wayfair2019-08-23
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AP Analyst 

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic perks and benefits Great young culture

    Cons

    It's a very fast paced office

    Wayfair2019-08-21
  7. "Great place to advance your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive, fun work environment. Employer-provided training is comprehensive and benefits are great. It's a rapidly growing company, and you can ride its success if you stick with it. Compensation standards are rising rapidly.

    Cons

    Compensation isn't yet as strong as other companies in its peer class.

    Wayfair2019-08-18
  8. "Great place to progress your work experience and meet other young, smart, driven coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ownership of work stream at all levels, especially junior levels Smart, young, driven co-workers Fast-paced, innovative, and collaborative work environment Ample opportunities to grow skill set and transfer between teams/departments Great place to make life-long friends

    Cons

    No longer a start-up, don't look here if looking for small company feel

    Wayfair2019-08-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Quickly learn the business and are given opportunities to grow. The team encourages you to meet with stakeholders and senior business leaders. It's a very collaborative environment and has a great team culture. There is a lot of room for growth and a lot to learn from the leaders and team around you.

    Cons

    Learning how to manage stakeholders can be challenging if not given the opportunity to interact with them. Managers are sometimes given more than they can manage and you have to be proactive in getting the help you need.

    Wayfair2019-08-09
  10. "Great place to start career, culture is dependent on department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Competitive pay - Lots of young people (can be pro or con...) - Work with very smart and great people - Since the company is growing rapidly, there are plenty of opportunities to get promoted. They do not follow a standard two year promotion cycle for new graduates- you can get promoted within a year if you prove yourself - Opportunities to move jobs within the company - In my department, I feel like upper management really cares about their employees. Upward feedback is encouraged and listened to. I have heard this varies a lot by department though - Great work/life balance with flexible WFH and hours (dependent on department) - I have been able to work on high-visibility projects and have gained useful experience that makes me more marketable - Discounted BSC and Equinox gym membership, snacks, discount on items from the website, monthly team outings, quarterly company parties - Great office location with plenty of lunch options nearby

    Show More

    Cons

    - Hiring very quickly- hard to maintain the close-knit culture - Becoming increasingly more bureaucratic - Harder to make an impact - Only 6 official holidays - Review process takes a total of three months- from the start of writing reviews to getting a compensation and/or promotion change

    Advice to Management

    Continue listening to your employees.

    Wayfair2019-08-03
  11. "Great place to grow with positive reinforcement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very energetic, intelligent coworkers who love challenges & competition. People constantly helping each other to get better results. Management interactive and supportive of any ideas

    Cons

    Daily ride into city but true in any city.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support others so the best can continue to get better.

    Wayfair2019-08-01
Found 1843 reviews