Wayfair Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Wayfair Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Feb 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Wayfair CEO Niraj Shah
Niraj Shah
93 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Large Company with all the pros and cons that comes with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-II in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great training infrastructure, always someone who knows the answer, company perks with local businesses

    Cons

    Massive company - easy to get lost in the flow, forgotten, your work probably doesn't matter that much

    Wayfair2019-05-20
  2. Helpful (39)

    "Its Like Going Back to High School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food, good work life balance, centrally located in Boston, stock price going up making options pretty valuable, which is good since the pay is otherwise pretty middle of the road. .

    Cons

    Where do I being? This place is like going back to high school. First off they have this thing called STOs, think corporate Game of Thrones. Basically, the higher your director is ranked the more resources your team gets. I have seen Eng to PM rations as low as 1:1 and as high as 25:1. However above all these directors competing for resources is our engineering leadership, including our CTO who has never written a line of code in his life. You know that fancy thing called the cloud that everyone else has been on for years? Yeah, we just got it this spring. You know that efficient ticketing system lots of companies use called Jira? Yeah, we built our own with a huge team of engineers. Now we complain we can't hire enough good ones. Don't get me wrong, I see the value in building stuff in house that creates a meaningful competitive advantage, but a stupid ticketing system? Speaking of cool systems that we use, a couple years ago our CTO--who has never coded--decided to build his own version of JavaScript called Tungsten. It cost millions to migrate back to React once we realized what a disaster it really was. We still don't use microservices to build anything, literally anything. I work on Storefront and there are nearly two dozen calls I have to make at times to get customer data, but I get told "we don't do that" when asking if I could put a wrapper on it. Outside of the brilliant technical decisions that make our coding a pain, the place is run how you'd expect a middle schooler to run things. A week or so ago they sent out this email telling us to tighten our spending. Keep in mind we have no company phones, some non-developers are issued computers that are 5+ years old, relatively middle of the road to lower end perks outside of free beer and snacks. Anyway, they told us when traveling to find buddies to carpool to the airport with and used phrases like "no no no" throughout the e-mail. I am an adult you don't need to talk down to me like that. The place is run by ex-consultants, you know those guys who were all student body president in high school. They make sure we have a very "nice" culture and you can't say anything bad without being fired. You think I am joking, but we had an engineering all hands a while back and one of the engineers asked a pointed question of the Co-founder and was mysteriously gone the next day. People "leave" all the time, sometimes without an explanation sometimes "to spend more time with family." Makes you wonder what back stabbing happens behind the scenes, all I know is I am thankful my team has a few engineers for my PM since my PM couldn't even tell you what an API was if his/her life depended on it. Lots of PMs come from consulting and business schools thinking they are all that but don't understand the first thing about technical debt. Since our execs don't write code (CTO) or forbid microservices (Chief Architect), we are screwed. You might have guessed a lot of our PMs don't have PM experience, though they worked at McKinsey, BCG or Bain! Since I am on Storefront, I don't know all the horror stories of our Op Dev folks, but if you are interested in reading more about them explore other engineering posts here or on Blind. Speaking of other posts, people get offered Wayfair dollars to post good reviews. I have been told, though do not have hard proof, recruiters set up multiple accounts to game the system too. It’s a shame Wayfair has to stoop to these levels.

    Continue reading
    Wayfair2019-05-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    people are young and helpful

    Cons

    The tech stack is not maturer.

    Wayfair2019-04-13
  4. Helpful (23)

    "A Real Life Version of The Circle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wayfair full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Quarterly company parties (if you're in to that sort of thing), technology stack is pretty solid, office location is great, offices are attractive

    Cons

    Non-mandatory gatherings are secretly mandatory, management is a group of friends who will ignore numerous complaints about any single person the group, the internal "restructure" was just for show, everyone is hiding fear of being let go, they're junior developer turnover rate is enourmous, vacation package is a joke, the company politics are unavoidable and ridiculous, everyone in management is two-faced

    Continue reading
    Wayfair2019-04-28
  5. Helpful (30)

    "Run, Don't Walk, From This Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Employee discount * Ok pay * Basics like health insurance (but no premiums are covered)

    Cons

    At first, I thought it was only me. The more fellow current and previous Wayfairians I spoke to (both in and out of engineering), the more I realized the problems are systemic with the company. This company is an abusive relationship. It perpetually hires new grads, shying away from skilled engineers, and grooms/brainwashes them into thinking that Wayfair knows the right way. Also, you're not good enough and will never be good enough, and you should thank your lucky stars that you work at Wayfair who will take care of you. Except they don't take care of you. The people who have been at Wayfair the longest (in Engineering) are the ones for whom this was their first job- they don't know any better. Those of us who have experience at other, and better companies, can see the failings from day 1 and run. Documentation? What's that. Testing? What's that. Wayfair will tell you there's no cost benefit to those things. A stiff wind would blow over this company held together by Popsicle sticks. Did you follow the documentation that hasn't been updated in 2 years, and miss a step because it was never updated? Well, that's your fault for not doing it the right way. That's gonna count against you come review time. Are you asking too many questions? That's gonna count against you come review time. Are you an L2 trying to get promoted to an L3? Well, you better be doing the work of an L3 without the extra compensation for at least 6 months beforehand if you expect to get anywhere. Wayfair acts like it's open and transparent with its employees. They recently started doing AMAs (Ask-Me-Anythings) with execs. Except they never answer hard questions. Someone recently asked what was, in my opinion, a pretty vague question along the lines of, "What are some things you'd like to see Wayfair work on in the next 12 months to improve?" The exec's answer? "We know what we're doing, we just need to execute on it." Okay. You're perfect and have no weaknesses. Sure. Now I know why the turnover rate is so high. Another good example of this "pretending to care" attitude came at our recent all-hands meeting. Wayfair's PTO and parental leave policy is absolutely horrendous. Steve and Niraj (Wayfair's CTO and CEO and co-founders) were asked two questions, one regarding each policy and maybe improving them in the future. They essentially said no, the policies will not change/improve, with a side dish of "maybe we'll review them." Great, good to know you don't think we deserve a healthy work-life balance. In this day in age, technology-focused jobs can be done from anywhere. However, Wayfair would rather you be in the office 9 hours a day not doing anything than take a single day working from home and being productive. Wayfair's official stance on WFH is to give TWO. WEEKS. NOTICE. beforehand. That is unheard of in this field, at least in my experience. Butts in seats, cogs in the machine. Of the paltry sum of PTO Wayfairians ARE given, we are chastised for taking them. This company doesn't care about the health and well-being of its employees. It only cares about its bottom line, of which there isn't much. Wayfair takes MANY pages out of the HR and managerial style of Amazon- and not in the good way. Wayfair tries to come off as a young, hip company but seems more out of touch than anything. I thought I was the only one self-medicating to try to get the amount of work done that this company demands; I was not. Run, do not walk, away from this company.

    Continue reading
    Wayfair2019-04-19
  6. Helpful (29)

    "Oof... I think this was a mistake..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    401k Company stock Nice people I get a paycheck every 2 weeks Active effort to pay a good salaries for experienced engineers on the outside. Some engineering teams with talented peeps who are challenging the status quo and trying to do things correctly, such as Java and Python teams, EU and Berlin teams, and Warehouse Management teams.

    Cons

    No unlimited vacation Snacks in office are nearly expired Horrific engineering practices. I feel bad for junior engineers here who are learning terrible practices. I echo other people here who say the technical debt is bad. The spaghetti code and monolithic deployment process is an existential threat to the company. Bureaucracy on engineering teams - want to spin up a GCP instance and scale your app? Nope. You need to go through piles of management and wait months! Oh, and teams still aren't allowed to use GCP! There are people high up in upper management who need a wake up call. Wayfair has lost and is going to lose good engineers because management refuses to give them the tools to do their jobs well and deliver a quality experience to customers. I think there are some talented engineers working at Wayfair, especially at the EU teams. They don't write spaghetti code and know what they're doing. But management won't even let them spin up their own Redis instance or Kubernetes clusters. Bottlenecks everywhere. Multiple teams sharing the same Redis master with a few clusters. It's ridiculous teams can't just use their own Redis instances on the cloud. Speaking of the cloud, they are not fully on the cloud. Management is still trying to "evaluate" the cloud. What the heck is there to evaluate?? It's universally accepted that being on the cloud is a must-have. Lots of pain points, such as on-premise servers going down and being woken up at 4am for it. If they were on the cloud, they wouldn't be woken up. Someone else here said they built their own version of React. Yup....! And who does this??? They're finally getting off their own version of React, and it took management years to evaluate and realize their version of React is bad. The terms "cross-functional" and "distributed systems" just don't happen here. In the recruiting world Wayfair is notorious for having poor engineering practices. If you want to get out, definitely reach out to other people in the company who seem dissatisfied with the way things are done here. You can learn a lot from them. I've had several people contact me so we can commiserate on the bizarre engineering decisions. If you are a junior engineer, there is still hope. Google how to do things correctly and don't just believe what everyone says. Challenge it and Google what best practices are. Go through the engineering blog on Wayfair. You will find bizarre things they brag about. Bonus: I'm not even an SRE. I'm an application developer and experience these pain points due to bad SRE practices. I'm only addressing part of the stack. I'd be writing an essay if I went through deeper problems here.

    Continue reading
    Wayfair2019-02-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful place to work, especially when starting a software career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting work Fun environment Talented people Challenging problems Total benefits package Clear path forward Work life balance Flexible schedule

    Cons

    Some departments have some visible growing pains from hiring too quickly

    Continue reading
    Wayfair2019-02-24
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Not good in management but"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Location - Learnings for new grad

    Cons

    - Pay is not competitive at all - Management is really bad. Quite a lot of VPs/seniors do not know anything technical and managers don't care about career growth

    Continue reading
    Wayfair2019-02-25
  9. "GG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    fast growing industry, friends refer me

    Cons

    buston is too expensive? not quite much

    Wayfair2019-01-26
  10. Helpful (25)

    "Don't do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wayfair for more than a year

    Pros

    - Some employees/departments have generally nice people. - Good place to gain experience but not great for long term. - Having company-sponsored team outings were nice.

    Cons

    - It's a big company where employees are treated as just a number. - Re-organizations happen frequently where the employees affected are not notified properly and have no say in where they are being moved to. - There seems be be an overwhelmingly large number of people in managerial roles who are not qualified for these positions. And if you happen to work under one of them, then your experience won't be great. - Work/life balance is dependent on your manager. So, this could be good or bad... - The number of paid holidays are low (6 days) - There is no company-wide work from home policy. Again, this policy is dependent on your manager. Because of this and the open office floor plan, colds/flu go around the office several times each winter. - Management brushes off almost all employee suggestions for improvements relating to the workplace and benefits despite it being voiced for years. - They're "always" hiring new employees but they don't bother with retaining current/experienced employees.

    Continue reading
    Wayfair2018-12-03

    Wayfair Response

    December 11, 2018Senior Leadership

    I'm sorry to hear this was your experience at Wayfair. We do value our employees and aim for Wayfair to be a great place to work. We are growing fast and hiring to support this growth, so maintaining a supportive company culture is important to us. Our managers are taught to be inclusive, transparent and to encourage employees as they progress in their careers here, so while your feedback does not align with the culture we aim to cultivate, we appreciate you for taking the time to share your feedback and will take it into consideration.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 123 reviews