Wayfair Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Software Engineer

Wayfair Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Feb 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Wayfair CEO Niraj Shah
Niraj Shah
95 Ratings
  1. "GG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    fast growing industry, friends refer me

    Cons

    buston is too expensive? not quite much

    Wayfair2019-01-26
  2. Helpful (25)

    "Don't do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wayfair for more than a year

    Pros

    - Some employees/departments have generally nice people. - Good place to gain experience but not great for long term. - Having company-sponsored team outings were nice.

    Cons

    - It's a big company where employees are treated as just a number. - Re-organizations happen frequently where the employees affected are not notified properly and have no say in where they are being moved to. - There seems be be an overwhelmingly large number of people in managerial roles who are not qualified for these positions. And if you happen to work under one of them, then your experience won't be great. - Work/life balance is dependent on your manager. So, this could be good or bad... - The number of paid holidays are low (6 days) - There is no company-wide work from home policy. Again, this policy is dependent on your manager. Because of this and the open office floor plan, colds/flu go around the office several times each winter. - Management brushes off almost all employee suggestions for improvements relating to the workplace and benefits despite it being voiced for years. - They're "always" hiring new employees but they don't bother with retaining current/experienced employees.

    Continue reading
    Wayfair2018-12-03

    Wayfair Response

    December 11, 2018Senior Leadership

    I'm sorry to hear this was your experience at Wayfair. We do value our employees and aim for Wayfair to be a great place to work. We are growing fast and hiring to support this growth, so maintaining a supportive company culture is important to us. Our managers are taught to be inclusive, transparent and to encourage employees as they progress in their careers here, so while your feedback does not align with the culture we aim to cultivate, we appreciate you for taking the time to share your feedback and will take it into consideration.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Haven’t considered leaving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineering Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    So many opportunities, if you’re talented then you will succeed at wayfair.

    Cons

    It’s growing fast and things change all the time, so that could be hard for some people to handle?

    Wayfair2018-11-10
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Mobile Labs - iOS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The whole program will give you a thorough understanding of mobile development while paying you a full developer salary. Not many opportunities like that exist in this world. As long as you pay attention and apply yourself, you can confidently get through this program and get placed onto a team after the 3 months. The management is great and understanding as well as open to feedback throughout the entire process so that the experience can be improved for future Labs classes. Amazing experience. Boston is great.

    Cons

    The full stack labs program is much larger so if you're looking to meet people in a new city (socially), it's much easier to do there. The mobile labs classes tend to be smaller.

    Continue reading
    Wayfair2018-10-12
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Wayfair Labs (Mobile)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wayfair Labs has to be the best program a tech company can develop for new entry-level employees. My co-workers (or labsters, as we call them) and I started with no prior mobile development experience, and Wayfair Labs trained us to become regular Software Engineers with real responsibilities and projects. - The program is structured extremely well: there's 3 main projects, each with a specific purpose. The first one gets you familiar with whichever mobile platform you'll be using (in my case, I learned iOS/Swift/Xcode). The next project gets you used to the app architecture used at Wayfair. With the last one, you'll actually start working with the Wayfair codebase and do actual real work. - The timing of the workshops is great: along with the projects, you'll also learn through many workshops every week, taught by the mobile team's Software Engineers with whom you'll eventually work. The purpose and timing of each workshop is aligned really well with what you need to learn for your projects you'll be working on, so you can integrate what you learn into your work, and be familiar with what they'll teach you beforehand. - Feedback is encouraged (both ways): you'll work closely with a mentor (who will be with you most of the time at the beginning) and a manager. You'll have weekly/biweekly 1:1s with both to discuss about your progress, questions, concerns and constructive criticism. They will give you honest feedback regarding your progress, what you're doing well, and what you can improve on, to make sure you're always on track. Similarly, you'll be encouraged to give them feedback too so they can improve too. - The environment is very collaborative: you'll be sitting with the rest of the people in Labs, all of which are assigned the same project and are on the same page. While you'll work individually on your project, helping and supporting each other is definitely encouraged (and it happens all the time, everyday). - Your skills and preferences are used to match you with the right team: at the end of the program, you'll be asked which of the teams you would like to join. The managers will take this into consideration, in addition to your skills, to make sure you join the team in which you'll be the happiest and most helpful and productive. - You'll be a full-time employee: even though you're in an entry-level program, you're still a full-time employee. That is, you'll have the same salary, benefits, perks as any other employee here. - Manager and mentors are awesome: they went through labs and know exactly how you feel. They're really nice, helpful, and happy to help you with your obstacles and goals! - Company is growing like crazy and work is exciting! I interned at Google last year and their program wasn't nearly as good as Wayfair Labs. I feel much happier and supported here. I'm very happy I made this decision!

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of any.

    Wayfair2018-10-12
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Senior Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Challenging/Interesting work, Tech, and lots of smart people.

    Cons

    Culture getting a bit too political, introverted hard working smart folks not appreciated. Upper management tends to put undue pressure and scare tactics.

    Continue reading
    Wayfair2018-10-12
  7. Helpful (20)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun events, snacks, parties, culture

    Cons

    1. Dark Office Politics and hidden secrets 2. No job security. Quick hire and fire policy. I have seen they have fired people without warnings, Don't even inform their team about firing to maintain a myth of good environment 3. Work depends on the team you are working on: either people find it too boring and stagnant or too much pressurized . 4. Try to lure employees by throwing parties but no actual holidays or sick leaves.

    Continue reading
    Wayfair2018-11-02
  8. Helpful (22)

    "Software Engineer - Android Labs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wayfair full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Good yearly Salary -Free coffee and snacks -Good desk supplies -Open work environment -Cool culture, have parties every couple weeks.

    Cons

    -Got laid off after 2 months, even though they said I was improving -Management super disorganized, and not transparent -"I can't give you a recommendation for legal reasons" <-- Something my manager said to me after she laid me off.

    Continue reading
    Wayfair2018-09-17
  9. "Excellent work environment, but quality of work really depends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wayfair for less than a year

    Pros

    No pressure, great colleagues, nice office, great location, good benefits.

    Cons

    salary lower than other software companies of the same size, work is sometimes boring and repetitive.

    Wayfair2018-09-28
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing experience and must work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wayfair full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent culture and work life balance. A lot to learn in a short span of time.

    Cons

    Not much negatives. Total positive experience

    Wayfair2018-09-15

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 125 reviews