Cover image for Wayfair
Logo

Wayfair

Engaged Employer

Wayfair

Add a Review

Wayfair Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Dec 1, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 5,188 of over 5K reviews
3.4
53% Recommend to a Friend
Wayfair CEO Niraj Shah
62% Approve of CEO

Found 146 of over 5K reviews

3.4
53%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Wayfair CEO Niraj Shah
Niraj Shah
2,721 Ratings

What people are saying about Wayfair

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Wayfair? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Wayfair employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "There are also some really great people that you'll meet and be able to work with.(in 414 reviews)
  • "Good Benefits and all you can eat snacks and sodas(in 315 reviews)
  • "Great culture and lots of people right out of college to make the transition into a new job easy.(in 294 reviews)
  • "Good work life balance and lot of snacks(in 223 reviews)
  • "I am on the promotions team and oh boy I have the best manager and a great team to learn from.(in 110 reviews)
Cons
  • "The pay is low and they hold you at specific positions until you have worked in that position for at least 3 months.(in 288 reviews)
  • "Poor Management with responsibilities constantly changing.(in 249 reviews)
  • "Managers don't have experience and there's no guidance and direction for your job.(in 205 reviews)
  • "The salaries are low compared to similar jobs nationwide and very low when compared to Boston and other areas in Massachusetts.(in 156 reviews)
  • "senior leadership in the design org was really kind but misguided(in 133 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Wayfair and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Poor management and communication

    Dec 20, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home so no Commute if you have technical issues with their system they don’t pay you

    Cons

    if you have technical issues with their system they don’t pay They change your schedule so many times it’s hard to keep up with the change Management doesn’t care if you are new will fire you for the smallest misunderstanding

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Place to Work!

    Jan 7, 2021 - Senior Software Engineering Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very strong company, really focuses on the employee experience. Workload is challenging and substantial but not stressful or exhausting. Diversity isn't as strong as it could be, it's better than many other companies I have worked for and they have very transparent programs on improving Diversity, Equality and Inclusion. They have excellent benefits and compensation and lots of fringe benefits and perks, such as free snacks and beer. During COVID they establish Work from home before most other employers and have not required anyone to return yet.

    Cons

    It is in the middle of Boston, so parking or commuting is expensive and time-consuming. There are no cubicles, desks are in long rows, right on top of each other like a sweatshop, noise-canceling headphones are a must if you plan on focusing. There are not enough Conference rooms or private areas for phone calls, private meetings.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Wayfair team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Wayfairian for LIFE!

    Jul 27, 2021 - Customer Service Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I started this job to work from home due to pandemic and left a career I held for more than 19 years. I intended to just punch a clock. The culture and atmosphere here sucked me right in. I am 1 year today with the company and have moved up to management within that year. They allow for growth and development, great work/home life balance, amazing all inclusive culture, perks, benefits, I could go on forever. COME WORK FOR WAYFAIR! You will not regret it.

    Cons

    None. I will update this if I ever find one.... lol

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Like Leading Sheep To Slaughter

    Jun 15, 2021 - Virtual Customer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The only two good things is you get to work from home and you get a decent discount - 7% above cost

    Cons

    To start - the other negative reviews are the true ones - don't bother being positive. Training was AWFUL - they go over mindless policies and games for a week and then put you on phones with customers with little support. Once on team, management barely knew what they were talking about, they only referred you to pre-written articles on how to solve a problem. The blind leading the blind. Had a few issues with attendance because the training did not properly go over how to request time off and how many hours can be used and when to use them. I was told by management "It sucks to lose a great employee over attendance" but the lack of information came from THEIR end - be prepared to be penalized for their inconsistencies and to be set up for failure.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Not even worthy of suffering just to "have on your resume"

    Apr 12, 2021 - Category Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Allows you to grow your own business network...the bad eclipses the rest of the "Pros"

    Cons

    -Terrible management(no one knew what they were doing, only the popular employees advanced to management, even if they didn't have the drive or skill set to lead) -Dishonesty(every time you are up for a promotion/raise they transfer you to a new team where your accomplishments do not transfer to the new manager. Thus, they tell you they can not discuss potentially advancing you becuase they 'have nothing to go off of now that you're on a new team') -Terrible pay(A few months before my yearly eval, I spoke with people in my same position at smaller companies with less resources and discovered that they all got paid nearly triple my salary. When my 360 reviews/eval came along - I was still debating whether I wanted to leave or not. I had glowing reviews from my manager and peers so I proposed a roadmap to get to the going rate(numbers I had seen from the smaller companies) of my position. My manager explained that the most they could increase my salary each year was $2K....what a joke...but even that was not guarenteed as they are only alotted a small sum of money to distrubute to employees on each team so some end up with 2k, 1k or nothing. And if it was nothing, that was becuase they 'ran out' of their allotment) -Disorganized(hire like crazy to grow and then after a few months lay them all off) -Unfair(if you take time off for sick leave, paternity leave, maternity leave, you will be told that your projects that, you created and worked hard on, will be waiting for you when you get back but in reality, they will be distributed to your team members behind your back and they will get all the credit instead of you) -Unflexible(refuse to bend on allowing you to work from home...especially in event of an emergency) -Out of touch(employees don't want your snacks, alcohol, events and parties - they want to be respected, have an opportunity to grow and compensated properly) Bottom line, if you want to fully understand the environment here, read 'Disrupted: My Misadventure in the Start-Up Bubble by Dan Lyons'. A party/frat like culture where you will work the hours of an accountant without the 6 figure salary. If you would like to be churned and burned, for a $30K starting salary and a 30% chance(and that is being generous) at getting an annual bump of $2k at the most($0, and most common, at the least) then this is your place.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Not a great place to work

    Mar 15, 2021 - Sales Specialist in Miami, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great to be able to work from home

    Cons

    Bullying, low bonus, and stressfull

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Little appreciation for too performing reps

    May 29, 2022 - Sales Representative in Ogden, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It is now a work from home position which I feel could be a pro and con. Before moving to wfm, the culture and environment was amazing! Once Covid hit, things slowly got worse in the culture but it is nice having the option to work from home

    Cons

    I was with the company for almost 4 years. 3 out of the 4 years, my annual income was almost the exact same. It is hourly + commission, but if you are consistent, you had the opportunity to do well. Year 4, the commission structure was changed and my annual pay was cut by just over 30k.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Uncreative, frustrating work

    Sep 10, 2014 - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work-life balance is decent. Hours are flexible and people can easily work from home if they can't make it into the office for any reason. Projects are reasonable and seldom require extra hours. There is an engineering on-call rotation so people are only contacted off-hours when it's their turn. Coworkers are cool and fun to be around. The overall quality of the engineering staff is improving and this is driving a shift toward better practices and tools. The company offers significant equity to engineers, which may or may not turn out to be worth a lot after it goes public. If you love purple, this is the place for you.

    Cons

    Wayfair's ecommerce engine is a hard-to-maintain agglomeration of half-baked features stuck together with chewing gum. Code quality is pretty bad and there are no department-wide initiatives to improve it. The focus is on adding new features as fast as possible, the goal often being to make the site look and work like Amazon (this is openly admitted). In general minimal time is alloted for improving architecture and performance until things get so bad it's an emergency. Churning out code like this worked great when Wayfair was tiny but the company is now large and complex enough that the legacy codebase has become an impediment to progress, and management's attitude towards software engineering is an impediment to improving the codebase. Many top people do not have formal training in software management and/or have only ever worked at Wayfair and are not acquainted with modern practices in the field. They are perfectly nice and well-intentioned but don't "get" how to build great software. So, as a Wayfair software engineer you will work with bright, creative coders all working on the dull task of fixing your predecessors' follies, or rushing to hack together new features with little planning, against your better judgment, because yes, this has to go out tomorrow. Add to that continual production breakage and you'll see that doing this kind of interruption-driven development month after month gets pretty frustrating. Did I mention salaries are below industry standards? Also, free cookies and Doritos do not count as awesome perks.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Too many changes too fast, insufficient compensation.

    Nov 11, 2019 - Instructional Designer in Ogden, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great, absolutely fantastic team to work with. Somewhat flexible hours and ability to work from home 2 days per week.

    Cons

    Too many changes too fast, too many cooks in the kitchen when it comes to creating instructional content. Pay is terrible for the work.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Join the Wayfair Family!

    Oct 26, 2021 - Specialized SSC (Sales and Service Consultant) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pros include having benefits from day one of employment - it starts on the day your training begins, which is incredibly because there is no probationary period before you're able to enjoy your benefits. There are so many different benefits that are available to you, whether it's healthcare, family planning, employee discounts and perks, or tuition reimbursement, etc. Wayfair's culture is highly focused on DEI (Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion). It's a safe place to work and the leadership + coaching you'll receive is outstanding. There are plenty of opportunities to advance in your Wayfair career, and internal mobility within departments is something that's highly supported. Wayfair also has many work from home opportunities and they provide you with all the equipment necessary to begin. This saves you money on commuting! Huge benefit.

    Cons

    Cons... I don't have many cons with Wayfair. I suppose the only con would be that Wayfair doesn't help you cover a portion of your internet, but that's probably the only thing that I can think of that would be a downside.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 146 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Wayfair Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Wayfair? Share Your Experiences

Wayfair logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Wayfair Photos

+ Add Photo
Wayfair photo of: Wayfair Boston
Wayfair photo of: Wayfair Next!
Wayfair photo of: Boylston Office
Wayfair photo of: Wayfair Teams
Wayfair photo of: Wayfair Teams
Wayfair photo of: Wayfair Phone Booths
Wayfair photo of: Wayfair Team Meeting
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Wayfair Job Seekers Also Viewed

HubSpot Logo
HubSpot

4.5

2,663 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 5,227 Wayfair reviews submitted anonymously by Wayfair employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Wayfair is right for you.