Weave Reviews | Glassdoor

Weave Reviews

Updated Feb 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
  1. Helpful (48)

    "Hard to imagine a company that's so amazing in every other department, while ran so poorly in another."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Weave full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working for Weave overall was an okay experience. Outside of the sales department, I would give Weave a 5/5. Opportunity, energy, compensation, and culture (mostly) we're great.

    Cons

    I've worked in Sales my entire career, with a few companies, in different industries... I've never dealt with the levels of nepotism and favoritism that I experienced Weave. Nothing even close. When I was interviewing to work at Weave, Sales leadership told me that Weave was a "Meritocracy" and that those who succeed and advance, will do so based off of effort, work ethic, and results... which is what any sales professional likes to hear. However, the reality of their culture was a much different story. Succeeding in the sales department at Weave was much more about who you knew, and who you were friends with, rather than how talented or how hard you worked. I don't want to get into the internal sales structure of the company, but like most software companies that are comparable to Weave, there's 3 main sources of sales revenue... Inbound leads, outbound leads, and event leads. There's also leads that come from partners, however, they don't generate close to the same revenue as the other 3. Now here's why I left, and why I'm leaving a 2 star rating instead of 5. It was clear from my first month that inbound leads, top SDR's, and being sent to the best events, we're how the top Account Executives were getting to the top and staying on top. Unfortunately, it was also clear in that first month that those opportunities we're not being awarded by any real metric, but rather being given to a certain group AE's simply because they were part of the "cool club." In the beginning I thought maybe it was just a coincidence, but then a pattern emerged, and after talking with other AE's who were not part of this favored group, it became painfully clear. It didn't matter how talented you were, or how hard you worked, at the end of day the top opportunities that translated into numbers we're going to be given to the same handful of people. The AE's who leadership went to college with, or have been lifelong friends with. AE's who fit the bill of "buying in" to the culture, which really meant being outspoken at meetings, and always professing your love of working at Weave, especially on social media. Attending every outside-the-office event, (which for anyone who has kids knows, a Tuesday at 8pm isn't always doable.) It almost became comical in how consistent the hierarchy was. You see, sales management will tell you that lead distribution is based off results, off numbers, which they were. What they won't tell you is how the resources to achieve those results are going to be allocated at managements discretion, which always came down to being part of that "cool club" more than it did ones ability or work ethic. Here's some context to show what I mean. In my first 6 months, I was assigned 5 different SDR's, all of which were brand new with little to no sales experience. That basically rendered my outbound volume to nonexistent. In that same 6 month time frame, I was given 5 inbound leads. And in those 6 months, I was sent to a total of 6 events with the majority of them being small events, maybe 20-40 people, that in total produced around 6-8 deals being closed. Now if those opportunities would have been consistent across the board, I wouldn't be writing this. If fact I'd probably still be at Weave. I would of continued to keep my head down, "earn my stripes" and do what was asked of me. But It wasn't consistent. In fact it was very far from consistent. I watched as other AE's who started months after me, and whose close ratio and sales stats were far below how I was preforming, be sent to A+ events, where they would close more deals in one event, then I had in all of my events over a 6 month period combined. I watched as brand new AE's that had only been at Weave for a month, close multiple deals from inbound calls. Inbound leads that I was told would only come with time and hard work. I watched as other AE's who had been doing little to nothing as far as selling, be assigned top producing SDR's to help get them out of their "slump." With every one of these AE's, there was a common denominator... they had friends. They were best friends with one of the Team Leads. They played college football with leadership. They're family with someone at Weave. Whatever is was, there was always something. And the more this continued to happened, the more I spoke with other AE's who were in the same position as me and shared the same frustrations. It became pretty clear that this was happening to reps on every team, in every region, in every vertical. The systemic nepotism that was ingrained in the sales department was so egregious and beyond anything that I had ever experienced. I saw talented sales reps who had proven themselves for years with different companies, and who had huge amounts of success before coming to Weave, looking to leave the company simply because it was clear that it didn't matter what you knew, it all came down to who you knew. I left my previous company because I was told that AE's at Weave were making "x" amount of dollars, and doing it in an environment with tons of room for growth and advancement. What I wasn't told is that the criteria to make that type of money, and to see that type of growth and advancement, was only reserved for a select few. And unfortunately no matter how hard I worked or how talented of a sales rep I may be, I would never be able to check that box. My advice to management would be this... Obviously the nepotism has to be addressed. And if you think this is the case of one disgruntled former employee, you're wrong. I am still close friends with many Account Executives who are still at Weave, and from what they're telling me on a weekly basis, it sounds like things have only gotten worse. And again, I'm not this bitter, angry former employee. I loved everything else about Weave. To this day, if someone asks me about the company, I tell them that it's one of the greatest companies I've ever worked for, outside of sales. If they're looking at applying for Dev, Marketing, etc. I tell them that if they get the job, they're joining a company with amazing executives, amazing people, and an amazing culture. However, when it comes to the current structure of the sales department, you'll have a bunch of reps at the top, who are all best friends, and all get along, and are all that cookie-cutter type of employee, but you're also going to lose a lot of great talent. You're going to lose free thinkers, people who think outside the box, and who will instill creativity and ways to evolve as a company. You lose employees, who were committed, hardworking, and loyal, yet who were never part of the "cool club" and because of that, will never be able to break through the superficial glass ceiling that is reserved for people who came to Weave with a friend there to leave their foot in the door for them. Weave is an amazing company, but if there isn't a shift in how opportunity is allocated to the sales reps, your sales department will continue to have a high turnover, and you're going to let a lot of people who can make a great impact walk out the door.

    Continue reading
    Weave2019-08-15
  2. Helpful (6)

    "WOW"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDR in Lehi, UT

    I have been working at Weave full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cool People AND FRIENDS. Like the workspace

    Cons

    Were do I start.Paranoia greed, bully culture, the people noT employees mantra is a joke. .the CEO could care less about those who are out on the front lines sacrificing timeWITH family . Sure a big pay day mAy come his way. YOUCAN BUY ANYTTHING IN THIS WORLD WITH MONEY.

    Weave2019-11-01
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Don't believe the billboards..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lehi, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Weave full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you are looking for a place where you get LOTS of free stuff, Weave is the place to be.

    Cons

    "People, not Employees" is a catchy line, but it is not how you are treated at Weave. A couple years ago, Weave was a place where I felt valued. My leaders would fight for me and help me work through mistakes and cheer me on through the great times. Current leaders – sales specifically – have destroyed the culture Weave once had. Negative comments and derogatory remarks are used regularly in an effort to “motivate” the team. Public discipline, humiliation, and one-upmanship are used by leaders to ensure that their jobs are not threatened, and they won’t lose their position or a promotion to anyone whom they feel is beneath them. Human Resources ignores any and all complaints, so don’t think you’ll find help taking that route. Unqualified employees are put in leadership positions and expected to train a whole sales team with little-to-no experience themselves, because of this, the training is non-existent. For a company of almost 600 employees it’s irresponsible for the executive team to continue to allow the mess that is sales leadership to go on. I am saddened to leave this review. Weave used to be an amazing place to work with lots of potential, a great culture and amazing people. The founder who cared most about the company’s people and culture is suddenly gone. It’s unfortunate, now, that the CEO cares more about the company’s image than the people in the company; constantly urging employees to post about how amazing Weave is on social media and Glassdoor reviews (as I’m sure you’ve seen, #workatweave).

    Continue reading
    Weave2019-10-26
  4. "Oh Weave is everything they say it is...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Training in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Weave full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    • The culture is an authentic appendage of the founders. • They invest heavily in the people of the company, both financially and culturally. • Each employee has their own professional coach. • The obligatory tech perks are always nice, but those don't last. What does is the way the managers treat employees

    Cons

    • They're growing so fast, inevitable growing pains.

    Weave2019-09-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Best company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDR in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Weave full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    company culture, pay, benefits, flexibility

    Cons

    quotas and heavy numbers focus

    Continue reading
    Weave2019-09-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Best Place I've Ever Worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Weave full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome Benefits Feels like Disneyland Rapid Growth Trustworthy and Transparent Executive Team & Founders Fun Work Environment Simple & Meaningful Values People are a priority & are valued Executive Coaching for EVERY employee Maternity / Paternity Benefits Every Voice Matters Free Lunch / Breakfast 2x a week.

    Cons

    No onsite or subsidized childcare.

    Continue reading
    Weave2019-08-19
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Exceptional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Weave full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Weave is very different than other companies I've worked for (in a very good way). There's a lot of reasons why, but I'll boil this down to three bullet points: 1. The Tech - Weave follows good engineering practices and dedicate a LOT of resources to ensure high quality software development and deployment. This means a generous budget for tooling, services, and equipment. There's also a well-staffed operations group, as well as a dedicated team for internal tooling. Infrastructure is well defined and the deployment process is top-notch, with very little red tape and high trust. 2. The Culture - Weave is open-source friendly and has sponsored and hosted dozens of community meetups at its offices. Silo and ego levels are very low and developers are encouraged to help out other teams. There is a culture of being caring and putting people before profits. 3. The Leadership - The executive team has been very good about making things transparent, and they are very generous with the people who work at Weave. Who else has a paternity/maternity policy like weave? Who else hires life coaches for every employee? While Weave is growing exponentially, the growth and hiring process is driven by actual revenue and not a desperate drive to throw more humans at some unicorn-obsessed goal to become public or get acquired.

    Cons

    Not really a con, but you are given a LOT of freedom. A lot of responsibility comes with that. Sometimes that means you don't wait for someone to hand you backlog items to work on. You proactively find the best way to focus your effort and time. Also, if you broke something in production, you get to fix it :) .

    Continue reading
    Weave2019-08-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Grateful every day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Weave full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People. People. People.

    Cons

    I can't think of anything. Maybe hire more people! We are busy busy!

    Continue reading
    Weave2019-08-07
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Best Employer I've Ever Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Specialist in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Weave full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Autonomy, generous and unprecedented parental leave policy (12 weeks paid leave for women, 6 weeks paid leave for men, 6 weeks of house cleaners, 6 weeks of meal deliveries/money on a giftcard for meal deliveries, a year of Honest Co diapers, baby swag), matched 401K for full-time employees, unlimited PTO for full-time employees, anniversary gifts (1st year: pair of Allbirds, 2nd year: Patagonia jacket, 3rd year: pair of skis/snowboard OR an iPad, 4th year and beyond: $2,000 toward a family vacation and an extra $1,000 if you plan to do service on your vacation), paid professional life coach, "Zen Den" in-house to take a nap, mother's room to pump or breastfeed, in-house salon, open workspace with plenty of meeting rooms to work solo or collaborate, open to new ideas and initiatives, inclusive of all genders/races/sexual orientations, relaxed workwear, electronic bikes to ride off-site for lunch, free weekly lunches, generously giving executives, genuinely caring CEO, all managers trained to stay true to the culture so there isn't a dissonance with the branding message, etc...

    Cons

    I live in Salt Lake and Weave is in Lehi, so my commute isn't the best.

    Continue reading
    Weave2019-08-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "WEAVE WILL ROCK YOU!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director of Payments in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Weave full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing Culture full of caring, creative, and hungry people that ALL want to work together as a team to make Weave the best place to be! The culture is from the top down and it is not often that you truly see an executive team that cares about the people in the organization and recognizes the value each and everyone of them bring to the table. And don't get me started on the fact that the company is willing to invest a TON of money in providing coaching for every single person in the company that is interested in taking advantage of it. I have seen companies that are willing to give the executive team coaching but NEVER every single person in the organization!!! #peoplenotemployees #workatweave

    Cons

    I just simply can NOT come up with one...not one single con!

    Continue reading
    Weave2019-07-31
Found 150 reviews