Weber Shandwick Senior Account Executive Reviews | Glassdoor

Weber Shandwick Senior Account Executive Reviews

Updated 23 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
95%
Recommend to a Friend
Weber Shandwick CEO Gail Heimann
Gail Heimann
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Strong place to get agency experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive 

    I worked at Weber Shandwick full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, people, benefits and clients

    Cons

    Hard to have worklife balance

    Weber Shandwick2019-04-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Everyones experience is different"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Weber Shandwick full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, good PTO policy, great company reputation

    Cons

    Your path can be determined by your manager which can either be great or ruin your career there

    Advice to Management

    groom your junior staff vs investing all your time into a few select mid and senior level staff

    Weber Shandwick2019-08-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Weber Shandwick full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Learned so much there and was given challenging work.

    Cons

    Long hours, stressful at times.

    Weber Shandwick2019-03-06
  4. "Senior Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Account Executive in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Weber Shandwick

    Pros

    Weber Shandwick is a company full of talented communications professionals. The job is challenging but rewarding and the clients are top tier.

    Cons

    I don't really have much to complain about at this point in my tenure at the Weber Shandwick. The company is great.

    Weber Shandwick2016-12-23
  5. "My experience with WS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Weber Shandwick full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is one of the best companies you can work for if you're starting out in a career in PR. The network of WS people is vast and there is an enormous wealth of knowledge you can be exposed to if you work here.

    Cons

    Pockets of unnecessary hierarchy lie in the shadows, and some managers are terrible while others are fabulous. It can be the luck of the draw, sometimes.

    Advice to Management

    Train managers how to manage people well; don't just assume they know how to be a supervisor based on their job title or tenure.

    Weber Shandwick2016-11-02
  6. "Great clients and colleagues!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Weber Shandwick full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Weber does a great job at delivering stand out results for clients - no matter the budget size. Teams challenge you to think about the next step and actually execute to garner the best results possible. While pressure is normally high, teams are always willing to lend a helping hand. Compared to previous agencies I have worked at, Weber's culture is team-focused. Meaning if we're a sinking ship, we all work together... to fix it - no one runs away or scape flags anyone. Overall, great place to learn and grow career.

    Show More

    Cons

    Overall, the pros WAY outweigh the cons. Any con I could think of. Would like salary to be more competitive with other agencies.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing and inspiring junior staffers to be great.

    Weber Shandwick2015-12-08

    Weber Shandwick Response

    December 10, 2015VP, Digital & Social Marketing

    We appreciate your detailed feedback regarding your experience. Collaboration is at the core of our culture, so we’re glad to hear this has been a highlight for you!

  7. "Professional growth and mentoring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Weber Shandwick full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture of learning Team environment Excellent manager Learned the ropes of PR

    Cons

    There was little I did not like about the job, would work there again

    Advice to Management

    It's been many years since I worked for Weber's Emerging Business Practice in Cambridge, Mass., so not much would apply, if the practice still exists.

    Weber Shandwick2015-03-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Weber Shandwick full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    VPs who care about your well being, opportunities to grow your career as long as you're proactive, very transparent upper management which is great for morale

    Cons

    no HR on site makes some of the bureaucratic processes a bit more difficult

    Weber Shandwick2015-01-22

    Weber Shandwick Response

    February 10, 2015VP, Digital & Social Marketing

    We appreciate your sharing feedback about your experience with us. If you ever have HR concerns, please feel free to reach out to HR VP Jose Nerio, who is based in the San Francisco office.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "If you want to work in PR, Weber is the best of the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Weber Shandwick full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    For a huge agency, Weber Shandwick offers personalized attention from middle management, insanely fun team bonding events and the opportunity to grow in the direction you want. My boss saw that I had an interest in financial services, and made an effort to move me to those accounts. Despite what comes with a big agency (bureaucracy, etc.), the corporate culture is energizing and fresh. People are smart and cool. In... fact, some of my best friends I met at work. The fish in the lobby are adorable and we made up names for them (Big Poppa is the fat one who eats the others' food. If you come, you'll see him). I got the opportunity to manage the interns this summer, which was great experience in a supervisory role. The company also offers tons of training via lunch and learns and "classes" you can take on topics ranging from time management to communication styles.

    Show More

    Cons

    Working on the same clients for the entirety of your job can get a little tiresome -- I get bored of clients after about a year and a half. Luckily, my managers were really supportive of my curiosity and desire to try new things. Sometimes it can feel like you're working on the same projects again and again, so it's up to you to volunteer for out-of-the-box assignments. If you do, management is really supportive,... but the onus is on you.

    Show More
    Weber Shandwick2014-12-02
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Poor Senior Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Weber Shandwick full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Clients/brands you have the opportunity to work on

    Cons

    -Poor senior management (senior management is very inexperienced) -So many office politics (they reward/promote those who schmooze vs. recognizing hard work) -High employee turnover -Constant account changes (switching employees to different accounts to try to make up for the turnover)

    Advice to Management

    Leave the gossip and politics at home. Invest in management training.

    Weber Shandwick2014-08-17
Found 20 reviews