Weber State University Reviews | Glassdoor

Weber State University Reviews

Updated May 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 101 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
F. Ann Millner
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work environment with plenty of folks loyal to the institution(in 9 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours that go with your school schedule and the pay is decent for a student(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, harde to get shift covered generally, have to work part of the weekend(in 20 reviews)

  • "Since it was part-time student job there isn't really any career opportunities or compensation and benefits(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great job for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Test Proctor in Ogden, UT

      I have been working at Weber State University part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Lots of free time to do homework, mostly laid back environment.

      Cons

      Rush times can be stressful and on the other end the job can sometimes get boring.

      Weber State University2019-02-17
    • "Good atmosphere"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Instructor 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Weber State University full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good benefits and good atmosphere

      Cons

      Pay is pretty low, usually only get a small inflation increase each year.

      Weber State University2019-05-28
    • "Good place for college job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Wildcat Store Mac Technician in Ogden, UT
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Weber State University part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Flexible hours, free book rentals

      Cons

      Management treats you like children

      Advice to Management

      Treat your employees like adults, give some sort of benefits.

      Weber State University2019-02-20
    • "Weber State University"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Administrative Specialist II in Ogden, UT
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Weber State University full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      I love the people and benefits! The tuition stipend is great.

      Cons

      The pay is not that great.

      Weber State University2019-01-31
    • "Heavily male-dominated administration"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Weber State University full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Lots of freedom, genuine care for the students, good people

      Cons

      Obvious male-dominated management, poor salary, lack of resources, huge workload, frustrating red tape

      Advice to Management

      It was clear in the college I worked in within Weber State University, that males were given preference. One director couldn't write a legible sentence, was unintelligent, and hard-headed, but he was a bully and so he was promoted. It felt like that was encouraged. I also felt like there was too many politics that went into any decision-making. Overall, I'd never encourage anyone to work at Weber State. There are better...

      Show More
      Weber State University2019-02-07
    • "Great place to work, if you can handle it."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Director in Ogden, UT
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Weber State University full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great place to work . Friendly. Lots of freedom.

      Cons

      Massive workload. Lack of funding/resources. High expectations.

      Weber State University2019-02-04
    • "Great place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Enrollment Specialist 

      I have been working at Weber State University full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Amazing benefits Room for growth Happy people

      Cons

      Low pay Need masters to really move up

      Weber State University2018-12-21
    • "Happy with my job, don't get paid enough"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Development Director in Ogden, UT
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Weber State University full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The benefits are what keeps me at Weber State. 14% goes to my 401(K) without me having to put in for anything, and the flexibility I have for my family is worth not getting paid as much.

      Cons

      Pay is not comprable to other companies with my same position.

      Weber State University2018-11-16
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Instructor, College Or University in Ogden, UT
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Weber State University full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Collaborative, supportive work environment, good life-work balance, excellent benefits

      Cons

      Pay is lower than in the private sector, but the health benefits, free gym access, and 14% employer retirement contribution help to balance this out.

      Advice to Management

      Keep working on transparency and collaboration on policy decisions.

      Weber State University2018-11-03
    • Helpful (1)

      "Overworked, underpaid, but great people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Professor in Ogden, UT
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Weber State University full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      -Faculty and staff care deeply about the university & the students -Stunning location with lots of outdoor/recreation opportunities

      Cons

      -Faculty (at least in my college) are ridiculously overworked. The teaching load is extreme, plus research and service expectations, no TAs; I work 70+ hours/week, and that's normal -Inadequate administrative support, no TAs, this makes it impossible for faculty to have time to be adequately responsive to student needs -Under-serviced and at times dangerous facilities

      Advice to Management

      Faculty need more support so that they can focus on students, improving courses, and actually doing the research we are expected to do.

      Weber State University2018-10-19
    Found 101 reviews