Websense Reviews | Glassdoor

Websense Reviews

Updated Sep 6, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 286 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Jim Hagan
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great opportunities, great people, great attitudes, great pay(in 22 reviews)

  • "There are STILL good people at Websense(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "I've heard things are changing again now that Raytheon bought the company, at least the senior management might understand TS now(in 10 reviews)

  • "Very closed culture, little or no visibility into where the business is heading or upper management thinking(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Websense full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Place to learn and innovate

    Cons

    It is great place to work and learn. So no cons.

    Advice to Management

    Management is good at Visa

    Websense2018-03-29
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Account Manager in Boston, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Websense full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      remote work, good benefits.good local team.

      Cons

      unstable product (web gateway)with decreasing market share. As large NGFW companies offer SSL decryption and URL filtering as part of their platform there was a major loss of customers. DLP product really strong and gaining market share but another tough market where not all companies require a DLP program.

      Advice to Management

      acquire game changing products to build new customer base

      Websense2017-12-28
    • "Controller"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Controller in San Diego, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Websense full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great support from finance team.

      Cons

      The company has too much politics at upper management.

      Websense2017-06-27
    • "wonderful place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Project Manager in San Diego, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Websense full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      great technology that actually works well

      Cons

      hard work everyday including weekends

      Websense2017-03-18
    • "Great environment!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Websense

        Pros

        Co-workers were helpful, and considerate. All in all a great place to work.

        Cons

        The parking garage could be quite cramped.

        Websense2017-02-21
      • "Great company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Technical Support Engineer in San Diego, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Websense full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        30 days training! All Benefits, separate teams, full support from team leads.

        Cons

        They keep selling the company since 2014, lots of internal wars between management.

        Advice to Management

        keep up the good work.

        Websense2016-11-26
      • "Lacking vision"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Technical Account Manager 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Websense

        Pros

        processes and procedures strong lower management

        Cons

        no clear next step vision stuck in old ways of thinking feels like an old company

        Websense2016-11-18
      • "Business Development Representative"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Websense

        Pros

        A ton of opportunity for growth internally -- both personally and professionally. The sales organization has a lot of energy and everyone seems to be opportunistic. I think the company is in the right place.

        Cons

        Sales department is very competitive; may be a turn-off for some. But I enjoy it. I'd say there lacks organization at times, but there has been so much change internally, I give it a pass.

        Advice to Management

        the benefits package is a bit underwhelming, but it is my understanding that it was worse in the past.

        Websense2016-03-19
      • "Sales Enablement"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Websense full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Very dynamic place, nice colleagues, result driven, was able to get a lot of things done.

          Cons

          Depending on who is your manger, leadership is a hit or miss. If you are looking for a layback environment, this is not the right place for you.

          Advice to Management

          Invest in the people and build a culture. The company has been so busy transforming the business. people, culture doesn't seem to be a priority

          Websense2016-03-16
        • "Sales Engineer"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Websense

          Pros

          Great leadership within the SE ranks.

          Cons

          Sales reps did not stay very long. But I believe this has changed due to new management. This is in regards to the federal team.

          Advice to Management

          Continue doing what you do.

          Websense2016-03-01
        Found 286 reviews