Wegmans Food Markets Department Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Wegmans Food Markets Department Manager Reviews

Updated Jan 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager in Auburn, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wegmans Food Markets full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Family oriented, love the atmosphere here

    Cons

    Need time off. Sometimes it’s a challenge

    Wegmans Food Markets2020-01-14
  2. "Nice Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wegmans Food Markets full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Take care of their people.

    Cons

    The family part of the business which is what made the business unique gets diluted as they grow but such is the way.

    Wegmans Food Markets2020-01-07
  3. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wegmans Food Markets full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, fantastic benefits, company execs that are compassionate

    Cons

    Favoritism positions to all from Rochester, can be hard on body,

    Continue reading
    Wegmans Food Markets2019-10-11
  4. "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wegmans Food Markets full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Strong family culture, cares about employees

    Cons

    Nepotism; rules and policies are not enforced equally.

    Continue reading
    Wegmans Food Markets2019-10-08
  5. "Wegmans"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager in Penn, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wegmans Food Markets full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Family atmosphere Fun employee events

    Cons

    Inconsistent rule enforcement Hires from outside

    Continue reading
    Wegmans Food Markets2019-02-02
  6. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Department Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wegmans Food Markets for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The scheduling is flexible; i can request off for whatever reason and usually get the day off and not have to worry about using vacation time or missing work. The pay is great, 2 raises annually until my cap is reached.

    Cons

    Not able to take a holiday off, management is sometimes not understanding to certain situations. would be nice to be acknowledged for a job well done more often.

    Wegmans Food Markets2017-01-03
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Not Sure How They Keep Ending up on the List"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Department Manager in Buffalo, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wegmans Food Markets

    Pros

    Trying to be honest, I can say that for a retail job they are pretty good. - They offer competitive benefits - There are options to move throughout the company. - They are expanding geographically which is good if you are looking to relocate. - Management tends to not act in a black and white manner, they usually show compassion for their employees, causing some grey areas in policies. (Some may see this as a bad thing).

    Cons

    Where to begin...the workload, inconsistent scheduling, lack of work-life balance, and unreal expectations alone is enough to make this by far the worst job I've ever had. -While they do offer competitive benefits, there are plenty of other companies that offer much more, and don't make their employees wait 1 year into the job for them. The hiring process takes forever, and when you need help it can take months. - Part time employees make their own schedules and aren't held to very high standards, which causes an immense workload for full time and management. - There are many more part time employees than full time, and the part timers also seem to be the ones that say Wegmans is a good place to work. I personally have only met a handful of full time and above employees who actually enjoy working here. - People get promoted to positions when they have no qualifications, while many employees who deserve promotions can post multiple times with no luck. - There are quite a few managers I know that have had sexual relations with their employees sometimes during work and nothing happens to them. They usually just get moved to a different store or department. - Wegmans is tremendous at self promoting. They constantly remind us that they're the best place to work and they hold annual "Who We Are" meetings where we watch videos of current employees talking about how great it is to work there. - When I first started every employee I came across acted like they drank the koolaid, but as time went on you begin to talk to people and realize that for the vast majority it's an act. - As stated above there is almost no work life balance. They claim there is, but even if you're just a full time employee, let alone management you are expected to be available 24/7, every weekend, every holiday. (this includes phone calls on your days off/vacations). - There are plenty of days when the workload is so heavy we don't get lunches or breaks, sometimes working 10-12 hours straight. Knowing that Wegmans is a retail company, I almost feel dumb for complaining about it. However, I think if they didn't spend so much time telling us it's such a great place to be, I would have known going in that it was going to be a terrible job.

    Continue reading
    Wegmans Food Markets2016-07-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Manage 10-12 employees, control inventory, grow sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wegmans Food Markets full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits and 401 k. job security in a stable industry with a growing company Flexible schedule, decent vacation/sick time

    Cons

    A few too many"Red tape" programs i.e company programs that take away from actually completing primary tasks (helping customers) unfortunately once you've mastered being a good super market, you tinker

    Wegmans Food Markets2016-02-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Department Manager in Frederick, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wegmans Food Markets for more than a year

    Pros

    Phenomenal Growth, Great People. Managers can use their own management style in their workplace. Great benefits

    Cons

    Working Weekends and somewhat stressful holiday weeks

    Continue reading
    Wegmans Food Markets2015-12-30
  10. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager in Painted Post, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wegmans Food Markets full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Without a doubt if you're looking for self actualization this is an excellent place to work. Working conditions are always great, to be very busy and hectic but great!

    Cons

    Very few complaints it's very hard complain about working conditions where the cleanliness and environment is so conducive to work.

    Continue reading
    Wegmans Food Markets2015-01-27

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 17 reviews