Wegmans Food Markets Front End Cashier Reviews | Glassdoor

Wegmans Food Markets Front End Cashier Reviews

Updated Feb 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Great first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wegmans Food Markets part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good experience with people

    Cons

    Cashing itself hard job

    Wegmans Food Markets2019-09-25
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wegmans Food Markets part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The job isn’t too difficult and the schedules are always flexible and the overall environment and very warm and welcoming

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Wegmans Food Markets2020-02-10
  3. "Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier 

    I worked at Wegmans Food Markets part-time

    Pros

    Friendly Environment ,benefits, improvement

    Cons

    Pay is okay but not enough

    Wegmans Food Markets2019-11-28
  4. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Bridgewater, NJ

    I worked at Wegmans Food Markets part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very friendly staff, goos pay, good scheduling shifts

    Cons

    dealing with unhappy customers on a daily basis

    Wegmans Food Markets2019-10-30
  5. "Okay, but could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Cherry Hill, NJ

    I worked at Wegmans Food Markets part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The flexibility was great. They were okay if I had to leave early for a doctor's appointment or anything else. Pay is also better than other markets such as Shoprite. Customers usually are not rude, most are nice. Training is pretty decent as well. Is so incredibly busy on weekends, it can be rough working especially if you are older. It is also difficult to get fired unless you are rude to customers. Their policy on calling out is more lenient than any job I ever had. I was late multiple times my last couple of months and no one said anything to me.

    Cons

    After working there for a while, they really do start taking advantage of you. If it is busy, you will have a difficult time leaving on time because the managers never get anyone to replace you on your register. Managers will also ignore you and get annoyed sometimes when you have questions because you have been there for a while. It is impossible to cross-train when starting off on front end because front end has such a high turnover rate. You are on your own very often when working early morning or before close because managers are often wandering off and are not around if you need help. Managers also play favorites. Off register duties such as re-shops and 5S is always given to the same people, the favorites, so they can get off register. Cafe cashier is also given to favorites, and they get to just talk and be on their phones without managers seeing them. There are very few good STL's. Half of them are new with no experience working in a food market. The people who should get promoted do not and end up leaving. They have been hiring from the outside lately, even for coordinators. Self-checkout is also given to favorites so they can stand around and talk to the service desk cashiers. Sometimes my light was flashing and there would be no STL's around to help me and customers would be getting angry. I have also not gotten breaks when working in the evening because it was understaffed. Managers are two-faced and look down on you. HR is great though and very helpful. Hours get severely cut come June and then rise back up come September. Holidays are brutal there. Advancement is difficult also. Really only good for high school and college students. They don't really help you like they claim they will when you first start working there.

    Continue reading
    Wegmans Food Markets2019-10-02
  6. "A Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier Trainer in West Seneca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wegmans Food Markets part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Management is very supportive and they create a culture teeming with excitement and enagagement.

    Cons

    Because there are so many people employed at Wegmans, some people can fall through the cracks.

    Wegmans Food Markets2019-09-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "management is terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Wegmans Food Markets part-time

    Pros

    pay is decent for the amount of work

    Cons

    management is terrible and does not respect employees hours getting cut HR don't care about employees

    Wegmans Food Markets2019-08-08
  8. "Good Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wegmans Food Markets part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They develop their employees and conduct ongoing training.

    Cons

    There are too few to mention.

    Wegmans Food Markets2019-06-28
  9. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wegmans Food Markets part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are just great

    Cons

    none to speak of really

    Wegmans Food Markets2019-06-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wegmans Food Markets part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours and mostly nice people

    Cons

    corporate and some front end managers come and go and most are cool but some just are blah

    Continue reading
    Wegmans Food Markets2019-06-14

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 120 reviews