Wegmans Food Markets Front End Coordinator Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Front End Coordinator

Wegmans Food Markets Front End Coordinator Reviews

Updated Feb 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
98%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Treat me well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Front End Coordinator in Columbia, MD

    I have been working at Wegmans Food Markets part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, good pay, flexible

    Cons

    Very busy! If you can handle the heavy traffic than its great.

    Wegmans Food Markets2020-02-11
  2. "Not Good for Professional Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Coordinator in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wegmans Food Markets part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -I've found that the majority of coworkers are extremely friendly, and I have personally made some lasting friendships with the people who work there. -Somewhat flexible scheduling

    Cons

    -I was hired at almost the Federal minimum wage (7.50/hour) and since then they're rate at hire has been increased. However, after six years I was making almost the same as new hires in a lower position (even with the 25 cent raise every six months) because the pay of long-time employees was not adjusted. When other employees brought these concerns to the attention of HR and the area managers, the complaints were largely ignored. Not a good company to work for if you want a good and fair pay. -The company is expanding the services offered to increase convenience for customers such as Instacart and Wegmans2Go with curbside delivery and in-store grocery pick-up. However, these increased responsibilities were passed on to the Front End Coordinating team I was a part of without adjustments to the schedule or the addition of employees. We were now expected to do our previous duties in addition to these services in other areas of the store. This lack of forethought by the store and company to hire more people or adjust the expectations of my position because of the added work made for a very stressful work environment and added daily confusion and communication issues. -The problem with this company that has effected me the most personally is their policy on references and recommendations. The company has a policy that NO recommendations or references are ever allowed, and HR can only verify the dates of employment. As a graduating college student who has been employed at Wegmans since the age of 15 with no prior work experience, this was extremely detrimental to my pursuit for a career in my field of study. When attempting to get an internship with the Federal Government, it was REQUIRED that an Employment Reference form was filled out, which included questions about my personal work ethic. Wegmans refused to answer these questions even when contacted by an investigator working for the Federal government. As someone who has worked at this company for over six years now and has never had any problems with management, this really showed how the company values you as a person. This company really does not care for employees personal and professional development. Definitely DO NOT recommend this company for anyone in high school or college looking to improve their professional experience and increase their network. -Inconsistent scheduling for both part-time and full-time employees outside of the store managers. -I worked at the Customer Service desk for two years and although this is not the fault of the company itself, the way customers treat you so negatively everyday really effects your work and personal life. I would not recommend this position for anyone looking to be happy at work. -I've witnessed the way management regards the Cashiers and Helping Hands (parking lot attendants) as if they have the "easy job" when these are the two most thankless and frustrating positions in the store. -Weekend are difficult to actually have off because Wegmans strives to never have more employees then they think they need: even though management will never be there most weekends of the month. -If you dislike hypocritical leadership and being seen only as an employee and not a person, this is not the company for you.

    Continue reading
    Wegmans Food Markets2020-02-24
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wegmans Food Markets part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love my front end team Flexible with scheduling Opportunities to grow

    Cons

    Front end is a stressful department

    Wegmans Food Markets2020-02-17
  4. "Be prepared to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Coordinator in State College, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wegmans Food Markets part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Pay, Flexible (to a point) on schedules, usually work with good people.

    Cons

    Consistently going over requested hourly limit per week, high customer volume and expectations, poor management communication, the gap between part time and full time staff when it comes to respect, understanding, and willingness to communicate is vast.

    Continue reading
    Wegmans Food Markets2020-02-05
  5. "Not the average supermarket"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Coordinator in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wegmans Food Markets full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great place to work! Able to move up the ladder, great opportunities to gain skills in many departments!

    Cons

    They put the customer above the employee, store manager is horrible! You will be OVERWORKED!

    Wegmans Food Markets2019-12-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Wegmans- What You Would Expect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wegmans Food Markets part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexibility in schedules, good culture, family vibe.

    Cons

    No room for advancement if you have a degree, still need to go through the bubble chart

    Continue reading
    Wegmans Food Markets2019-08-19
  7. "One of the Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Coordinator in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wegmans Food Markets full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is always options to move up in the company and grow in your career. Wegmans values are truly what the company live by and management genuinely care about their employees.

    Cons

    Some times if you don't have a family member higher in corporate or stores you might not get the job if your up against one of their kids. Hourly pay could also be a little higher especially for the amount of work coordinators, STL's, and others put into the job.

    Wegmans Food Markets2019-01-16
  8. "Front-End Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Coordinator in Downingtown, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wegmans Food Markets part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible Hours Good Part-Time Benefits for College Students

    Cons

    Uninspiring Work Management is not openminded

    Wegmans Food Markets2018-12-14
  9. "Alright, but always needs improvement."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Coordinator in Asbury Park, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wegmans Food Markets full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay, hours, flexibility, promotions, incentives

    Cons

    People, management, always going above and beyond with no recognition.

    Continue reading
    Wegmans Food Markets2018-10-01
  10. "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Coordinator in Gainesville, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wegmans Food Markets part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Company really cares about employees with many employee appreciation events throughout the year and meetings with superiors - Raise every 6 months - Many benefits for full time as well as part time - Active reviews with peers and many opportunities for "Climbing the ladder" - Dedicated to providing the best customer service - Always looks to promote within company rather than higher out with a separate application and interview process - Employee suggestion box and response

    Cons

    - Extremely busy company (however this is good for job security but bad for work load especially during holidays) - Company as a whole lags behind in technological improvement - Suggestions are not taken into consideration well - Company is very resistant to change Overall the pros significantly outweigh the costs

    Wegmans Food Markets2018-03-27

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 27 reviews