KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos
Best Places to Work 2021

Wegmans Food Markets

Engaged Employer

Wegmans Food Markets

Add a Review

Wegmans Food Markets Reviews

Updated Sep 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3,620 of over 3,713 reviews

4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Wegmans Food Markets President and CEO  Colleen Wegman
Colleen Wegman
968 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible Scheduling and Great Co-workers(in 259 reviews)

  • "Flexible Hours, Friendly employees, ability to grow(in 165 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Part time scheduling can be flawed at times(in 165 reviews)

  • "Honestly being a cashier is not fun(in 72 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Wegmans Food Markets and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years
      Featured Review

      Good place to work

      Mar 6, 2021 - Team Leader in Syracuse, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule, great co-workers, good culture/values.

      Cons

      Nights weekends and holidays required.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Working at wegmans

      Sep 15, 2021 - Cashier 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay, lots of opportunity

      Cons

      Hard to move up in management roles

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Your mileage may vary

      Sep 15, 2021 - General Merchandise 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Level of professionalism expected of most employees can make life easier. You generally won't walk into a shift having to pick up other people's slack. Lots of opportunity to move around. Niche departments like Natures Market, Prepared Foods, or Home and Entertaining can feel like an entirely new job.

      Cons

      Toxic culture - many people in middle management aim to someday be a store manager. They frequently are inflexible and will place blame on subordinates for any issues. Hour squeeze - there's word that higher level management have incentives to cut hours. I don't know if that's true. Wegmans policy is that workers are entitled to their scheduled hours. Service Team Leaders frequently call departments asking how much work needs to be done, and how much time is *really* needed to do it. I witnessed a young front end coordinator get berated by a service team leader when he was unable to coerce any cashiers to go home early. Pay - despite what you may have heard, the pay is no more competitive than other retailers.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Going Downhill FAST!

      Sep 13, 2021 - Customer Service in Johnson City, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Regular hourly employees are all pretty friendly. Most have willing ears and helping hands. Clean break room, usually has some kind of free fruit offering for breaks and bottled water available.

      Cons

      Management leave much to be desired. Upper management (regional) is pushing to replace most salary positions with young, off the street females who have no idea what they're doing. Pay is poor. Aldi's nextdoor is hiring for a full dollar more per hour with less work requirements. Expect to be told to do more than your coworkers, that's the norm. This company will push people to worker harder and faster for no bonuses and managers who will be unprofessional to you on the sales floor in several departments.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company, Misguided Leadership

      Sep 13, 2021 - Assistant Retail Manager in Lehigh Valley, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company is fantastic to work for, great pay, benefits, super flexible schedule, always opportunity to advance, or learn something new.

      Cons

      Internal politics lead to cliquey atmosphere which leads to heavy handed favoritism when hiring advanced positions, despite qualifications of other applicants.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Its good until its not..

      Sep 1, 2021 - Not Disclosed 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people/connections you make that live outside of work, the benefits are good - minus the vacation availability depending on how many years you have dedicated to the organization.

      Cons

      Management - they are so stuck in their old school ways that they haven't grown with the times. You don't need to be at the office everyday (hello pandemic and work from home opportunities at corporate level) to be a asset to the company. The way they handled COVID overall was poor and showed the cracks in management. They are so stuck on "lifers" of Wegmans and give no creditability to people who have experience outside of it. Any position that is posted at a certain level of corporate (and I'm sure store level) already have a person in mind so by allowing other people to interview and then crushing them is sad.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place, still retail

      Sep 9, 2021 - Cashier in Rochester, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great environment, and the managers were all incredibly supportive. The thing I loved best was how we were encouraged to call over managers to deal with irate customers - my trainer literally told me "let us deal with that, you aren't paid enough to deal with rude people." Schedules are super flexible and the managers are always willing to work something out.

      Cons

      You aren't given holiday pay if you're part time, and I didn't like the masking policy. It was "We will ask customers to wear masks but we will not force them to do so." Many of the other covid measures were solid and 99.9% of customers wore masks but occasionally I'd get an unmasked customer and that was always an anxiety spike. Plus it's still retail, even if it's probably one of the best retail businesses to work at.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Lots of Fun!

      Aug 26, 2021 - Bakery Customer Service in East Syracuse, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was welcomed with open arms by my coworkers, and I developed some great relationships, as well as learning the tricks of the trade very quickly. The company appreciates its employees, and the pay is decent for the job you do.

      Cons

      The customer service aspect can always be rough, but that's not on the management or the company at all.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Nice but inflexible

      Jun 24, 2021 - Cashier in Shawan at Hunt Valley, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people, friendly environment, decent weekly pay depending on your hours, opportunity to meet people from all walks of life.

      Cons

      Mix messaging, no way of getting hold of people by email, etc. Why is there no email, at least to the scheduling person? Everything must go through an App, seriously? Scheduling is inflexible, at least when you first start I hear. Tried to get my 60th birthday off, denied. Needed to update my start time so I could continue to work, was basically sent to the principles office because I was too new to make such a request.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great place to work

      Sep 15, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly management and customer focused

      Cons

      Not a ton of mobility after a certain level

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,620 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Wegmans Food Markets Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Wegmans Food Markets? Share Your Experiences

    or