Cover image for Wegmans Food Markets
Logo
See All Photos

Wegmans Food Markets

Engaged Employer

Wegmans Food Markets

Add a Review

Wegmans Food Markets Reviews

Updated Jan 27, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 4,936 of over 5K reviews
4.1
79% Recommend to a Friend
Wegmans Food Markets President and CEO  Colleen Wegman
86% Approve of CEO

Found 4,942 of over 5K reviews

4.1
79%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Wegmans Food Markets President and CEO  Colleen Wegman
Colleen Wegman
1,543 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "the health benifets are good and if u work in the wharehouse the pay is very good . . .(in 343 reviews)
  • "the people are great and friendly(in 313 reviews)
  • "Great benefits for employees and family!(in 299 reviews)
  • "Hours are flexible and are usually able to accommodate student schedules (high school and college).(in 229 reviews)
  • "Flexible schedule and the ability to work as a family(in 220 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Wegmans Food Markets and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 4.0
    Former Employee
    Featured Review

    Great people/environment

    Sep 28, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You meet a lot of friendly and kind people which made doing my job easy. Management is great in terms of helping you with career advancement.

    Cons

    Downsides, it’s a really fast-paced environment, at times, there were no downtime

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    My experience at Wegmans

    Jan 27, 2023 - Seafood Associate in Parsippany, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work environment with flexible work hours.

    Cons

    Sometimes Wegmans scheduling website can be difficult to use.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Wegmans Food Markets team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Outstanding company

    Jan 22, 2023 - Part Time Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very flexible hours. Incredibly great people to work with and a wonderful group of managers that did a great job at building you up! I wish we never would have moved and that I could still be working at Wegmans.

    Cons

    I honestly can not think of a single negative thing.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Total Scam

    Dec 11, 2022 - Customer Service Team Member in Concordville, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Initially, the job was excellent, you start off at a good spot and have areas to grow and the pay increases come often(6 months march and november I believe) and you can find a niche area to work.

    Cons

    Wegmans is a scam, I worked for 3 and a half years for wegmans food market, and worked hard to were I got at the store. During my stay there were quite a few issues, such as when pay was increased, it took them ages to increase current employees paychecks to their proportional earning which cost myself hundreds of dollars. They delayed and never paid hazard pay during covid, as well as forcing many people to quit if they didn't want to work after a few months. HR was useless and managment spent more time yelling at employees trying to do their job, then firing the guy who called other employees the n-word( he wasn't black). New managment pulled myself and the other college kids out of our current positions and stuck us on 9 hour register shifts consecutive and replaced our old positions with new hires. When I complained, they told me I was replacable. No wonder all the people who'd worked at the store longer than me quit when the new store manager got transferred in. This is just a few things of the top of my head, don't fall for the scam that is Wegmans.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great company

    Jan 27, 2023 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling Availability of work

    Cons

    None great company to work for

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Wegmans

    Jan 24, 2023 - Wegmans Part Time 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing coworkers Great pay Easy hours Flexible Schedule

    Cons

    You have to deal with rude customers

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Alright

    Dec 14, 2022 - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Various employee events and prizes, automated text messages asking if you are okay when you get injured on the job.

    Cons

    Very low pay even though I had experience. I also did not get the raises I was supposed to get, .50 raise every 6 months of employment and another .50 once you have worked a year until you get your max pay for your position which for cashier is $17 an hour. Absolutely awful scheduling.. At least for part time employees. I've had multiple shifts that end at midnight and I'm scheduled for 6am the next day. Literally different hours every day so can't sleep or plan anything, it's a nightmare. If I lower my availability I get way less hours so have no choice. Even though I wanted full time they would only let me do part time, and part time employees get no benefits. Management is poor, often not accommodating or understanding as far as doctors notes go and wiggled their way out of having to pay me for my many months out of work while I was in the hospital dying.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Best place to work

    Jan 25, 2023 - Pharmacy Technician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Family environment, supportive staff, room for growth

    Cons

    Not very many that I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Loved this job

    Jan 24, 2023 - Meat/Seafood Clerk in Erie, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I really love the Erie West crew at wegmans. Wonderful group of people throughout the entire store.

    Cons

    Managers are not accountable for their department and will shift blame elsewhere.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee

    An amazing company!

    Jan 3, 2023 - Deli Team Leader 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Since the first day of my interview, just the staff alone, were warm, nice, very helpful and guided me through the entire process. I could’ve have made a better choice working for such an amazing company. I give them my all 110% because that’s what they do for us!

    Cons

    I can honestly say that I have been with several retail companies as well as hospitality for more than 20 years. I would say that as a company, Wegmans is one of the the best Employers that I’ve worked for. It’s nothing negative that I can say at all.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 4,942 Reviews
</>Embed

Wegmans Food Markets Reviews FAQs

Wegmans Food Markets has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5, based on over 5,073 reviews left anonymously by employees. 79% of employees would recommend working at Wegmans Food Markets to a friend and 72% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Wegmans Food Markets employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Wegmans Food Markets. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

79% of Wegmans Food Markets employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Wegmans Food Markets 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.2 for culture and values and 3.9 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Wegmans Food Markets to be career development, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be workplace, culture, management.

Popular Careers with Wegmans Food Markets Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Wegmans Food Markets? Share Your Experiences

Wegmans Food Markets logo
or

Wegmans Food Markets Careers

Cover image for Wegmans Food Markets

Who is Wegmans Food Markets? Knowledgeable people who are passionate about food and deliver incredible service—that’s what we’re all about....More

  • Career Areas
  • Culinary
  • Development
  • New Stores
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Wegmans Food Markets

1040 days ago

During these uncertain times, our stores continue to hire for positions throughout all our markets. We are looking for dynamic, energetic, and happy people to join our team. Want to #LoveWhatYouDo at Wegmans? Check out openings nearest you and join us while we support our communities.
Shared image
Logo

Wegmans Food Markets

1429 days ago

We understand that in order to best serve our customers, we need to best serve our employees. And with our awesome company perks that have made us one of Fortune's "100 Best Companies to Work For" for 22 years straight, we know what we're doing. See for yourself by joining us today! #BeWegmansHappy #WegmansJobs http://glassdoor.com/slink.htm?key=vMAd5
Shared image
See all

Wegmans Food Markets Photos

+ Add Photo
Wegmans Food Markets photo of: Bakery customer service
Wegmans Food Markets photo of: Our chefs help make great meals easy
Wegmans Food Markets photo of: Fresh seafood market
Wegmans Food Markets photo of: Chef
Wegmans Food Markets photo of: Fresh meals prepared for you daily
Wegmans Food Markets photo of: Produce customer service
Wegmans Food Markets photo of: Fresh cut veggies
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Wegmans Food Markets Job Seekers Also Viewed

Walmart Logo
Walmart

3.3

110,470 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 5,073 Wegmans Food Markets reviews submitted anonymously by Wegmans Food Markets employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Wegmans Food Markets is right for you.