Cover image for Wegmans Food Markets
Logo
See All Photos
Best Places to Work 2022

Wegmans Food Markets

Engaged Employer

Wegmans Food Markets

Add a Review

Wegmans Food Markets Employee Reviews about "favoritism"

Updated Nov 27, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 4,819 of over 5K reviews
4.0
79% Recommend to a Friend
Best Places to Work 2022
Wegmans Food Markets President and CEO  Colleen Wegman
86% Approve of CEO

Found 108 of over 5K reviews

4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Wegmans Food Markets President and CEO  Colleen Wegman
Colleen Wegman
1,497 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "the health benifets are good and if u work in the wharehouse the pay is very good . . .(in 341 reviews)
  • "the people are great and friendly(in 313 reviews)
  • "Great benefits for employees and family!(in 302 reviews)
  • "Hours are flexible and are usually able to accommodate student schedules (high school and college).(in 219 reviews)
  • "Flexible schedule and the ability to work as a family(in 217 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Wegmans Food Markets and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "favoritism"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Former Employee
    Featured Review

    Great people/environment

    Sep 28, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You meet a lot of friendly and kind people which made doing my job easy. Management is great in terms of helping you with career advancement.

    Cons

    Downsides, it’s a really fast-paced environment, at times, there were no downtime

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Opportunities

    Nov 27, 2022 - Department Manager in Fairfax, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ensure that employees practice the company values. Diversity

    Cons

    Corporate is located in upstate New York

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Wegmans Food Markets team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Not the best experience

    Nov 21, 2022 - Deli Clerk in Greece, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is a Scholarship opportunity offered to college students and $0.25 raise every 6 months.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, there are a lot of cons from my years of experience working for Wegmans, at least in the Deli. My first year working in the deli was not bad, but then as people come and go, you get different co-workers so often. My second to third year working there was really horrible. The work culture was toxic and not supportive. The job was mentally and physically draining, the management showed favoritism, and gave hours to those who they liked most. The drama got so out of hand that I would have anxiety attacks and go home crying every time I got out of work. Looking back 2 years ago, I should've left a lot earlier than I did. I work in a much healthier work environment now with better benefits and I wish I didn't put myself through what I did for 3 1/2 years just to maintain my scholarship through Wegmans. Corporate might be a lot different to work for, but working in the grocery store aspect, it is not worth it and very unhealthy.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Wegmans is an okay place for a first job..

    Nov 26, 2022 - Stocker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The raises are nice, two 50¢ raises every year. Some coworkers are AWESOME people, and the night managers are nice to talk with.

    Cons

    This store has a really hard time firing ppl who make my job, and my coworkers, harder. They know about what is happening, yet doesn’t retrain, watch them more, or move them. This manager also flirts with the teenagers and it’s very clear for everyone that it’s happening. These people have the atmosphere toxic and not really great to work in. When they bring out like 1 runner during a 4 hour shift is annoying. You have to pick up their slack.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good place to start/build a career

    Nov 16, 2022 - Perishable Team Leader in Worcester, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People, benefits, atmosphere, continuous improvement, goes above “the book” with cleanliness, training, food quality and many more standards.

    Cons

    Huge disconnect between DM’s and above, to the folks in the stores. Can feel almost cult like at times and once you’re out, you’re out. They let hardly no one return.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great company, so-so traoning

    Sep 11, 2022 - Team Leader in Malvern, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company truly does have great benefits and coworkers were all great. Time and a half on sundays, and the medical coverage is very good.

    Cons

    HR seems to not be trained enough so they are spending more time investigating their own staff members in leadership roles for ridiculous things than they are training new employees, so it just causes a ouroboros of sorts that feeds itself more problems. There is also absolutely no form of check or balance in accountability for management to know whether they do their jobs or not, so that is why wegmans as a whole is seen as a preppy cliquey place because you have to be in the clique to be someone asked about someone or believed about someone. Other companies do have these forms of accounability in place, so wegmans is truly behind on this and does give far too much trust too the management's "clique" More often than not, I was put on a team where I ended up doing all work. All rescheduling, all holiday shifts, all reviews for even the other party, other parties would take far too much vacation and would be able to walk around and talk instead of work.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company to work for

    Nov 27, 2022 - Overnight Grocery Stocker in Buffalo, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wegmans truly care about their employees. You earn pay increases often, flexibility, great coworkers/management. I would highly recommend working here whether that be PT or FT.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Be prepared to work non-stop

    Sep 6, 2022 - RTC Associate in Alexandria, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You will get time off (doctor’s appointments, personal/family events) if you notify your manager 3 weeks ahead of time After 3 months of employment you will receive a paid vacation. Plus you can ask for consecutive days off but these days will be unpaid I received a pay raise after 4 months of employment You can transfer to a different department after 6 months of solid employment. Family health insurance is available after 90 days of employment - currently $85 a week.

    Cons

    You are the only full timer in your selected department. If you choose the RTC meat/seafood position you are the only one in the entire store. A RTC meat preparer workload is endless - freshly cut steaks daily, hamburgers, kabobs and 25 other ready-to-cook entrees. If your lucky. You will have a part-timer in your department. But the part-timer usually works 20 hours a week. You will work 6, 7 and 8 days in a row if you are a full timer. Split between 2 weeks of course. If you are a Full Timer you will work weekends and holidays. High turnover rate in store - employees have resigned or quit after 4 months.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great environment

    Nov 27, 2022 - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Positive and welcoming environment with friendly coworkers and competent management

    Cons

    Few breaks and monotone work

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Place

    Nov 25, 2022 - Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Extremely flexible hours, helped a lot with PA school

    Cons

    Kinda cliquey, management definitely has favorites

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 108 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Wegmans Food Markets Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Wegmans Food Markets? Share Your Experiences

or

Wegmans Food Markets Careers

Cover image for Wegmans Food Markets

Who is Wegmans Food Markets? Knowledgeable people who are passionate about food and deliver incredible service—that’s what we’re all about....More

  • Career Areas
  • Culinary
  • Development
  • New Stores
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Wegmans Food Markets

980 days ago

During these uncertain times, our stores continue to hire for positions throughout all our markets. We are looking for dynamic, energetic, and happy people to join our team. Want to #LoveWhatYouDo at Wegmans? Check out openings nearest you and join us while we support our communities.
Shared image
Logo

Wegmans Food Markets

1369 days ago

We understand that in order to best serve our customers, we need to best serve our employees. And with our awesome company perks that have made us one of Fortune's "100 Best Companies to Work For" for 22 years straight, we know what we're doing. See for yourself by joining us today! #BeWegmansHappy #WegmansJobs http://glassdoor.com/slink.htm?key=vMAd5
Shared image
See all

Wegmans Food Markets Photos

+ Add Photo
Wegmans Food Markets photo of: Bakery customer service
Wegmans Food Markets photo of: Our chefs help make great meals easy
Wegmans Food Markets photo of: Fresh seafood market
Wegmans Food Markets photo of: Chef
Wegmans Food Markets photo of: Fresh meals prepared for you daily
Wegmans Food Markets photo of: Produce customer service
Wegmans Food Markets photo of: Fresh cut veggies
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Wegmans Food Markets Job Seekers Also Viewed

Walmart Logo
Walmart

3.3

107,684 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 4,941 Wegmans Food Markets reviews submitted anonymously by Wegmans Food Markets employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Wegmans Food Markets is right for you.