Weidner Apartment Homes Reviews

Updated Aug 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
91%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Weidner Apartment Homes Founder W. Dean Weidner (no image)
W. Dean Weidner
148 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great growth opportunities, strong team environment, great benefits(in 11 reviews)

  • "Great company with wonderful benefits(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Alot of gossip but that's common in property management(in 13 reviews)

  • "I have seen many leasing agents and assistant managers get affected by poor management(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Weidner Apartment Homes part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I felt valued and that I mattered.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

  2. "Good People, Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leasing Agent 

    I worked at Weidner Apartment Homes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Loved the people I worked with very friendly, property manager was very open to teaching and helping out when starting

    Cons

    better training, programs they have to do mundane task need to more consolidated gets complicated

    Weidner Apartment Homes Response

    July 31, 2020Director of Recruiting

    Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with Weidner. We are happy you were a part of our team. Training and development are areas we are passionate about because our associates need great tools at their fingertips to effectively do their jobs well. We have a variety of content platforms and self-guided resources for learning both the basics as well as more complex procedures. Thank you for your feedback, and we will continue to strive in providing clear and concise instruction for ease in process and procedures. Kindly, Kim Olander, Director of Learning and Development


  3. "Good People - Need Improved Pay Scale"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Weidner Apartment Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome, team-oriented environment Limited over time expectations 30% rent discount

    Cons

    The company's pay scale needs to be updated to keep up with cost of living increases.

    Continue reading

    Weidner Apartment Homes Response

    July 31, 2020Director of Recruiting

    Dear Associate, Thank you for taking to time to share your experiences with Weidner. We are happy to hear that you are enjoying our team based culture, our focus on providing team members with a work-life-balance, as well as the 30% associate rent discount benefit. Each year Weidner participates in a national property management industry salary and benefits survey. By participating we receive the results of this survey. The purpose is to ensure we are the industry leader in each of our markets and can attract and retain top talent. As a result of these analysis, we make salary and benefit decisions that are passed onto you. These surveys and analysis are continuously evolving. Remaining knowledgeable annually on competitor salary packages allows us to continue to make adjustments and pass our findings onto our valued associates, like yourself. Without being specific to any one person, I am happy to discuss salary levels and benefit packages with you. If you want more information please reach out to myself or People Services directly. We care about your feedback. Kindly, Lonna Torchia, VP of Operations

  4. "Opportunity's to grow and is a fast paced enviroment!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leasing Consultant in Corona, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Weidner Apartment Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A great company to work for! It’s challenging but so very rewarding! Incredible opportunities to grow and to get out of your comfort zone. Very motivated co-workers keep you on your A-game on! Our team was amazing because we all got along so great and it felt like family. I enjoyed building relationships with the residents as well as prospects who came through the door.

    Cons

    No cons for this company!

    Weidner Apartment Homes Response

    July 20, 2020Director of Recruiting

    Thank you so much for your great feedback! As a team based organization, it is great to see the positive impacts of helping each other strive to be our best, and bringing out the best in each other. We build community, one person at a time, and appreciate the relationships you created with your residents and your peers. Thank you for your years with Weidner, and we wish you the best! -Cindy Schwartz, Regional Director

  5. "The road so far"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing Agent 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Weidner Apartment Homes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My team! My maintenance team! And those few 😁 that make it all worth it!

    Cons

    Weidner has very high standards as far as customer service, a standard so high that makes it impossible for staff to defend themselves in any kind of way, nothing like being cussed out then learning that very same person receives a gift card of $250! Residents know that they will get away with it and as staff we have no control ots very Demeaning and hurtful to have to choose to defend yourself and your title or not have a job to eat the next week. There is no line between resident and staff when there should be.

    Continue reading

    Weidner Apartment Homes Response

    July 31, 2020Director of Recruiting

    Dear Co-worker, Your experience regarding customer interactions highlights how challenging these situations can sometimes be. At Weidner we believe all people, including our residents and associates should be treated with respect. We do not condone or tolerate abusive or threatening language towards our co-workers. Our residents and employees are all under a tremendous amount of stress due to the current climate. We don’t always know what the person across the desk (co-worker or resident) is going through. Did someone lash out because they just lost their dog, mom or job? Were you the first person they had contact with? These circumstances don’t excuse poor behavior but love, kindness and empathy will always prevail. At Weidner we look to resolve issues in a fair, honest and equitable manner for everyone involved. Property management is a business of grey and drawing a line in the sand would create much chaos. In your situation it sounds like we forgot to say that you are valued and we appreciate your resilience and ability to stay calm under pressure. This is a great skill. I am sorry that we did not demonstrate our appreciation of you. This was missed opportunity. If you would like to discuss further please reach out to me direct. Kindly, Lonna Torchia, VP of Operations

  6. "One Happy Employee"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing Consultant in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Weidner Apartment Homes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Great health benefits 2. Exceptional PTO and a set work schedule 3. Pay is great for the job duties and the opportunity to receive lots of bonuses 4. The opportunity to work with a fun, energetic, professional people 5. The opportunity to work in a rewarding field that is constantly changing 6. The opportunity to work in a laid back environment 7. The opportunity to help others with their needs and help coworkers reach goals and 8. The management team is willing to work with you and will go above and beyond to help if you have any issues

    Cons

    None. Best job ever! We have an amazing team and I couldn't be happier in my work place!

    Continue reading

    Weidner Apartment Homes Response

    June 2, 2020Recruiter

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences and thoughts about working with Weidner. We value you and thank you for being a part of our OKC team. – Monica Williams, Director of Recruiting

  7. "Experience depends on who you work for"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Manager in Kirkland, WA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Weidner Apartment Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Mr. Weinder himself is a kind and gracious man. He’s very encouraging and always has time for you.

    Cons

    The workload can be unrelenting and daunting. Especially if you spend a large portion of your time at work cleaning up your predecessor work. It takes away from the job one is actually hired to do. In addition, there are some in management that do not have either the requisite skills or temperament suited for their position. The idea that shaming one’s troops in front of their peers is okay says a lot about that “leader”. I’m not advocating firings, I’m suggesting that more scrutiny should be placed on manager behavior. There’s a reason that some positions are more of a revolving door than others.

    Continue reading

    Weidner Apartment Homes Response

    June 4, 2020Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback. You are correct that we should ensure all managers deliver messages appropriately and be mindful of the audience. While your time has ended with us, I’m always interested in your opinion. This allows us to grow as a company and strive to improve our performance as leaders. If you would like to give me additional information I welcome your call or email. - Lonna Torchia, Vice President of Operations

  8. "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing Specialist in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Weidner Apartment Homes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive Pay Good Benefits Stable Company Ethical Promote Within Rent Discounts

    Cons

    Lots of movement in the company. Too many policy changes.

    Weidner Apartment Homes Response

    May 20, 2020Recruiter

    Thank you for sharing a review! - Team Weidner

  9. "Truly Compassionate"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MIT in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Weidner Apartment Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Weidner is a unique company. The compassion & generosity that flows down from our Home Office is unparalleled. My role as an MIT is also very special; Weidner created a training program for us to fine tune our leadership & industry skills with the guidance of a mentor who knows the ins & outs of Weidner. As an MIT, you will be challenged & will need to apply a great amount of dedication and focus, but your Regional & Area Directors are an incredible resource for support. When I started the program, I felt timid & insecure about my abilities, but I received nothing but encouragement from my RD & AD (Cindy S. & Rachel B.) and now, as my program ends and I wait to be placed in an official role, I feel confident and fully equipped to be considered one of Weidner's leaders. The level of advocacy I have received from my management & senior leadership about my own thoughts and ideas is completely unrivaled. Weidner sincerely cares about it's People; its right there in our mission, vision, and values!

    Cons

    I find it difficult to list a legitimate "con" of working for Weidner. Any property is going to have its stressful days, busy season, and frustrating moments. You'll face difficult situations, and sometimes angry residents, but that is just part of working in property management. Overall, I have nothing to complain about with the company as a whole.

    Continue reading

    Weidner Apartment Homes Response

    May 6, 2020Recruiter

    Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that your time in our MIT program has been such positive experience. You are certainly correct in saying that we are committed to our mission, vision and values and taking care of our people is one of our top priorities. Our senior leadership teams work tirelessly to make sure our people are taken care of and that they have the tools and confidence to do their jobs at the highest level. Keep up the great work! -Chaz Goble, National College Recruiter

  10. "Building community 1 person at a time"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leasing in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Weidner Apartment Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture, privately held, great training programs!

    Cons

    Minimal bonus opportunities, some "fake" people but that is not the company's fault.

    Continue reading

    Weidner Apartment Homes Response

    May 7, 2020Recruiter

    Thank you so much for your feedback. It sounds like you are enjoying your experience with Weidner. We are so happy to have you as part of the team. Our training team is constantly working on new content for training and development and leadership is a top priority. Thank you! -Monica Williams, Director of Recruiting

Found 195 reviews